1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
value1

Digital Combat Simulator – DCS Plugin 2.0.0.0

Digital Combat Simulator – DCS Plugin

  1. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,395
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,700 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    As most of the Simtools users do not have a 6DOF, it is not really slanted to that part of the market. Ian's BFF was designed from day one for a 6DOF and as such has lots of useful functions, including sway/roll and surge/pitch mixing. I have a copy and did use it for quite some time on my 6DOF, but the plug-in coverage is very limited and when I added a G system to my rig I needed more axis, which only Simtools has - up to 12. The advantages of running a G-system greatly negate any deficiencies in Simtools. Like VR vs a single flat screen, I could not go back to a standard 6DOF.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Lol4

    Lol4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Great news @yobuddy I did not know the flip priblem was being worked on. Looking forward to the next release. Will the plugin for dcs need updating to take advantage of the change? Thanks for all your hard work .
  3. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,703
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    30,618Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,741 / 10 / -0
    Nope, none of the plugins will!
    In fact, the plugins that addressed the problem themselves, their fix could be removed.
    (but we should fully test the filter i have here first lol.)
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    356Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Does anyone have proper Yaw function in DCS? I was never able to get it to work. I'm going to try out this BFF plugin, but I only have a 3DOF so not sure how well it'll work. I did get the rollover bump sorted using some settings I found in here.
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,395
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,700 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    BFF is a different simulation software solution, not a plugin for Simtools.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    356Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Understood, but if it will run a 3dof rig it serves the purpose
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,395
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,700 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I think there is a 3DOF version. Note: BFF has only limited game support - see his website for more info.
  8. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    356Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I emailed him, it seems the 6dof version has DCS support, but it's not listed in the 3dof version. I'll have him clarify and go from there. Because I fly the Harrier in DCS, not having yaw is super annoying.
  9. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    356Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Unfortunately no 3dof support for DCS...
  10. Macfly123

    Macfly123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,

    i use an 3 DOF Motion System from Simukit. If i make a flip to the right, the seat also moves to the right. Of course, when I get out on the other side, the seat suddenly bumps to the left and gives up this movement until the plane is straight again. In Simtools, can I somehow intercept or prevent this shift of the seat to the other side?

    Which forces from Simtools you generally use in DCS. I currently only use roll and pitch. Which one should I hire?

    I hope you understand my poor English.

    Thanks for your hints, Chris.
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,997
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,129Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,687 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    To manage the transition from one axis extreme to the other you will need to use the filters, in particular smoothing and washout gain and return.
  12. Macfly123

    Macfly123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I fly with Vive Pro. If i make a flip to the right, the seat also moves to the right. Of course, when I get out on the other side, the seat suddenly bumps to the left and gives up this movement until the plane is straight again. At the moment the Vive loses the tracking and the picture takes 2-3 seconds. Of course I can not play DCS that way. Anyone play with the Vive here and can give me some advice here.
    I've attached a lighthouse station to the rig.
  13. Macfly123

    Macfly123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    How does the filter washout with gain and return work? What is the filter for and what does it do?
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,997
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,129Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,687 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  15. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    284Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes, Macfly123, you havo to use the "smoothing" filter as suggested by noorbest. I had the same problem with falcon 4! ;)
  16. Macfly123

    Macfly123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Even with smoothing I can not get it, which beats the seat at more than 180 degrees on the other side. I lose the tracking then. What else is there to catch this. Which settings do you use?
    What am I doing wrong?
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,997
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,129Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,687 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Do not attach a lighthouse base station to the rig, it will get damaged if it is shaken about, as it has spinning parts inside.

    Set the Vive base stations up off the rig and use motion cancellation: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/vr-motion-cancellation-time-to-test.10241/

    As to motion you will need to post pictures of all of your settings and if possible a video that shows the rig movement and scren game play at the same time.
  18. Macfly123

    Macfly123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello noorbeast, many thanks for the hint with the Lighthouse Stations. What exactly does this motion canceling (OpenVR InputEmulator) do? I'm not so smart about it. Can you support me here?

    If I do not attach the Lighthouse stations to the rig, then the view no longer fits in the cockpit. If my motionseat raises at the front (so I fly up) then I remove myself from the Lighthouse station and in the cockpit in VR then the sitting position is no longer correct. The same happens with left or right movements. That's why I had the station mounted on the rig. How do I get it that the cockpit seating position in the Vive does not change?
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,997
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,129Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,687 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Motion cancellation tracks the movement of the rig and subtracts that from the the HMD, so your view does not jump around.

    The proper place for the OpenVR-InputEmulator is the GitHub page: https://github.com/matzman666/OpenVR-InputEmulator/issues/4#issuecomment-299575175
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Macfly123

    Macfly123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    @noorbeast: Thanks for the hint with the app. This works great.
    • Like Like x 2