1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial DIY 3D printed Sim Racing Hydraulic pedals SRT

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Lebois, Jan 26, 2020.

  1. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    But with the load cell, is the pedal feel improved? The bad thing about the pressure sensor is that you touch the pedal a little and it already goes almost 100%.
  2. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    @Lebois, a question. What difference does having the master cylinder at the rear of the pedal make versus having the master cylinder in front of the pedal?

    Attached Files:

  3. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Balance:
    2,234Coins
    Ratings:
    +110 / 1 / -0
    You do smth wrong then. Wrong amount of pressure sensor taken. Better take no less then 1000 psi.

    Why there should be difference? Ordinary lever arms.
  4. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I can buy 1000 psi sensors. and try.

    the brake pedal has a soft zone and the final part of the pedal already gets hard because just when the hard zone begins is when it marks 100% force.
  5. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Balance:
    2,234Coins
    Ratings:
    +110 / 1 / -0
    What sensor you have now? What pedals? Photos...?
    You will get different amount of pressure applied, by different lever arms distance. I can even suggest more then 1000psi for an ordinary car pedal set. Or 500 PSI, for zero or almost zero lever arm pedal. May be in some DIY layouts. But still, 1000psi is better.
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2020
  6. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    of sensors I have 2 of these, one of 500 and another of 300

    https://es.aliexpress.com/item/32862113630.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.274263c0fGcJw5
  7. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Balance:
    2,234Coins
    Ratings:
    +110 / 1 / -0
  8. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I attach an image of the pedals. Where I mark a red circle are the pressure sensors. They are bought on aliexpress. The clutch is 500 psi and the brake is 300 psi. I put them at random, actually it would be better to put the 500 on the brake.

    Attached Files:

  9. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
  10. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Balance:
    2,234Coins
    Ratings:
    +110 / 1 / -0
    7HUND3R

    Good.

    They have pretty big multipliers of applied force. With an ordinary pedal, it will be like using "brake booster", with 1000 psi sensor. But works too. So if will made up your mind to take a bigger one, like 1500 + it will be ok, for that pedal sets.

    But I switched from ordinary pedals, so that now using 40-45kg of applied force on max, with 70 kg sensor (1000 psi) with this build. By having a direct push on the master cylinder with that pedals.

    Hydraulic pedals DIY
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2020
  11. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Well I comment a little. I have changed the master cylinder of the brake pedal from a 0.625 to a 0.75 and have not noticed any changes.

    Then the brake pedal changed the pressure sensor from a 300 psi to a 500 psi one and the brake pedal no longer goes to 0% when I apply force to the pedal at 100%

    So I do not recommend a 300psi pressure sensor for the brake because it is somewhat weak. A 300 sensor works well for the clutch pedal.
  12. ibohan00

    ibohan00 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Balance:
    102Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    You may need to calibrate the controller on your computer. I'm using MMos and I had to calibrate mine.
  13. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    The truth is that I have not calibrated anything. Just change the sensor. Disconnect the sensor from the arduino and plug in the 500 psi sensor instead and don't configure anything else.
  14. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    270
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +146 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    You still needs to change the calibration.
    Let's say that with a 50kg load on the brake pedal, you go up to 60% with the 500psi sensor, you will read 100% with a 300psi sensor...
  15. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I had 300 psi on the brake but I didn't like it because I pressed the brake a little and it was already at 100% now with the 500 psi I have to put much more force to put the brake at 100%

    As I said before, without gauge sensors.


    Now I want to ride a wilwood pedal set but it's expensive but I want to.

    https://www.wilwood.com/Pedals/PedalProd?itemno=340-13834 &appid=0
  16. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    270
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +146 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Still working a bit on the throttle p1.
    It now gets three different positions on top of few refinements.
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  17. PUBWIE

    PUBWIE New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    78Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Do you guys just use regular brake fluid for the system?
  18. Chris Indeherberge

    Chris Indeherberge Designer / dreamer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    Graphics Designer
    Location:
    Belgium
    Balance:
    178Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I use parrafine oil. A kind of oil that is also safe for the food industry. Soo no harm if you spill some.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. PUBWIE

    PUBWIE New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    78Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino