1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Hannibal's thread into DIY motion platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by hannibal, Feb 15, 2019.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,142
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,992Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  2. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    @noorbeast
    if i may ask..

    if i go 6DoF with arduino/sabertooth... its basically (3x) arduinos, (3x) sabertooth and (6x) motor/actuator?

    and if i go 6Dof with JRK... is it (6x) JRK and (6x) motor/actuators?

    seems like power handling is the same between (1x) sabertooth 2x60 to (2x) JRK 12x12?
    i think one of you guys said that the arduino/sabertooth setup was more responsive?
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,142
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,992Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes
    Yes
    No, the Sabertooth has far more capacity and is more robust than the old JRK 12V12s, which have now been superseded, the newer JRKs are better than the old ones, but I don't think anyone has put them to the test with a 6DOF yet.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2019
  4. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  5. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,587Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    Look for the motor first and than the controller
    With a 24volt motor a sabertooth 2x32 will work to
    Current x voltage = wattage
    32x24v=768watt
    60x12v=720watt
  6. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    well i went with the controller first since, options for controllers are far less than motors..

    performance wise, is it better to go 12 volt motor or 24 volt motors?

    i want to go linear actuator, but it seems much more effort.. hearing about the possibility of actuator being shutoff due to over travel makes me worried to handle platform recovery time...

    and jeez, car / truck wiper motors are sooo cheap!

    would you guys rate motion performance / experience as follows?

    linear actuator > 24 volt non-linear motor driven > 12V non-linear motor driven?

    looks like 24V motors not so cheap... :/
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2019
  7. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    looks like i am going for some kind of 24V motor... now i am trying to research server power supplies... how to mod in series, or a good 24 volt power supply..
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,142
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,992Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    LED PSUs are cheap and pretty reliable, more so than server PSUs.
  9. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    12V parts (Power/motors) are more reasonable priced.
    i see a 24V LED 30A 720 (who knows what the actual rating is, peak or rms or continous
    gotta get some sleep.. this project has me obsessed.

    again thank you for reply! @noorbeast
  10. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    looks like i have decided to go 6Dof with 24V motors.. i dont think i am ready for linear actuator yet (seems noisy, and more complicated to build)

    i started to by some parts!
    at this time, im building my motor driver/controller/power
    ordered some 24V power supplies and a sabertooth.

    i will build slow. little bit at a time.

    at least i will build power and on a later date decide to go linear actuator or not..at least ill have the power potion covered..

    i think i spent about 550$ USD so far.. :/
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    446
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,109Coins
    Ratings:
    +391 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF

    Building anything with DC motors or lower voltage doesn't necessary making it cheaper.
    It can well end up more expensive than ready actuator solutions out there...

    I have been assigned to build a prototype robot at my workplace to deal with a very specific and tedious task, and had to be complete autonomous and easy to maneuver around, so I went with a 4WD Mecanum wheels (Omni-directional motion). Of course, to be able to handle the load its supposed to be carrying around, I had to go with 24v DC motors, Sabetooths 2x32, Kangaroos x2 for cruise control and encoder tracking for home triangulation. Include the 24v battery and sensors and SDR wifi controller, it costs in materials only, $4000 so far !!! I estimate even higher, after camera and rest of sensors are added.

    Anyway, see how it looks still on its temporary plastic bin chassis, will build a metal chassis for it soon... more money spend there...
    20190215_132455.jpg

    Fun stuff doesn't come cheap, that's for sure!


    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Like Like x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
  12. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    i just finished assembling the Ender 3 pro 3D printer..

    it has servos and aluminum profiles..
    wow.. i start at the parts and i see linear actuator...

    any yes, stuff.. good stuff dont come cheap!
  13. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    446
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,109Coins
    Ratings:
    +391 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  14. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    wow. ultimaker goes for 6000$.. big money! yea, i cant imagine what it creates..
    im new to the whole 3d thing so.. i was always building out of wood
  15. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +602 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @hannibal Don't buy server PSU. They are not that realable, their configurations are challenging and LED Power Supply are the way to go, trust me.

    @Thanos Where do you work? I want to work there!
  16. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    446
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,109Coins
    Ratings:
    +391 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF




    General Atomics ASI... you would need Secret Clearance from US Department of State to work here...


    but enough with off topic... lol
  17. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    after talking to some coworkers about my plans for power... he suggested that i go for a high capacity amp hour batteries, and one power supply.

    Looks like im going for (2x) car batteries, and (1x) 24V power supply for charging purposes.
    since i only have (2x) 115VAC @ 15A circuits

    i have other equipment that i plan to use, (i.e. gaming PC, audio amp for bass shakers), i dont want to overload the few circuits that i have...

    What do you guys think?

    i havent calculated the battery size yet.. but after following sixdegreesoffligh's build.. he planned around (6x) 24V - 450W motors...
  18. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +602 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I would go for more than one power supply. I am using my three LED on one single 120 volt / 15 amps wall socket and all is good. The batteries take the heavy duty load. But maybe you're good with only one. To tell the true, I don't know.
  19. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    my tech guy is good with theory, for a 10 min chat he analyzed my sketch wiring and broke down. i wish i was able to talk to him more, hopefully next week.
    basically he said i can run my platform off the batteries, but only one power supply has to be on at all times to charge the batteries.

    what your battery spec if i may ask!
  20. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +602 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I don't know there spec exactly. They are deep charging boat's batteries.
    This is the closest picture I have of them. It says 105A and hour.

    IMG_2037.JPG

    If your tech says your okay, then listen to him. I have the tendency to be over the top. (Still, I would use more than one LED psu :) )