1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom DIY 2 DOF + traction loss (arcade game style)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by hoyang, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I will make a diagram to make it more explicit
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,303
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    131,168Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,158 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Great to see you got it moving :thumbs

    It appears as though the motor mount and base are flexing, which will mask some of the motion cues. Adding some rigidity would help.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    quick question, can the dead zone option of smc3 cause a delay on the motor tracking line?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,303
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    131,168Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,158 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    From the SMC3 instructions: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/#post-48121

    Deadzone This creates a hysteresis zone for the motor feedback If you need values greater than 1, you probably have too much “slack” in your mechanical setup.

    So in a sense yes, a dead zone will cause some delay, as its purpose is to filter signals so that the output reacts less rapidly than it otherwise would by taking recent system history into account.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    877
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    7,080Coins
    Ratings:
    +820 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Unless someone will use it, why should you bother to make the diagram? I won't for sure. Way too complicated for me.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    how i can do to properly adjust my pwm 0-10v converter.
    Screenshot_20211007-130105_Amazon Shopping.jpg Screenshot_20211007-130112_Amazon Shopping.jpg
  7. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    problem solved !!
    my concern is due to a bad frequency setting of smc3Utils once passed to 5khz the speed variation has started to work correctly, I still have some overshoots on my tracking line, check if I can adjust this with the other parameters.
  8. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    small overview of the bldc engine modify:
    20211120_081633.jpg
  9. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2022
  10. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    modification of my bucket seat to add a 4-point belt with tensioner reel

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  11. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    home made 4 point belt and stepper motor for my belt tensioner

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  12. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I find myself stuck with my communication on game engine. My arduino must receive a serial M1 800
    or M2 800 (800 has 0 being the position of my axis)

    I tried
    M1 <Axis4a> M2 <Axis5a>
    19200 baud rate
    8 bit data
    party none
    stop bit 1
    decimal
  13. John Snell

    John Snell Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    225Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Hoyang. Have you made progress with this issue? I'm happy to try and help and maybe test things on my system, if I can, but I don't quite understand the description of the problem.
  14. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I realize that my previous message is not at all precise.
    here i am creating a belt tensioner inspired by pt-actuator's tension-R.
    after several tweaks and modifications, the system works pretty well (2 nema 23 2.4Nm stepper motors, 2 tb6600 controllers, an arduino nano).
    the code works with simhub tensioner but it does not suit me (I prefer much more precise and flexible simtools).
    I created a code yesterday to retrieve on monitor the return of simtools (game engine) and I think I found my error.
    Example sending simtool:
    {M1<Axe4a> I receive M1##}
    the ## being the 8-bit value of Axis4a between 0 and 255
    I need to modify the code to correctly read this 8bit value.
    this is where I'm stuck, I don't see how to translate this 8 bit value to decimal to get 0 to 255.

    I hope to put it well explained.
  15. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    here is my belt tensioner with surge and sway effect working under simtools. 20220702_174257.jpg 20220702_210251.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  16. hoyang

    hoyang handyman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Bricoleur
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2022