1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

DIY FFB Steering wheel (MMosFFB ) (In Progress)

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Alexey, Dec 10, 2015.

  1. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    First of all flash the Leonardo or Micro boards with HEX file, secondary install into PC "Wheel config" program, (similar to MMos), configure your wheel as you want. If necessary use "WheelChek" software to chek FFB . And that's it. :) , Leonardo recognizable as USB device. So no com port here. :)
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2017
  2. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    i have got the board and have programmed the leonardo using the xloader program

    when i open the wheelconfig program the com port for the leonardo can not be displayed - so i can not program the number of pulses :(

    has anyone else had this problem
  3. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    884Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Are you using encoder a 2-channel or 3-channel (Z-index)?
    If you are using only 2, make a jumper pin6 for pin gnd.
    1- Connect to USB
    2- Open WheelConfig
    3 - Remove the jumper from the pin6 (leave a finger next to pin 6 to give the noise Vcc or make a jumper pin6 to Vcc 5v).
    4- Move the handwheel / encoder and the program should acknowledge.
    5- Put the pin6 jumper for Gnd

    Now just setup and have fun!

    You need to do this every time.
    You can use a button, Gnd and a resistor for Vcc (pull up)

    To test if your card is working, you do not need an encoder, using the step-by-step above and bringing your fingers closer to pin0 and pin1 (making noise).


    If you are using a 3-channel, you may need a pull-up resistor in Z-index, but need to see the datasheet.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. ahfz

    ahfz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Reboot your computer and plug the usb cable leonardo the com port will appear
  5. ahfz

    ahfz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Hello auryza, I now encounter the problem is connected to the power, the motor will have been turning, do not know why, you can help me? Thank you!
  6. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Hello,
    Can be three places where is problem, you need to invert pwm signal or wheel direction, and possible you need to swap power leads of the motor.
    You need to find correct combination.

    invert pwm.JPG

    invert wheel.JPG
  7. ahfz

    ahfz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Thank you auryza, now the motor will not have been rotating, but the steering wheel to the right to a strong feedback, turn left no, is where I set up a problem?

    10.5.jpg
    10.5.1.jpg

    10.5.2.jpg
  8. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Your encoder 2000 ppr = cpr 8000 . I think here is problem , if you have encoder 2000 you should and write 2000 not 8000. PPR means pulse per rotation, CPR count per rotation. Pulse has 4 times count.
  9. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    And one more tip how to connect encoder to arduino board, you need to use pull up resistor. From positive to each channel. Look at the picture.

    ebx_-1415662429.gif
  10. ahfz

    ahfz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Hello auryza, My encoder is the Omron E6B2-CWZ6C-2000P / R rotary encoder ABZ three received Arduino Leonardo A, B, plus the resistance, into 2000 or turn the direction of the wheel without feedback ..
    10.5.3.jpg
  11. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Which motor drive you are using ? Monster Motor Controller or Motor Driver BTS7960 ,
    And check A and B channels of the encoder maybe you need swap the contacts.
  12. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    thank you for the advice - yes i am using a 2 channel encoder

    but the problem is not the encoder and pin 6

    the wheelconfig program can see i have a Leonardo

    but it can not see the com port number the leonardo is on - the option is 'None' :(

    any suggestions what is wrong - do i need a different version of software / firmware ?
  13. ahfz

    ahfz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Hello auryza, my motor is 12v, ordinary 775 motor 150W, motor drive module BTS7960. Interchangeable encoder A, B items wiring, steering wheel to the left to play a strong feedback, right no ... Thank you very much for your answer!
  14. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i seem to have got it working :)

    i changed the com port number to 1 in device manager and now it appears - was driving me nuts !
  15. ahfz

    ahfz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Gadget999:
    10.6.jpg
    Is there a com port on your computer?
    If not, that is, Leonardo driver is not installed, re-install windows driver
    10.6.1.jpg
    If the drive is installed, sometimes Leonardo's port is not here, then you need to re-connect usb cable and restart the computer
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    thank you for the help
  17. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Every time when you using wheel config tool, you should short pin 6 to ground. Then software should recognize leonardo.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,272Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I afraid that is possible motor driver is half dead. One of the chip's not working, i had the same, you need proper cooling for this motor driver. They burn out really fast...
    But first of all you need to be sure. Just try to invert in software and check if FFB changing direction, if only to one side is hard to turn, then motor driver need to be replaced.
  19. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thank you everyone for the help - very much appreciated :)
  20. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    ok looks like i am having the next problem

    i have been unable to get the shaft encoder to send a pulse to the board

    i have tried 3 different encoders

    first encoder is 2 phase 360 pulses
    second encoder is the same 2 phase 360 pulses

    third encoder has a,b and Z made by omron - 360 pulses

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    i wrote a small program to check the pulses - it appears the only pulse i can read is the z phase (1 pulse per revolution)

    the omron sensor has come from a working device and was working fine

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    do i need a pull up resistor on channels 0,1 and 6 ?

    is there a way to configure the inputs for counting on different pins ?

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    where can i download a later version of the wheelconfig program ?