1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Earthing wiper motors

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by Kass55, Apr 12, 2016.

  1. Kass55

    Kass55 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Occupation:
    PC support
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I read article about mandatory modifying wiper motors and since I am having trouble I opened up both my wiper motors, but can not see wire
    as it goes down through below plate, which held by 3 small alien screws, which I can't remove.
    I did test and the motor case is connected to + - somewhere inside unit.

    The question is...
    Do the motors have to be earthed ? or simply isolated ?

    My first version of 2DOF seat seamed to work with un-modified wiper motors,
    perhaps because the base & seat base was made of wood, therefore isolated from controller, power units and each other.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  2. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,201Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yes it's mandatory
    because with 2 motors connected to ground, when the Hbridge will drive one motor reverse and the other forward, the 12V and 0V will be connected together through the structure
    -> short-circuit!

    yes indeed
    • Agree Agree x 3
  3. Kass55

    Kass55 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Occupation:
    PC support
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks for confirm
  4. josemanuelrm26

    josemanuelrm26 my 2dof

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    valencia
    Balance:
    93Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    You know how isolate mass?
    this manual by the forum ...
    I tube to drill the rivets did not come quite complicated screws to open
  5. Mike-xu

    Mike-xu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Chile
    Balance:
    235Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    This requirement is for AC motor only or also DC motor?
  6. Rastus

    Rastus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    11,331Coins
    Ratings:
    +151 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    We are talking about WIPER MOTORS 12V-24V DC here!!
  7. Kass55

    Kass55 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Occupation:
    PC support
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes, car or truck wiper DC motors.
    Follow the instructions (in FAQ section) to fix Earthing on wiper motors.

    I couldn't undo alien screws (which where damaged),
    so I got around problem by using wood to insulate motors from both base and platform, power supplies and the other motor.
  8. Mike-xu

    Mike-xu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Chile
    Balance:
    235Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    if just connect one motor to each MMs, is it need ground isolation?
  9. Kass55

    Kass55 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Occupation:
    PC support
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The problem is that wiper motors voltage is connected to body & arm of the motor,
    and the +- is changed / reversed each time the motor changes direction, effecting anything connected via metal.
    Should connect motor only via + & - wire, not via metal.
  10. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,201Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    no! :confused:
  11. Guillemin

    Guillemin Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    246Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You must find your happyness on this PDF
    Good luck

    Attached Files:

  12. choclo

    choclo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Vienna
    Balance:
    300Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 1 / -0
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  13. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    - 13Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    this is not true. it is not mandatory . just run with 2 monster moto's each motor has its own board. this is what i have done and for over a year now , no issues.