1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules
value1

Digital Combat Simulator – DCS Plugin 2.0.0.0

Digital Combat Simulator – DCS Plugin

  1. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    231
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello. Some time ago I had the same problem but the comunity of the forum helped me to solve! Thank you all!!! :thumbs
  2. jtorres

    jtorres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Barcelona, Spain
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hey guys,, I'd like to share an issue I've been facing during the last days, just in case somebody else comes across it.

    I started using the official Simtools DCS plugin for my DOFReality (3DOF) and initially I felt I was in a mechanical bull rather than in a flight sim :-( . SimTools was receiving data and it was configured properly (at least in the same way other games are and properly work). However, I realised (using SimTools Tunning Center) that the values (PItch, Roll, Yaw,etc.) were extremely high, I mean, i.e. `Max Pitch` caught something like 165343398, Yaw = 179665332 or -.650435 rather than expected range values around -180 - 180 or -90 to 90.

    I tried to fix it in export.lua script by debugging and checking the values export.lua script was sending with no luck, I ended up by setting the pitch and roll angles to 180 -just to make sure my DOFReality was working, communicating and the axis were properly configured- by hardcoding values in the lua script: i.e. roll= 3.1415 but it only worked when I divided that hardcoded values by 10000 (and not in all axis) when I set back those variable from DCS API in lua -even by dividing it by 10000- it didn't work so I left the export.lua as it comes by default.

    After spending several hours by looking at export.lua script I started looking at other *plugins.dll code samples in order to understand what this plugins exactly do -and how it calculate motions values- and I realised that some plugins do not take into account culture specific checks when performing motions calculations (pitch, roll, yaw, sway surge heave) regarding to decimal separators and, in my case, although all my software is in English, my regional settings are set to Spain, that's it, we use comma instead of point for decimal separators. After setting regional settings to English and re-starting SimTools everything got fixed and working. It also explain high values I was viewing in the tunning center; somehow `3.14 * 180` was calculated like `314 * 180`.

    Thus, if somebody else come across with this weird high values issue which could be detected on Tunning Center, make sure your regional settings for number decimal separator use `point` not `comma`.

    If somebody else has the code of the DCS plugin it could be also awesome to a add culture specific check on such operations.

    Salud!
    • Informative Informative x 3
  3. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,890
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    36,073Coins
    Ratings:
    +4,038 / 11 / -0
    @jtorres
    The problem here is the export.lua script i believe.
    Since it does not detect region options and the script is hard coded to use periods, the problem occurs.

    I think what needs to happen here is for use to have 2 copies of the script (one with commas and one with periods).
    And the patching routines then needs to detect and install the correct one.

    Maybe you could test if a altered export.lua script with commas will work without appling the regional settings to English?
    If it does, what I mention above should work.

    This does lead me to believe that the last region problems that are left is only with certain plugins.
    But we will see.
    yobuddy
  4. jtorres

    jtorres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Barcelona, Spain
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hey @yobuddy

    Ok, I switched my regional settings back to Spain (that's it: my decimal separator is again a comma) and I modified the export.lua so that it checks format integrity in order to detect points as decimal separators. In such case they are replaced by commas. The snippet is:

    Code:
    
        --gets DCS values
        local altRad = LoGetAltitudeAboveGroundLevel()
        local pitch, roll, yaw = LoGetADIPitchBankYaw()
        local accel = LoGetAccelerationUnits()
    
        -- values formatting to bundle   
        local bundle = string.format("%.4f; %.4f; %.4f; %.4f; %.4f; %.4f;\n", pitch, roll, yaw, accel.x, accel.y, accel.z)
       
       --does my system use commas for decimal separator? then uncomment next line
       bundle = bundle:gsub("%.", ",")
    
        my_send = socket.protect(function()
            if c then
                socket.try(c:send(bundle))
                end
        end)
        my_send()
    
    
    And this fixes the issue. The 2 copies of the script as you pointed out above should work indeed as long as the user never changes his regional settings. A comment in the script will also be appreciated (IMHO).

    Let me know if I can help you out here, thanks for replying.

    Let me share a couple of screenshots about the issue for the records:

    This is a screenshot of Tunning center when my system uses commas for decimal separator:
    issue.png

    This one is when I apply the snippet shared above.
    issue_fixed.png
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    628Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I see that the roll/pitch inversion still hasn't been sorted. I also get a violent YAW when passing through 000 degrees while turning, I'm assuming this is related?

    Also, when starting in an aircraft that is not running on the tarmac, the whole rig shudders violently until I start the engines, or when the toe brakes are pressed at any time while on the ground. Any solutions for any of this yet?
  6. jtorres

    jtorres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Barcelona, Spain
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I've sorted it out and now it's working fine using current plugin in DCS 1.5 (A10C and F15), could you share some screenshot like Tunning Center values or axis configuration? it could give us further details in order to help you out to sort it.
  7. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    628Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Does this help?

    20180131_184902.jpg

    20180131_184921.jpg
  8. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    628Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  9. Csaba

    Csaba New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    14Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  10. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    england
    Balance:
    276Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
  11. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    england
    Balance:
    276Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    this is been ongoing for ages ! if done properly the effect is reversed when the side movement ( of the chair rocker/any ) reaches close to its limit

    I dont use roll at all due to this, just sway to help make up for it
  12. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    628Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I've been flying with 2.5, same issues as 2.2/1.5. Works ok.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    628Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    So this ridiculous teeth rattling shuddering when sitting on the ramp or whatever until the engine starts is just how it is?
  14. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    england
    Balance:
    276Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    I don’t get that Moe
    Check your hardware / settings
  15. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    628Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I'm not sure what to check. I'm completely clueless with this stuff.
  16. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    628Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Here's a video of how bad it is. This is when I first enter the game if the aircraft is sitting on the tarmac not running. It behaves like this until I get the engine started.

  17. Lol4

    Lol4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    - 139Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have you tried changing the heave value in the tuning centre from 1 and -1 to say 10 and -10. It probably won't make a difference based on how you explain the issue but worth a try.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,483
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,964Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,537 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  19. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    628Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Here's the view in tuning center, while sitting on the ramp cold. Noorbeast thank you for the links, I'm looking through that stuff right now.

  20. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    10,281Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,253 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    The 1's for surge, sway and heave are too small. Try 10 instead…
    • Informative Informative x 1