1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Confused with 2.0 Licenses

Discussion in 'SimTools DIY Version' started by DSSxSIM, Jan 9, 2017.

  1. DSSxSIM

    DSSxSIM Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    it so happy to see 2.0 online, but I'm serious confused with those licence.
    1. why DIY Licences($149) cost more than Professional License($69)?
    2.what "Commercial Use Permitted" means?
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,711Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    if you build(t) a DIY simulator (not similar when you assembled a kit from a vendor) then you go here: https://www.xsimulator.net/request-diy-key-simtools/
    Due to licence "restrictions" you have to request a free key.

    "To qualify for a free license you must be building a true DIY motion simulator.
    A Motion Simulator that is not built from a kit or purchased from a simulator seller."
  4. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,908
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,795 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    You must also have documented your DIY build in the DIY Motion Simulator Projects section to qualify for a DIY free key.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. DSSxSIM

    DSSxSIM Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Let me try to clear it.
    If I post a project here, I can request for a Free DIY Licence key.
    If I bought someone's Sim, I don't have the original project to post, I should pay for DIY Licence.

    I want extra function like Video Ride Player, I need to pay Professional License.
    If I built a motion sim and I want to sell it bundle with Simtools, I need to buy a Professional License key.

    for Entertainment License, it comes if I earn money like arcade games, maybe play 15min cost $10 something like that.

    so..correct?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,908
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,795 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. DSSxSIM

    DSSxSIM Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  8. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,908
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,795 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    These questions should be asked in that thread so everyone can share in the discussion.
  9. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,716
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    31,860Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,781 / 10 / -0
    The DIY License is meant to be free and not purchased.
    I didn't want people accidentally buying it, that's why the stated value went up.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  10. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    240Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I have my discount code and "buyed" a free license. Where can see my license for registration?
  11. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,716
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    31,860Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,781 / 10 / -0
    it gets emailed to you...
  12. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    240Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I received the discount code but no the license
  13. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,716
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    31,860Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,781 / 10 / -0
    Use the discount code on SimTools.us to get your DIY license buddy.
  14. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    240Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks, tried again, but now said "This discount is not active."
  15. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,716
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    31,860Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,781 / 10 / -0
    ok so it must have gone thru.
    let me know if you don't get an email.
    Be sure to check any spam folder you may have also.
    Just incase it ended up there.
    yobuddy
  16. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    240Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thank you very much yobuddy, perhaps don fill my mail at checkout...
  17. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,716
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    31,860Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,781 / 10 / -0
    well give it a few, buzz me later if you get nothing man.
  18. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    240Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I find it! Loosed in a ton of unwanted mail, sorry and thanks again.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  19. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    4,996Coins
    Ratings:
    +471 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    As I understand, the free DIY license(which I received in a couple of minutes after asking for it on the website, congrats !) doesn't cover GameDash. It is a shame, as Dash are used by many DIYers. I myself develop dash using arduino (CarDashX, and DashX2 soon), but also plugins. When developing plugins, I test the dash values I populate are relevant and work nicely. Do you plan to have a DIY Developper license ? This adds value to the plugins IMHO.
    Really, I am about to buy a pro license because you deserve it fully by your involvment to the community. BUT others may be annoyed by the status change of GameDash model.

    My 2 cents.
    V.
  20. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,631
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,720Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,483 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Hello,

    > This adds value to the plugins IMHO.

    Isn't there enough value in the free DIY license?

    See it from another view:

    You as a developer probably knows what it means to add only one new feature to a software. It must be tested, debugged, verified if its still working after updating and so on. This costs time and money. If he puts all the requested features into another DIY version who would do a purchase of the pro version?

    > Really, I am about to buy a pro license because you deserve it fully by your involvement to the community

    I am sure @yobuddy would be pleased if you like to do so:)

    All the best to you
  21. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    4,996Coins
    Ratings:
    +471 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Nice talking to you. I have mixed feelings on this topic, which others may also experience:

    - As a legacy user, I could be disappointed to see a feature I used to have for free requiring me to go for a Pro version.
    - As an active community member recognising the hard work you have all invested in v2.0 :thumbs I'm happy to support you and go for Pro version (I just did it @yobuddy, 68,45€ :cool:)
    - "Tout travail mérite salaire" = "All work deserves to be rewarded" => Go for Pro !
    - As a dev willing to add value to simtools v2 I'm sad to see I have to pay (or I just don't implement dash values in the plugin, which would be a shame). This could refrain the virtuous circle of good wills adding plugins and value, making simtools less attractive.

    v2 looks disruptive in many ways, including the licensing model (more open and versatile through axes/interfaces plugins, buttkick approaching, etc etc...) which looks like to generate more money for good reasons . I guess you had to make this transition but it may be disappointing/frustrating for some.

    Note: now I'm a "pro" user, I'm fully ready to migrate my plugins to v2 including dash values. I just need the game plugin samples for UDP :p

    Thanks again for your dedication !
    • Friendly Friendly x 2