1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
SilentChill

EliteDangerous Horizons Plugin (OLD Archive Thread) Version 3.3.0.2

EliteDangerous Horizons Plugin (VR Version)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    390Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm using vJoy utility for that. It can combine multiple physical USB control devices into one virtual joystick. Axes and buttons are assignable, so you can use that to emulate XBOX gamepad as well. Good for games that don't support HOTAS and pedals in native mode.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. George Dobransky

    George Dobransky Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    212Coins
    Ratings:
    +106 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  3. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    390Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yep, that`s the one.

    No comparison in using joystick plugin vs dedicated Elite one though. Craig, you are our only hope :)
  4. kev b

    kev b Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Academic Lecturer - Electrical Engineering
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Balance:
    817Coins
    Ratings:
    +72 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Well said 4apaev. I've been in joystick mode recently - and I've just upgraded my rig to 3dof and upped the power to 450w (from 80w). I too miss Craig's superior ED plugin. I miss the collateral motion from explosions, collisions, and having my chair move independently in relation to someone else's ship when I'm a crew member in multicrew. Maybe well get a motion api from FD soon? But I'm eagerly awaiting a Craig plugin in the meantime if possible.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. George Dobransky

    George Dobransky Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    212Coins
    Ratings:
    +106 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    4apaev,

    Unfortunatelly, vjoy has been failed to install (win7), I tried many times and methods.... Joystick plugin is still with one stick
    to me....Craig is the last hope.....

    Cheers,
    George
  6. Metallican_VR85

    Metallican_VR85 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Occupation:
    Musician, YouTube personality
    Location:
    Centennial
    Balance:
    - 133Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Waiting patiently for SilentChill to work his magic
    • Like Like x 3
  7. George Dobransky

    George Dobransky Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    212Coins
    Ratings:
    +106 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi All,

    According to the Frontier Expo last week, maybe we can hope something about API...
    In this way I wasn't hesitate to write to our contact person of FDev about API,
    if he can tell us something good. Here are my words:

    "Hi CMDR Tronador,

    If you remember we was talking about a stable telemetry (API) output from the game 2 months before.
    The informations at Frontier Expo last week was about the core elements of the game
    will be upgraded soon, so maybe can we hope for something about API also?
    Maybe at the first big update in Q1?

    BestRegards,
    George, Hungary "

    I'm waiting for the answer, as I get, I'll inform you all.

    Cheers,
    George
    • Like Like x 4
  8. George Dobransky

    George Dobransky Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    212Coins
    Ratings:
    +106 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi THere,

    Due to the continous updates and the fact we still don't have a working API output from the game, for those, who has got more than 1 usb connected joysticks or want some more programmed movements in the game I can offer you an alternate method to get movement with ED.
    Maybe it isn't new info to some of you, but maybe I can help to some.
    Joystick plugin only can manage 1 joystick input, so if you have stick, thrust and pedal separatelly with 2 or 3 usb inputs, you can use the software called vJoy, a virtual joystick device. you can download from here:

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/vjoystick/files/Beta 2.x/

    There is several versions, the new ones has a chance to get an installation problem with win7, or win10, in this
    case you can try an older version. I have spent some hours with that fcking issue....:(

    You need also a remapper utility, for new versions of vJoy there is UCR, link:

    https://github.com/evilC/UCR

    For older versions of vJoy, you can use UJR:

    http://evilc.com/fil...hk/vjoy/ujr.zip

    With these utils you can easily set up multiple joys or usb input into one, and a lot of advantages
    there, like you can program some movements to buttons, axes, etc. For example you can program any
    movement to landing gear down, or hyperjump, etc.

    Hope it helps you in these unhappy days....

    Cheers,
    George
    • Like Like x 2
  9. George Dobransky

    George Dobransky Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    212Coins
    Ratings:
    +106 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi There,

    My current config is, 2 x 12v motor system, smc3, mmShield, arduino.
    Now I'm planning to change to 3 x 24v motor(or actuator) system to simnulate heave also.
    Can anybody help me with a tutorial link about the motor controllers and the
    wiring of 24v motors to arduino?

    Thanx,
    George, Hungary
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,477
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,755Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,477 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can use Sabertooths: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/arduino-codes-for-sabertooth-2x25-2x32-etc.137/
    • Like Like x 1
  11. George Dobransky

    George Dobransky Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    212Coins
    Ratings:
    +106 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanx for help,

    George
    • Like Like x 1
  12. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    390Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Current version of Elite seems stable, maybe we can hope for the new plugin? Thargoids are waiting!
    • Like Like x 2
  13. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hi everyone, I have installed it many times but game manager is not seeing it ? thank you in advance
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,477
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,755Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,477 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What SimTools License version are you using, as the Demo version won't list plugins other than LFS.
  15. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I am not using 2 I am using an old version
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,477
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,755Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,477 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Plugins are not maintained for SimTools 1.3.
  17. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ok thank you
  18. reko19

    reko19 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Occupation:
    electrical engineer
    Location:
    usa
    Balance:
    38Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    I am assuming this is still not working? I installed as an admin, everything went smooth but no motion. Wish I new before I paid for the game. Is the only option currently as described above?

    Thank you.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,477
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,755Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,477 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    When ED updates break the motion plugin then most fall back to the generic Joystick motion plugin: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/joystick-plugin.127/

    See here for @George Dobransky' instructions on using vJoy to map it how you want: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ns-plugin-vr-version.10310/page-4#post-142686
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  20. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,113Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    hi Craig,

    Want to ask whether you could deliver an updated elite dangerous plugin . :sos
    Would be very appreciated, it’s really needed. We’re out of motion.
    Since I upgraded my motion rig with linear actuators I can’t wait to test it.
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.