1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Creazyrider 2DOF for car races and plane

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by creazyrider, Jun 25, 2018.

  1. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Moteur avec engrenages.jpg Moteur avec engrenage et capteur.jpg
  2. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Cutting the wood to make the support for the electronics parts

    Planche support.jpg
  3. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Making supports for the wood board

    20180906_222419.jpg
  4. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  5. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Implantation of the electronic parts

    Implantation composants Elec.jpg
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018
  6. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Wiring the Sim

    20180909_134027bis.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  7. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I tried to make it work with the version 1.23 of Wanegain's Arduino sketch but nothing happens, I first configure the Sabertooth with the software "Describe" to set the User1 to serial and set the baud rate to 9600. I can make the 2 motors moving by "Describe" but it's not working with the Arduino.
    I tried another Arduino sketch (a simple example of the sabertooth library) to be sure that the communication between the arduino and the Sabertooth works and it's OK, motors are moving.
    So the problem is maybe in the configuration of Simtool Game Engine, in the field: "Interface - Output"

    If someone have an idea ???
    I spent maybe 5 hours to try to make it work but it's not OK.

    I tried to make it work with a RC controller and it works but not with the Arduino.

    I may try to use another sketch : SMC3-SPS Sabertooth Packet Serial
  8. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    It's Moving !!!
    I'm so happy.

    First I want to thanks a lot to BlazinH, Rufu's Dufus and the very good tutorial : https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ket-serial-pid-motor-driver-w-softstart.9277/
    with the usefull software "SMC3 Windows Utility".

    I have a big issue of communication between GameEngine and GameManager:
    from Game engine I can move the motors with the Output testing, it's OK
    from Game manager it's Blue and written connected, when I play the game and then I check in the Tuning Center, I have values in almost all the fields
    The problem is that Game manager do not transmit values to game engine so nothing happens.

    Here is my config:
    My computer works on Windows 10.
    I disable the firewall, antivirus and even changed the local language to English (united states)
    but it's still not communicating (I didn't touch the IP adress in both software: 127.0.0.1)

    So I tried with the same config in my old computer on Windows XP only, in demo version and it works ..... So I really think the problem comes from WIN10.

    Do you have an idea of what to do ?
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  10. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I tried with Assetto corsa and it's working, I don't know why it wasn't working with LFS, I'm so happy.
    But now I've a problem with the motor arm, they are turning around the shaft so I'll buy others. I will change the U-Joint too I have some movements in Yaw axis that I want to remove.
  11. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    The position sensor brackets were not strong enough for me, so I build others with metal.

    Supports potar metal 3.jpg
  12. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Supports potar metal 2.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  13. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Support potar en metal.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  14. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Capture d’écran 2018-09-17 à 00.46.30.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  15. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Soldering of the wires for the 3 fans: one of 120mm for extracting and 2 of 60mm for injecting fresh air

    Faisceau ventilateurs.jpg
  16. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  17. rmk83

    rmk83 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    REGISTERED NURSE
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Pretty cool rig there! Way more knowhow than I have. LOL. I built a decent platform for my ProSimu T1000 but nothing like this. Are you gonna paint it at some point? Awesome work
  18. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thank you Ryan, yes I'll paint everything and make a closed box to put all the electronics ( and the Fans).
    I first want to finish the soldering, I'll change the U-joint, I've some yaw that I dont want so I will change it.

    Nice car, i rent the last mustang GT in California it was awsome !
  19. rmk83

    rmk83 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    REGISTERED NURSE
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Sounds good! Gonna be cool to see it when it's all wrapped up. And yeah I've owned 5 Mustangs so far (all different years of the car) and have had a blast with them all. Not bad bang for your buck cars! V-8 with a little rumble is always fun. HAHA
  20. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Installing the new Simukit arms

    Biellette.jpg