1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Cousin of OSW (Open Sim Wheel)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gadget999, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. danove_b

    danove_b Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,040Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 2 / -0
  2. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    155Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    How would they go with heat buildup and dissipation. By designed they are a very low duty cycle, 30 secs to a minute at most at full current draw. Might have to look at current limiting the driver. Other than that they do meet the requirements, hefty torque even at speed and usually not too large.

    I'm contemplating whether a washing machine motor could be repurposed, probably a universal that can be required to series configuration, the speed runaway if not an issue since it's in a closed loop circuit, just can't find any torque or stall current draw figures for something like that.
  3. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    155Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Scratch the DC series idea, this includes starter motors. To reverse the direction you so the polarity of only the field or armature.

    You could do it but the motor would have to be modified to be a sepex motor. Drive the armature as normal from a H-bridge, and either apply constant current to the field windings, or vary it along with the armature but not swap the polarity. I'm not sure how varying it would affect the linearity of torque, and not sure how long the windings would last speed constant full current.
  4. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    yikes 100 amps !! that would be a real bitch to stop from turning ! is there a simple way to reduce the current flow ?
  5. danove_b

    danove_b Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,040Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 2 / -0
  6. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    155Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    yes i was suprised too - it needs 100 amps to start making torque
  8. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    155Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Guys,

    Those of you that have the Omron E6B2 Encoder on the STM32F4 Discovery. Do the A/B channels and/or the index need pull-up or down resistors?
  9. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    a quick update - yesterday the STM32F4 discovery board finally arrived however it appears it will do nothing more than the Leoanado board - is this correct ?

    i found a 1kw electric motor and a geared version of my motor going for sensible money so i decided to buy them :)

    first impression the 1kw motor is quite notchy and jumps from one position to the next - i guess the magnets are quite powerful

    the geared motor seems to turn without any notching and has a bit more resistance than the non geared motor - however with a wheel attached it will be very easy to turn

    Attached Files:

  10. danove_b

    danove_b Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,040Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 2 / -0
    The 1000w motor seems to be exactly the same as mine (except voltage maybe) and I can after several hours of use say that the cogging is not an issue.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
  11. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I am considering a universal motor for a DD wheel

    They use a coil to produce a magnetic field rather than use a magnet

    They are often used in washing machines and can be run ac or dc

    The only issue i can see is a way of driving the motor if ac is used.

    I have lying about somewhere i will try it on a 12v battery to see how much torque it has
  12. danove_b

    danove_b Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,040Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 2 / -0
    The mmos has BLDC outputs, but iIhave not seen
    The mmos has BLDC outputs, so it seems that it could control (you need a 6 FET driver bridge of course) a
    BLDC/AC motor directly without current loop. Very strange that there are no information to be found
    about this outputs, but you can choose it in the configuration software.
    I'm quite happy with my MY1020, but if get time to test out the STM32 card, and if the outputs are "alive" i will
    build a 6 FET bridge and buy this:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/12V...076429.html?shortkey=ma2iyEfi&addresstype=600
    You can see that the magnets are skewed in 3 steps to minimize the magnetic cogging.
  13. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino

    that servo motor looks very neat - is it compatible with a particular type of servo drive ?
  14. danove_b

    danove_b Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,040Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 2 / -0
    I have seen some package together with driver, but not that kind of type we want. I'ts not that hard to build your own bridge. The motor also has built in feedback for standard drives, but because we already have a rotary encoder we don't need that. I assume that when the MMOs software starts up, it starts rotate the motor slowly and detects how many poles the motor has by using the rotary encoder.
  15. danove_b

    danove_b Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,040Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 2 / -0
    Finally had some time to update my equipment with some more power. The HP power supplies spec. is 38.3 A, but they output >50 A!
    Two of this in parallel, and had not plan to go over the spec, but than the BTS7960 started to cut of already at about 33 A, so I connected a third BTS7960! So now I have limited the output to max 85 A (3.2 Nm / 35.6 A * 85 A = 7,64 Nm). I have also learned something about fans the hard way. Had problem to cool the motor when I let the fan press the air through the motor. I decided to try to the reversed way, and i was very surprised that the cooling was working much better. Still one thing I don't understand, and that's that the motor is stronger/consumes more current in one direction with the same voltage. Maybe the brushes is not aligned in the middle relative to the magnets? I have just compensated for it in my software.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  16. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    did you write your own software to control the wheel ?

    can we see a video of it working please
  17. danove_b

    danove_b Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,040Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 2 / -0
    Maybe later this weekend. Tomorrow night I have a test race in the AOR F1 league. Want to same my arms and hands for that...
  18. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    good effort ! do you use the leonardo for the arduino ?
  19. danove_b

    danove_b Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,040Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 2 / -0
    I'm using the pro micro. That's the initial reason why i wrote my own code for it. The micro is missing the D11 pin that is hard-coded
    for PWM output in the working Aiwave firmware.
    upload_2018-3-3_10-21-14.png
  20. The_Raging_Peacock

    The_Raging_Peacock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hello guys! I see some nice arduino leonardo based builds and i have just finished builidng my test version. I have a couple of problems and I hope they can be solved. I have Ai-wave software on my computer, IBT-2 motor driver , 200W 24VDC motor 5m belt drive about 1:5 ratio and omron E6B2 encoder with transistor for Z. I got it to work in Assetto Corsa but it doesnt turn really smooth and sometimes the whole game stops and wheel starts spinning in one direction untill i turn the power off and disconect arduino from my computer. I run the motor on 12V.