1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

DIY FFB Steering wheel (MMosFFB ) (In Progress)

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Alexey, Dec 10, 2015.

  1. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino

    You need pull up resistors on channels 0 . 1 . 6

    DIY FFB Steering wheel (MMosFFB ) (In Progress)
  2. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  3. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    No. Only this one...
  4. ahfz

    ahfz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    In the Arduino Leonardo I use the Omron encoder Omron E6B2-CWZ6C-2000P / R, Leonardo only A, B two, A, B items of the pull-up resistor, z no need to connect resistance, then a switch, and then gnd, in the Leonardo start windows system does not recognize the need to press the switch, turn the steering wheel, the system can identify
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i i went out and bought some 560 ohm resistors and added them between 5v and pins 0, 1 , 6

    still nothing :( :( :(

    i have 2 shaft encoders - i have tried them both

    e6b2 - cwz6c omron 360 p/r

    lpd3806-360bm-g5-24c 360 p/r (using a switch between pin 6 and gnd)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    the settings in Wheelconfig advanced are




    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    what is going wrong ??


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    now the wheelcofig program will not find the com port of the leonardo again ?
  6. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    884Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    1. Connect the arduino to the usb, go to the windows device manager, port com appears?
    if not, try installing the arduino drivers / program on the site.

    2. Example pullup resistors, ebolz example uses 4.7k:
    https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/t...Jmwy1xJFOu7oHROmO9_hsYKpCMzhURo=w1600-h769-rw
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    i have resinstalled the drivers for the arduino

    with the pin6 connected to ground the wheelconfig program has lost the com port for the leonardo again !

    it makes me think the download of the wheelconfig.rar is corrupt

    is there somewhere else i can download the wheelconfig problem ?
  8. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    884Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
  9. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi @Fernando Igor - thank you for your help with this problem

    i have tried your download of wheelconfig - no change :(

    i have tried changing the com port to com1 - again no difference

    right now i have a leonardo that is programmed with xloader and FFBWheel.0.16.leonardo.hex

    the only pin that is connected is pin 6 - connected to GND

    i guess i have to try another laptop with a different version of windows - (currently windows 8)
  10. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    884Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Strange.
    Make sure the arduino appears in the Windows game controller
    [... go to the control panel ... or run joy.cpl ... or cmd.exe start joy.cpl...]

    Plug USB and disconnect Gnd to pin6, turn encoder and connect Gnd to pin6.
    Look if works.

    If it appears card Leonardo and dont work axis-X, the firmware is spelled correctly and you may have a problem with the Arduino card.



    I am writing a firmware for my g27 dead from the Etienne Saint-Paul code (firmware developer FFBWheel.0.16.leonardo.hex). My code is still under development and does not work universally, made for g27 components. But you can test if your encoder is recognized.
    FW: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BzAzg0yVL0n0RnFGekFfWWk5RlE

    - Write the same way with xLoader.
    - Test before any pullup resistance, direct wire. (I set pin pullup pin0 (A) and pin1 (B))
    - Do not use the Z-index (C-channel encoder) or Gnd for pin6. (channels A and B only)

    See in the Windows game controller if it is recognized and if the X axis works.
    if dont work, try pullup resistor.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi @Fernando Igor

    I have made some progress with a different computer

    I installed your version of wheelconfig and was able to get the laptop to recognise the Leonardo and the com port

    I was able to program the board using the wheelconfig program

    the board has pin6 connected to gnd

    by removing the pin 6 / gnd I am able to get the board to count using my finger on pin 0-1

    attached are the images of the screens

    Attached Files:

  12. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    884Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Done.
    Test the encoder =)
  13. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    finally i have the encoder working with the board

    but only on a spare laptop !

    there must be something else installed that is stopping the leonardo driver from recognising the com port etc

    i have tried installing the latest arduino software but it still is a problem

    i guess i need to use the other laptop !
  14. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i have the ibt-2 wired up

    what software do you use to test the ffb effects ?
  15. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    884Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
  16. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    452
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    8,047Coins
    Ratings:
    +613 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Incoming new build!

    1.jpg 2.jpg


    Some more work needed and I'll be able to start testing.
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    That looks similar to my build :)

    How many volts/watts is your motor ?

    What type of encoder are you using ?

    What type of motor driver are you using ?
  18. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    452
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    8,047Coins
    Ratings:
    +613 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Motor is 24V 450W XYD 6B

    Encoder is HN3806-AB-600W (600ppr/2400 cpr)

    Motor driver is IBT-2, Technically the IBT-2 should have sufficient current but I don't know how much current this motor will need under stall.

    I will be using the MMOS to control the wheel.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Mbakos

    Mbakos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Occupation:
    Datacenter Technician
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    521Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    A brushed DC electric scooter motor as direct drive? That will be interesting.
    How much torque is expected from this setup? I'm guessing anything close to what a Logitech wheel can deliver can be considered a success.

    I started so gather components for a wiper motor driven wheel with 1:10 gear ratio with belts. A 12V wiper motor could be around 40Watts, correct me if I'm mistaken.
    Yours is much more promising already, direct drive or not, either way.

    Although beware of the current consumption. This page says it can take a lot more peak current than rated. I suppose it will most likely fry the IBT-2.
    https://www.motiondynamics.com.au/xyd-6d-450w-24v-2600-rpm-with-chain-sprocket-en.html
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2017
  20. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    452
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    8,047Coins
    Ratings:
    +613 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    After inspecting my IBT-2 I have found some issues with the original design. Specifically the heat sink.
    If I am to dissipate a good amount of heat I would need to actively cool the heat sink. Originally I wanted to just blow air over the standard cooler and keep it cooler that way. From the design I assumed that there would bee a big heat pad under the PCB to transfer the heat. I noticed that the heat sink was pretty firm on the PCB and so thought to inspect the heat paste applied. Not surprisingly there was no heat paste at all and the heat transfer through the PCB would be poor.

    So I decided to provide some active cooling using a CPU heatsink and attach it from the other side, directly on the mosfet.

    Here I've taken off the connectors and capacitor to free some space for the heat sink.
    20171030_115556.jpg
    20171030_115548.jpg

    The original heat sink with flux stains from original solder.
    20171030_115602.jpg

    New heat sink.
    20171030_130821.jpg

    Connectors and capacitors soldered on reverse side of PCB.
    20171030_132041.jpg

    Having the heat sink on the soldered tabs would be ideal but because those pads are actually the motor driver outputs it would be a headache to isolate everything properly.