1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Cousin of OSW (Open Sim Wheel)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gadget999, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. Narakmir

    Narakmir New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    103Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hi, I experienced that problem for many months. Nearly didn't sleep thinking of what it could be.
    Now I have solved it. After trying many theories, my conclusion is that the problem was EMI, electro-magnetic interference. I isolated the signal cables from the power cables and grounded the power supply.
    Tutorial of how to eliminate EMI:

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Nh...ej4lrgVYYy8GoBVrQyca_1s7kaJ07MriSj06JI_cIXg0Q

    Nevertheless, I tried other things:
    - Changed the board. From a STM32 blue pill to a STM32 F103c8t6 (more processing speed) thought that maybe the processing speed was to low in order to read all the information sent by the encoder.
    - Put the 1k resistors to the encoder signal cables
    - Same steering angle on game and on the software
    - Changed all the wiring
    - Low frequencies in order to get less information and therefore less information lost
    - Swap to EMC development software

    And some more that I cannot remember now.
    Hope it will help
    Regards
    • Informative Informative x 2
  2. Fatih M.

    Fatih M. New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    204Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor

    Hi. i solved the problem with the renew ground cables and rip off the usb extension cable. Part of the cable was damaged and replacing it took care of my problem. I read the file you shared and saw that there are very useful things in it. thank you so much for your help.
    Regards
    • Like Like x 2
  3. GaryG

    GaryG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Same question!
    Should i use 1000PPR or 2000PPR or maybe less?

    Another question is if there is any idea how to limit the rotation degree because i am planning to build a steering wheel with buttons and screen and the last thing I want is to rip the wiring if the wheel gonna rotate without stopping.
  4. Fatih M.

    Fatih M. New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    204Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Hi everyone. i disassemble everything and reconnect into a box. Made new EMC connections like the picture above. i've had some problems but solved now. EMC software amazing. thanks for advices

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 12, 2021
  5. gzezelj

    gzezelj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Sombor, Serbia
    Balance:
    - 84Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello everyone. I plan to build a DD wheel base. I have a DC motor from aku cordless lawn mower. I don't know the exact motor specifications. I only know that it is 24V and 3850 rpm. Based on very similar models from the same manufacturer, I assume that the motor has about 900W. Which power supply do you recommend? I plan to buy a power supply from ebay 24V 30A 720W. I have an STM32 board and an OMRON E6B2 CWZ1X 1800 PR encoder. Are 1k ohm resistors acceptable for this encoder? Which resistors do you recommend?

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 17, 2021
  6. LuXeL

    LuXeL New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi everyone, I'm new and sorry for my English. I just picked up the MY1020 motor and when rotating the shaft it does not turn smoothly, I feel jumping, if the steering wheel turns like this, it will be worse than the steering wheel on the gear wheels :(
    Is my engine broken? Unfortunately, I do not have all the parts yet to check if the motor will work differently under voltage

    Thank You for help
    Best Regards
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,583
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +366 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    it will be fine when you power it up
  8. LuXeL

    LuXeL New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thank you for your response, I connected my1020 with bts7960 + arduino (without encoder) and nothing has changed. I also connected it to + 12v and it worked for 5 minutes but after turning it off, it still did not run smoothly I am sending a video where you can see "jumps"
  9. Faisal Nyan

    Faisal Nyan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Occupation:
    Just a Maker
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Balance:
    415Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    I'm planning to use, the MY1020 1000W 48V motor, along with a motor driver that can apparently run at 100A. You have suggested to use a 12V PSU but may I know, how much wattage and amperage should I look for? Would a 12v 100a 1200w work?

    Here is a link to the motor driver: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/100A-DC-motor-drive-Module-High-Power-motor-speed-Control-Dual-Channel-H-bridge/261605228016?_trkparms=ispr=1&hash=item3ce8e2fdf0:g:5~cAAOSwPe1UI38T&amdata=enc:AQAFAAACcBaobrjLl8XobRIiIML1V4Imu%2Fn%2BzU5L90Z278x5ickkXKoKcbeZcOrOku%2BoOBl%2BS2i1OETflUuScKWn%2F6xDFVdZzanMRgMVxWci5g0o24%2FaknMYL9OuALtikpB7RjD3HwR2%2BQo44jG3UCsfm%2FvAsnOoj8LX6CVH7C2rPCU6n7Jp1TF6Rcse9dSugVclDVvTz%2FJYmsGM%2Fz3MhWQwVUuEz9%2BoUXHyFHaY26UvbXJ9TTRd16CZALjKHqYMIn8zU6BXBSC30D7iJwGX0xUQmqQdqgriQMU19knRzvIRQ6Zrw%2BldePKgx%2FBrXyIE2KaqZ1M5mBtLcaVdVn7iTyBFDaRfm5MmLv0ewj2uSJ%2B9hT0I6CnnwuG3P5wLIokRt0B7uN2bnH2yQgya1%2Bh7H92ur3JvtsLdHD3dl17X9kSl47h8jmHJWTAxn22X7vMXhf2qxOsIMcKK4NzvEoXqS%2FCFCTrguZF3mXXOxmRTziJg7SNI8NvkjxmW09yY7GBXzhHWyUCM4UsCk32xRJetpAwTl1cKBJLEiRj%2FRCLcIh%2FPBIAXQZc5bbnOrWFdZACE2qgSI7M%2FAcf9I5zIo%2Fr1UOaMBkzHvJ5KdaDMTd%2B9%2Fxj1Gf35oS%2BV9HbUkGNPqXxBuMYywyJcJ%2FizhaqDSxsjqHKHet1coofFiWL%2FaXXMlPQJUuX7aRKB6uTXfA1bVaV2FB6zr5LEPRglvdbhUDf5ih%2FIUsMrerWcEPFJuKfv99N41xftiwfHxSE90p7TjwpLgZ2DG5q7DZuAyIkp6cItRKQQL6kKx1sT%2BtgnRpKrBo480vcJkyuY6wdCvX768yCqif%2Bn5C86vA%3D%3D|cksum:261605228016efbdbf205ebd48d6913a303057c22ec3|ampid:pL_CLK|clp:2334524
    Last edited: May 21, 2021
  10. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,583
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +366 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    what made you think it would turn smoothly when the power was off !
  11. Faisal Nyan

    Faisal Nyan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Occupation:
    Just a Maker
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Balance:
    415Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    A lil update, would this PSU's work? The HP DPS-1200FB-1 A Server PSU:
    Last edited: May 21, 2021
  12. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,799Coins
    Ratings:
    +79 / 3 / -0
    It will work, but please read my old statement; 12 Volt might be too low to produce that current on a 48 V motor. It was some time ago, but I think I needed almost 11 volt to produce 80 A at stall with my 36 Volt motor.
  13. Faisal Nyan

    Faisal Nyan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Occupation:
    Just a Maker
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Balance:
    415Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    I read through this thread, maybe I missed it, but could you just tell me the specs here instead?
  14. Faisal Nyan

    Faisal Nyan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Occupation:
    Just a Maker
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Balance:
    415Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Maybe you misunderstood my question, but if I were to use a 48v 1000w MY1020 with a 100a driver, what PSU would you recommend? I have tried to search for a 24v 100a psu but I am unable to find one, maybe I don't know the exact numbers, or maybe you have some listings or examples for me?
  15. Adilrepas

    Adilrepas New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Balance:
    177Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    • Like Like x 1
  16. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,799Coins
    Ratings:
    +79 / 3 / -0
    I didn't missunderstand you, it will work surely, but I cannot guarantee that you have use for all the 100 Amps. Because it is a 48 V motor, i guess that the max Amps will be about 60-70 A @ 12 V.
  17. Faisal Nyan

    Faisal Nyan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Occupation:
    Just a Maker
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Balance:
    415Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    What will you recommend then?
  18. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,799Coins
    Ratings:
    +79 / 3 / -0
    As you stated by yourself, a 24 Volt PS would be better, but it will still work with a 12 V, but you probably aren't gonna get all the possible torque from the motor.
  19. Faisal Nyan

    Faisal Nyan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Occupation:
    Just a Maker
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Balance:
    415Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    How many amps? The most I've seen is 40A in my area
  20. Faisal Nyan

    Faisal Nyan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Occupation:
    Just a Maker
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Balance:
    415Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Hope you'll reply to this, took 2 years of planning but I finally took a dive and bought the 48v 1kv MY1020 and a soldering iron. I have a few questions:

    1. What wire/cable gauge should I get for this project, including the wires for the board along with the wires for the DC drivers and motor?

    2. I read your reply again, maybe I misunderstood, but I suppose with your statement I should either get a 12v with 80 or below Amp PSU or 24V with around 80+ amps since I'll only be able to use 70A of the 12v PSU?
    (Primarily asked this because I'm having trouble finding a 24v PSU with more than 40A in my area and wanted to know if the 100A 12v would be ample for my usage in the meantime)

    3. Will running the system on a 12v 80A+ PSU get me at least 5nm?

    4. Should I use 3 IBT-2's for the 12v 80+A PSU or is 2 of them enough?

    5. Do you have a photo of a torque test of your system? A friend of mine is telling me not to trust you and that you're making a lot of speculations

    I'd like to note that I've read through this thread so many times this week from page 1, it's killing me that I can't get any answers, maybe I missed something, I don't know why I chose to do this with no experience but I really hope you can help ;w;
    Last edited: May 27, 2021