1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Finally started My 2DOF Sim

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Jean Paul Andrade, Jul 11, 2019 at 04:26.

  1. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    55Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello guys, I officially started my 2DOF Simulator with loss of traction , I used to call it 3DOF but some good people in the forum convinced me that it is really a 2DOF with loss of traction, anyways I decided to use the great SMC3 code for Arduino and Monster Motor Shield as a drivers, and Wiper motors as actuators, still have some doubts about that last thing like, specifications about RPM and torque, I first made some tests with another code and 2 RC servos to learn the basics of the Simtools, I successfully connected the game manager and the game engine through my network and with the LFS I could get movement of the servos with the game (I forgot to take pictures of it)
    Now i Uploaded the SMC3 code to the arduino UNO and made all the wiring for one motor, using the SMC3 utils I can make the wiper motor move in both directions using the Pot. however I cant get any response using the Simtools, I made everything as i did with the other code, but nothing happens. Can anyone please point in the right direction? thanks!

    Attached Files:

  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,979
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    98,890Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,274 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am presuming all 3 motors have been properly connected and tested in SMC3.

    In your Interface Settings us 10bit for Output - Bit Range, not 8.

    Just keep in mind you will need cooling for the MMs.
  3. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    55Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    actually just one motor is connected right now, fist of all because i only bought that one to make the test, i'm not sure if is gonna be enough so bought it just for test, is a bit slow i think but strong, it doesn't have any sticker with the specs, so, do I need to have wired the the two motors to have any response from the simtools? with the other code i made it with just one servo and at the end with the two servos connected, I will fix the Bit range and get back with the results, thanks for that!.... and yes Sr! I'm working in the cooling system for the MMS
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,979
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    98,890Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,274 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    In that case just configure the Interface Settings for the one motor.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    55Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    still no response, is there a way to make sure the game engine is communicating with the arduino? the SMC3 does, but when I try output testing in game engine nothing happens.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,979
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    98,890Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,274 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK