1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial Graphic SimTools parameter adjustment

Discussion in 'SimTools DIY Version' started by fzxj520, Sep 10, 2016.

  1. fzxj520

    fzxj520 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    SimTools is a generic Motion Simulator
    Balance:
    1,079Coins
    Ratings:
    +58 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    An increased illustration may help better understanding!
  2. TFOU57

    TFOU57 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    57100 Thionville ( France )
    Balance:
    5,828Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    upload_2016-10-13_10-1-48.png
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  3. TFOU57

    TFOU57 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    57100 Thionville ( France )
    Balance:
    5,828Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    :think Do not ask me what's the side of the seat corresponding to Min or Max ... :grin
  4. fzxj520

    fzxj520 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    SimTools is a generic Motion Simulator
    Balance:
    1,079Coins
    Ratings:
    +58 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I'm sorry you got it wrong.
  5. TFOU57

    TFOU57 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    57100 Thionville ( France )
    Balance:
    5,828Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Hello,
    The Min and Max values defines the values taken into account for the movement simulator
    Values below the Mini Maxi and above the are not taken into account (Trash)


    Bonjour,
    Les valeurs Mini et Maxi délimite les valeurs prises en compte pour le déplacement du simulateur
    Les valeurs inférieures au Mini et supérieures au Maxi ne sont pas prises en compte ( Poubelle )
  6. fzxj520

    fzxj520 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    SimTools is a generic Motion Simulator
    Balance:
    1,079Coins
    Ratings:
    +58 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Image error expression
    Later I will add Bonjour supplement
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2016
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Thats easy, Just watch the tuning center data....turn One direction and watch the min/max while capturing.
  8. TFOU57

    TFOU57 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    57100 Thionville ( France )
    Balance:
    5,828Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Thank you ,
    It was obvious that a test immediately gave the answer ...

    Merci,
    C'était évident qu'un essai donnait immédiatement la réponse ...
    • Like Like x 1
  9. makenana

    makenana New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Hongkong China
    Balance:
    180Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I am looking for information on the axis settings, which provides a good reference thanks.:cheers
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,560
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,504 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  11. KonikAV

    KonikAV New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    302Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Explanations in this thread completely confused me. Experimenting with the settings I get the same as displaying pictures - decreasing the number of max / min the amplitude of the movement of the chair increases, increasing max / min - the amplitude decreases. Ie, the closer the value to 0, the greater the range of movement is transferred to the simulator. The posts below describe the opposite. How to configure correctly? I first set all values of the axes in 25% .. 40%, then I manually determine the values of max / min, and at the end I adjust the values of the axes again a little.
  12. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,654
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,837Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,692 / 10 / -0
    Your chair has a physical limit on how much it can lean from side to side.
    Let's say that Mechanically the chair can lean 25deg from side to side.

    (We tie the lean of the chair to Roll @ 100% in the axis assignment settings.)
    A) If we set the max/min for roll to -10 and 10.
    Whenever a 10 or a -10 comes in for roll, the chair will be tipped to +-25deg.
    All values above this limit will be ignored.

    B) If we set the max/min for roll to -30 and 30.
    Whenever a 30 or a -30 comes in for roll, the chair will be tipped to +-25deg.
    All values above this limit will be ignored.

    The (A) settings above will react quicker to the game, but it has 3 times less range to move in as the (B) settings.

    Auto capturing Max/Min 's from the game while driving at 80% as hard as you normally would will give you a good balance of settings to use for the game.

    I hope this helps,
    yobuddy
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2018
  13. KonikAV

    KonikAV New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    302Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for reply. It seems that I have to reinforce the range of values coming from the game, and not to limit. I think the values that comes in from the game is very small. Maybe near 1. And i will be set values in range from 10 to 2, then i will have normal reaction.
  14. KonikAV

    KonikAV New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    302Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I have a 4 axis and 6 dof. Every axis set to 25..30% for each DoF. Total 100-120% for each axis. When the car tilt to 25 deg in game my rig tilt only 5 deg and if i need more deg to rig i must set values max/min closer to 1?
    Correctly?
  15. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,654
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,837Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,692 / 10 / -0
    May I see your axis assignment settings and a pic of your sim for reference @KonikAV
    thx buddy,
    yobuddy
  16. KonikAV

    KonikAV New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    302Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Just got to the simulator, took a photo

    0-02-04-966a06e3120213656cf1e62ec25d768093b0de92227651523525b6d9b3bd9267_full.jpg
    0-02-04-a4be8c4c3c6da92ed2be92b273503d53c5374b18ac1725536ff7ded6456cbc87_full.jpg
    0-02-04-00e5fc0bea328f9d69bdc9dd06f2299034e29f1b57618783501ba31f5a99b705_full.jpg
    0-02-04-2b82eba2fbb0d82d3cc23acc8a0500036a5a7c202dcb400c5d7eecaf5dd528d5_full.jpg
  17. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,654
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,837Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,692 / 10 / -0
    Thats a nice looking rig buddy!
    No, if your rig physically tips to 25deg, setting one dof to 100%, will make this sim tip to 25deg.
    So if you mix multiple dofs for this "tip", you can see how the max output for each dof on a single axis gets cut down quickly.

    Take care,
    yobuddy
  18. hjr2

    hjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    77Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    I had it all wrong. I thought 100 would be the "maximum" the DOF moved ie. faster better. The lower setting gets to the max position faster, but when it gets there, that's it. Any more movement being sent is ignored or "clipped". So there is a trade off in speed of the sim getting to it's max point, and range of motion that could give more details of the track?
  19. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    3,122Coins
    Ratings:
    +231 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Here is a dumb question, how do I adjust tuning center limits manually in SimTools 2?

    I have not been able to change the numbers in the boxes. I read here https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/tuning-center-entering-manual-values.210/ to un tick the check box, but there does not appear to be any such thing in Tuning Center now. The only clickable thing are the boxes that turn red/blue/green but no matter what color I set them to I still can't edit the values.

    What am I missing?
    • Creative Creative x 1
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,560
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,504 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The check boxes are in the Tuning Center next to the Axis/Force name, they are Green by default, which means the Min and Max values will default to the same value, Blue is to capture values and uncheck them to Pink (Off) to manually enter values. Hit Capture Max Min, change the values, then hit save.

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1