1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

ebay: Bodine 42A3BEPM-E3, 41 RPM High Torque Gear Motor 12V 23A Gearmotor

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by Pit, May 30, 2015.

  1. kimballfount

    kimballfount Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    greer,sc
    Balance:
    805Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    obviously Im pretty green to the community..
  2. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,898
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,742Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,785 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    lol, sorry Kimballfount, my comment was not directed at you. I was commenting, in a humorous manner, on my deep urge to buy six of these motors to replace those on my 6 DoF project.
  3. kimballfount

    kimballfount Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    greer,sc
    Balance:
    805Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    which motors?
  4. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,898
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,742Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,785 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Umm...the

    Bodine 42A3BEPM-E3, 41 RPM High Torque Gear Motor 12V 23A Gearmotor


    Subject of this thread...:)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. kimballfount

    kimballfount Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    greer,sc
    Balance:
    805Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I'm too new to post links, but what do you think about this motor?

    motiondynamics-geared motors-heavy industrial

    Worm geared to 100:1 it only spins at 15 rpms, but it puts out 210nm of torque..which is like 2000 kg cm 12v 32amps
  6. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    It's a trade off. To get the speed for racing you'll need a 250-300mm arm. (Just an estimate not actuall math).

    12v is only 12v
    Higher voltage or ac motors are where the power lies.
    From what I have read here most seem to have good luck with 25nm and up depending on application and load. 100:1 is a big reduction. 15 rpms seems to slow but just my opinion. I if I had the motors I would try to use but wouldn't buy.
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2015
  7. kimballfount

    kimballfount Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    greer,sc
    Balance:
    805Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I was thinking about using it for a flight sim, so speed isnt too much of an issue. I was hoping to get 360 degree of roll out of my rig which isnt a platform. It's basically a chair with a drive axle mounted to the back of it. I've been spending hours a day researching motor options. AC motors pack way more wattage-torque, but finding drivers that I can get to work with an arduino seems like a challenge. People with similiar rigs use 750w AC motors, but their systems really haul the mail. I was thinking of cutting the speed in half with gearing, and using a motor half as powerful 350w (DC). Since I'm a bit of newbie with electric motors I'm applying some common since..which i'm finding burns out servos, motors and blows through money. Any ideas? You guys seem pretty sharp In regards to geared motors
  8. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,898
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,742Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,785 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Kim,

    You might check out Speedy's VFD thread. You can use an AC motor, a VFD and an opto coupler with an Arduino to drive the motor. The price wouldn't be too prohibitive if you are only using one AC motor (for the roll). DC motors could still be used on the platform itself for pitch.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  9. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    and some Ass............
    • Funny Funny x 1
  10. kimballfount

    kimballfount Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    greer,sc
    Balance:
    805Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Two more questions for you guys...Do people ever use hydraulic lift supports, such as the ones used in trunks, hoods, etc to aid in lifting..? And how much of a voltage spike should I expect my microcontroller to receive? If I have a 15a motor, would a 20a controller cover me.
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,981
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2015
  12. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,308Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,
    you are right @noorbeast. I used gas struts on my rig to help the motors a bit as it is a fullframe. The ones from cars where not suitable for me as nerly all of them have ratings above 250NM. This was way to much for my construction. At the moment I use 2x 60NM in the front and 2x50NM in the back. It takes some stress off the motors, and helps to smooth my motion.

    Are the 20A the peak or continues current of the driver?
    In mine I don't blown any 20 Amp fuse yet and my motors are rated for 24 Amps. But I would reccomend you to use higher ratings to have some safty zone or puffer for later upgrade for bigger motors.
    I use one Monster moto per Motor.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. kimballfount

    kimballfount Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    greer,sc
    Balance:
    805Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hell of a rig you got there man..
    I've gotten kind of familiar with these cheap chinese controllers. I think this one's continuous 20a. The information is pretty vague. The thing that confuses me is I found a whole servo rated at 420 kg, with a 4oamp controller mounted on the back listed for like $75. I was thinking of just taking the controller off..it even has an onboard encoder which makes it a little more idiot proof.
  14. kimballfount

    kimballfount Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    greer,sc
    Balance:
    805Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Apparently Im still too new to post links, but if you google 420kg servo, its the first one that pops up in images. :/
  15. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,308Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,
    I found the servo motor you mentioned.
    http://www.thanksbuyer.com/dh-02b-4...tary-servo-robot-mechanical-arm-12v-24v-38099
    There are also no specs about this motor driver. I used very much different types of chinese hbridges on my first prototype sim, and had very much problems, and never got it working. Finally I switched to a pololu bridge and all problems where gone.
    So what I like to say is, it's better to invest some more money in motor drivers and having less headache.
    If you spend 75$ and only use the motor driver, you may think about spending a little more money on Pololu Jrk's. Many users here used them and Pololu offers a great support.
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/jrk.8/category

    If you like those cheap chinese ones take a look for Monster Moto drivers, the are also used very often here and are usbale in different modes to get higher ampere ratings. This is my current setup.
    But beware, there are many faulty ones on the market.
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/motor-driver-for-arduino-compatible-controller.11/category
    • Agree Agree x 2
  16. MagicEdge

    MagicEdge Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Occupation:
    Aircraft Technician
    Location:
    Justin' TX USA
    Balance:
    1,155Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
  17. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    i have a few(9) but wish i had bought more. they are good motors.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. speedchase

    speedchase New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Now that these are sold-out, I am trouble finding a similar replacement motor, can someone please suggest alternatives for here in USA. I have come across a few but feel they will not have enough power and I am not sure what spec to look for between torque (rate in Kg.in, Kg.cm, N-m), RPM and shaft size.

    Small High Torque 12 Volt Reversible 35 RPM DC Worm Gear Motor for BBQ Drive Replacement (http://a.co/6pwzjs3)
    12vdc Reversible 64 Rpm Dc Gear Motor with Metal 6mm Shaft for DIY Parts (http://a.co/duHXUYk)

    Any thoughts on these or suggestions.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,981
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    See my response here: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...rst-2dof-racing-sim-attempt.9953/#post-128975
  20. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,898
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,742Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,785 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Does anyone have any of these motors surplus to needs? I need at least one but would prefer four.