1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

SimTools Presets Default Axis Asignments for 6DOF Rig

Discussion in 'Game Engine axes presets' started by Michael Grellmann, Sep 2, 2021.

  1. Michael Grellmann

    Michael Grellmann New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I finished my new rig with 6 AMC servo controller axis in a hexagon arrangement and using Simtools for my games mainly iRacing, MSFS2020 and nolimits2 rollercoaster. But I am not pleased with the clean movement of every axis. When I test the single axis movement with the "output testing" function of the game engine there is the right movement, but no clean return to the middle position, only a kind of hard shaking movement to the middle position. From my understanding every axis is involved in the movement of every DOF, e.g. the Roll-Movement is involved with DOF1 ....DOF6 with different percentages. Maybe the different percentages must be calculated with a CAD-Program according to the geometry.

    Can anybody offer such a default setting for the axis Assignments in Simtools? Or better a manual to calculate these values?

    Michael
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,402
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,415Coins
    Ratings:
    +316 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    show us your current settings
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Michael Grellmann

    Michael Grellmann New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi Gadget999, thanks for fast reply.
    Currently it doesn't make sense to send my current settings, because they are wrong how I can see with the function Output testing. That's why I am looking for the method to set them correctly. Now I will reset them from my logic understanding and after that I would show the result.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,190
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,761Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,758 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    This is what SimTools should show in Output Testing: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/which-way-to-set-simtool-axis-movements.230/

    That said posting your settings provides context, as there is far more to setting up and refining a motion profile than just the Axis Assignments: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
  6. Michael Grellmann

    Michael Grellmann New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi Noorbeast,

    thanks for detailed reply, which I was looking for. Now I will preset my Axis Assignments first by "try and error" and after that testing results in game by using tuning center according your guidance. It will take some time.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Michael Grellmann

    Michael Grellmann New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Coming back to my question for my Axis Assignments. My first setting is working as shown in the pictures.
    But before I can make further optimization I would like to know, how to set a correct Axis Movement for a linear Hexapod. E.g. setting DOF1 as Surge I've been thinking wich Axis should make which movement direction at which value in mm or %. So I found out by try and error as follows (see picture too)
    Axis1a 12%
    Axis2a 12% invers
    Axis3a 30%
    Axis4a 30%
    Axis5a 12% invers
    Axis6a 12%
    The Output Testing at the Game engine shows the right movement, but it is no clear and clean Surge-Movement, only approximately. At the some method I "guessed" the settings for Sway, Heave, Roll, Pitch and Yaw (so fare not used).
    Is there an easy CAD- or Excel-Tool available to calculate the correct values (%) for ever Axis in function of the geometry of the linear Axis of my rig?

    Attached Files: