1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Full Frame 2 DOF + Traction Loss new build

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Halloween2go, May 20, 2020.

  1. susocalfail39

    susocalfail39 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    GALICIA, ESPAÑA.
    Balance:
    400Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Very ingenious, now I understand, those at the waist already hold you all the time and shoulder straps let's say they make a plus in the braking effect, very ingenious and cheap, good idea, thank you.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Well I certainly can't take credit for this.. I saw it on BoostedMedia's YouTube site. And he got the idea from one of his subscribers.. But I will say, It adds to the immersion weather you have VR or not. Having those shoulder straps crank down on you when you are braking!
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,041
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,360 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It is actually a very common harness setup of many members here.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    yeah I figured you guys have already set this up.. Hey! That's why I added it!.. Really like it too!
    Hope your project is going good and thanks for 'keeping an eye on this forum'... Dmax
  5. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I finally upgraded my motherboard, proc and ram from an i3 to an older I-7 that my son gave me after he upgraded his pc.. This thing is pretty good now..
    I7 3960x cpu LGA 2011
    noctua NFU12S fan setup
    Asus P9x79 WS MB with 32GB ram.. It can hold much more but I found one of the DIM slots to be not functioning so for a MB from 2012.. not too bad.
    Here is an update video on it and the motion platform working.. video is in 1080 so it should be pretty clear
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Tuned up the SIM... Racing action at Riverside Raceway. 3 DOF Arduino, Crab Pot motors (working just fine) 55 hours of racing in.
    Check it out. You 'CAN' build something like this.. Just go for it.. DMAX
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    70 Hours into the Sim and very little issues. Every now and then one of the Hall effect POTS has a loose connection to the arduino (possibly due to vibration..*always seems to be the same thing every 50 laps or so). So I have decided to solder everything to the bottom of the arduino as my next upgrade. Either way, here's a video from today featuring a Shelby Cobra (pretty powerful) at Imola, italy.. Let me know if you like it DMAX
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. ChubbyWeasel

    ChubbyWeasel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I bought a used computer years ago and when I took it apart I found the previous owner had put some stuff on the connectors to keep them becoming not connectors :). It was almost like really old chewing gum in consistency but easy to clean. I wish I knew what that stuff was because it seems like it would be perfect for this sort of application.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. tomkil192

    tomkil192 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Uk. London
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    well done with your build
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi, so even if you don't have a 2080 or 3080 TI card, you can still have some fun with a DIY RIG..
    Here's a video of the Rig (even with a spin out) so you can see it in action. I am going to be doing some upgrades next week on the RIG (soldering the arduino, and some fanatec pedals) but for now I am just using some super basic pedals and steering wheel.. Take a look if you have a chance .. DMAX
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yeah I know what you mean. Every time I add something, I keep tweaking it to keep it performing correctly. I recently added V-3 pedals and whoooo Man..! I had to rebalance the whole rig! :D
  12. Christian Doehl

    Christian Doehl Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Germany - Bavaria
    Balance:
    292Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I know this from phtography to fix parts for making a photo. I have seen it on amaz... as
    Walimex 300g Modeling Clay Value Pack
    Just as a reference, I'm quite sure it's available from other suppliers as well.

    BR
    Chris
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So I saw a message from TAZ about my settings.. A little more pitch roll and sway.. So I added a bit more sway. So far pitch an roll are very low (I drive in VR with Rift CV1 - so it seems ok to me).. I set the sway to 17..
    Here's a video on starting up the rig if Ya'll are interested. DMAX
  14. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Can i get motor link?...i saw this one
    https://www.motiondynamics.com.au/worm-drive-motor-12v-24v-200w-180-rpm-20nm-torque.html

    But i didnt found and email address to text them...did you bought it from there?
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I bought the crab pot motors from canada. I got them on EBAY. They seem to be working fine for me after 1 year. I thought the shipping for the motion dynamics motors was way out of bounds so I did not buy the motion dynamics motors . Here is a link to EBAY for the motors I bought from PGSAW
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/GEAR-MOTOR...157992?hash=item5684db6428:g:A0EAAOxyW1NRER~7
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    635Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform