1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question [DIY arduino 2DOF] Issue: SimTools deadzone between 0 and -25

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by pog0, Aug 25, 2020.

  1. pog0

    pog0 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Hello! Hope everyone's alright :)
    I'll be super quick.
    After a longish break from the sim I reinstalled everything and am presented with the current issue:

    - SMC3 control works flawlessly, meaning manual control from -limit to +limit is smooth.
    - Axis assignments are the same as they were before the reinstall. (regular [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a....)
    - GameEngine output testing does work BUT...

    - When output testing, both Axis1a and Axis2a don't respond to input from the values of -1 to -25.
    Beyond -25 the motor jumps to the correct position, while if i drag the slider above -25 it doesn't jump back until it hits +1. The rest of the range works with no problem.

    - If i limit the axis to 50% from within "Axis limiting", the deadzone increases from {0,-25} to {0,-50}, if i limit the axis to 25% the deadzone goes all the way from 0 to -100.

    What do i do? The arduino is working fine since SMC can control it with no issue.

    Thanks a lot!

    P

    Attached Files:

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. pog0

    pog0 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    P.S.: Windows locale has already been set to US english, so I doubt that's what's causing the issue.
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,527
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,046Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,124 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  5. pog0

    pog0 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
  6. pog0

    pog0 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Update : rolling back to 2.4.0 fixed the issue!
    • Informative Informative x 1