1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

DIY H-Shifter by Willynovi - Working

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by willynovi, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    I still dont understand how you attached the bearings to the block. Does the bolt go all the way through? is there a space for the bolt to go up and down or are there 2 bolts that dont go all the way through? Is the block threaded?
  2. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,996
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,931Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,931 / 14 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    There are threaded holes in the bearing block for the bolts, I used a lock nut (sliced thin on my lathe) to tighten the bearing bolt to the block.
  3. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    so its thing like a O or you mean thing like o as in only the threads?
  4. Schopfer

    Schopfer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Thailand
    Balance:
    120Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    How to conect and control this shifter to Games ?
  5. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,996
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,931Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,931 / 14 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Schopfer

    Schopfer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Thailand
    Balance:
    120Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Shifter in your link is control by Teensy++2.0 controller board (I can’t write a code)
    Can i use with joystick encoder ?
  7. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,996
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,931Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,931 / 14 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, you can disassemble an old joystick or better yet a game controller and rewire it. You could also use a teensy ++ 2.0 like I did using GenericHID (Google) drag and drop programer. There are also lots of other options; Leo Boadnar, U-HID, Arduino, etc. It is worth spending some time doing the research and choose what works best for you.
  8. Schopfer

    Schopfer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Thailand
    Balance:
    120Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I will try with arduino r3. I have not use 2 arduino.:thumbs