1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

News SimTools 2.0 Question and Answer

Discussion in 'Breaking News' started by yobuddy, Feb 29, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,651
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,579Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,688 / 10 / -0
    Here is the SimTools 2.0 Pricing Table.
    (All prices are in USD)
    Prices.jpg



    And here is the SimTools 2.0 official license. (zipped doc file)
    SimTools 2.0 - EULA.zip
    • Like Like x 6
    • Informative Informative x 5
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Old Old x 1
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2016
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,651
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,579Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,688 / 10 / -0
    Hi All, :cheers

    The very first SimTools 2.0 post!
    In an effort to be a bit more open with what’s going on with SimTools 2.0, I have decided to make a question and answer thread. I hope this thread can be used to tell you a bit of where we are going and answer any question you guys may have. I will try to post the common question the top of this thread, so everyone can see the answers, without having to scroll thru the entire thread.


    What New Features are Planed for SimTools 2.0?
    I am sure I could have gotten away with just adding a bunch of new features to SimTools 2.0. But that would hardly be the future of DIY Simulator building. And I probably would have only been able to achieve half of all the feature requests people have had for SimTools 2.0. On top of that, all the added features would only slow SimTools down, and that my friends, is just not acceptable!

    So how do we accommodate everyone’s ideas and requests for new features, and also be able to support new interfaces and enable the building of more complex simulators? (For example, a simulator built out of an industrial robot arm.) Or maybe you just want to drive a device with different math, such as a haptic feedback vest.

    The solution is to build a completely modular motion system! :thumbs Where anyone can not only build a Game Plugin, but also build Interface Plugins and Axis Assignment (math) Plugins. Because of this, anyone can add any feature they need, to any part of the system and not affect any other user. And the new plugins are shareable and usable by anyone. Every time a new interface plugin gets built, we all can now use that interface in future DIY builds!

    To me, game plugins are the best part of SimTools, and I saw no reason not to push it as far as I could! (@value1 - special thx for pushing me to implement the game plugin system, and all the time you have put into game plugins! I really can’t thank you enough)


    Ok cool, but what New Features are there in SimTools 2.0?
    - Game Manager –Simpler Patching!
    - Game Manager –Stop/Go Button!
    - Game Manager –Game is patched - Icon indicator now on main screen!
    - Game Manager –ButtKicker Output Support!
    - Game Manager –Remote Profile Management UDP interface!
    - Game Manager –Splash Screen now closes when the System Trays Icon is Double Clicked!
    - Game Engine –Memory Mapped Output Interface!
    - Game Engine –JRK Output Interface!
    - Game Engine –Interface Plugin System!
    - Game Engine –Axis Assignment (Math) Plugin System!
    - Game Engine –Axis Assignments plugins are now completely multithreaded and way faster!
    - Game Engine –Two Axis Assignments pages for up to 12 simultaneous axis calculations!
    - Game Engine –DOF Extra1-3 ‘Names’ now properly displayed in the right places!
    - Plugin Updater –Now asks to replace a Max/Min file if one is already installed for the game!
    - Game Manager –Profile Managers ‘Main Level’ now smoothes the inputs (not the outputs, oh so much better.)

    There is a lot more, but it’s what I can think of off the top of my head for now.


    New Companion Apps
    Game Vibe - ButtKicker output system (3d if game supports it)
    Video Ride Player/Creator - (Ride, Capture and Create 5D style video rides)


    SimTools Fixes
    There is also a ton of fixes and improvement is SimTools 2.0, here are just some (that I can remember of hand) I will add more as they come to me or I get asked about them.
    Fixed – GUI, no need to set text size to 100%
    Fixed – No Need to change the Date Time format for proper output bug (affected countries that use a comma as a decimal point)


    I will be adding to this list as I get more done, get asked questions or as I remember anything I have forgotten. (I'm sure there is a lot) :grin

    yobuddy
    • Winner x 28
    • Like x 19
    • Agree x 2
    • Disagree x 1
    • Creative x 1
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2016
  4. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,651
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,579Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,688 / 10 / -0

    Licensing & SimTools 2.0

    First, I would like to give a special thanks to @noorbeast, for all the hard work you have put into the licenses drafts! Thanks my friend! If you have any questions, please feel free to ask either @noorbeast or myself and we should have an answer.

    ------------------------------------------


    There is a whole new licensing framework for SimTools 2.0, so here is a bit of an introduction of how that is being formulated, what the aim of coverage is and how that will take form in actual licensing.

    The biggest shift is how to better balance and manage the needs of DIY builders and the increasing corporate interest. There has unfortunately been unauthorized corporate profiting from SimTools, with a flow on consequences for the DIY community. Our response to this is a far more rigorous licensing regime that provides greater protection, control and clarity, while at the same time serving both DIY and commercial interests and offering new types of functionality for both.

    The SimTools licensing has been drafted and redrafted many times since mid last year, as SimTools V2.0 has evolved. The first step of the licensing review process just started a couple of days ago and will be widened as the drafts are refined.

    There will be three licenses covering SimTools 2.0.

    There are fees associated with the 3 license versions, but don't panic as in the case of the DIY license we intend to have a Discount Code that Xsimulator.net DIY simulator builders are eligible for, which effectively makes it free for all those who are actually building a DIY simulator (not from a kit or a commercial product). Having to get a license key provides far more control over unauthorized misuse of SimTools.

    The DIY license will have the same basic functionality as the existing SimTools (but with up to 12 axis now possible), and a far more responsive and flexible framework. The DIY license defines and explicitly precludes commercial use. However it does not stop a DIY builder from doing free public demonstrations, as we want members to be able to showcase of their rigs and SimTools! (GameDash will only work with a pro or entertainment license thou)

    The Professional license covers DIY builders who want to use the new extended features of SimTools, like transducer support (GameVibe), or for commercial simulator manufacturers, or commercial simulator kit suppliers.

    The Entertainment license is for commercial public ride type of businesses, which will need to be renewed annually.

    Further details will be provided once the licensing review process is completed, but hopefully you have an idea of what to expect. ;)

    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 15
    • Informative Informative x 5
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2016
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,482
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,790Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I bet you grab everyone's attention with the V2.0 introductions, plus have a ton of questions coming your way.

    Exciting times for SimTools, with a whole raft of new functionality and features.

    I can say as one of the early testers that SimTools 2.0 is also super responsive, it makes your sim feel like you have got an engine upgrade!

    We all owe you a great big thanks @yobuddy for the huge amount of work you have put in to making SimTools 2.0 both modular and super responsive.
    • Agree Agree x 10
    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  6. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Might want to add something around release time regardless if you have one in mind or not.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Linkup

    Linkup Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    783Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Video Ride Player/Creator - (Ride, Capture and Create 5D style video rides)

    This should be really great for watching movies in VR though the resolution is kind of low.

    Is there any specific features that will making it easier for devs to incorporate things like this into their games? Like if I want the simulator to mimic the movement of walking, running, jumping, or turning could we map that motion to the rig to match gameplay though we are seated.

    It sounds like you already have done some improvements to the latency so that sounds like a win for VR as while as others.
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  8. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,055Coins
    Ratings:
    +995 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Are you talking about this?
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community...-to-be-release-on-simtoolsv2.8014/#post-98092
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    great!

    haptic maybe? :)

    because "hepatic feedback" would be something like this th_smiley_emoticons_klokotzen.gif
    • Funny Funny x 8
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,370Coins
    Ratings:
    +273 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    That's a ton of very good news !! :thumbs
    • Agree Agree x 3
  11. Linkup

    Linkup Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    783Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yeah that in combination with something to map inputs to specific repeated rig movements.
  12. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    947Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    :popcorn
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,370Coins
    Ratings:
    +273 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Would it be possible now to put a comma in the values of the tuning center (without editing the minmax file)?
  14. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,651
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,579Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,688 / 10 / -0
    I will release SimTools 2.0 when the beta testers believe it is ready for the big show!

    Yes, but there is no 'movement' modes. Just raw telemetry data to play with.
    If the system just played back pre-recorded actions, IMO it would be really bad, real live telemetry data is where its at!
    Here is a old pic of what I mean.
    Editor.jpg

    The Pic is a bit old, but it gives you an idea. the plot points are drag and drop-able.
    The app also accepts UDP input so you can feed it with telemetry while recording the video (more on this later)

    Yes, all apps should be completely region free.

    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 5
    • Informative Informative x 2
  15. Kirk

    Kirk Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Occupation:
    Sr Software Engineer
    Location:
    Texas
    Balance:
    15,033Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    We can record data from a real source using IMUs and convert to this format?
  16. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,651
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,579Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,688 / 10 / -0
    Yes, but the IMU's output needs to be throttled, in order to get the same number of plot points per second.
    yobuddy
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,651
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,579Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,688 / 10 / -0
    Bump... added "Licensing & SimTools 2.0" to the second post in the thread.
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 4
  18. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Balance:
    4,640Coins
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2 / -0
    please dond kick the ass of diy members with the new licence (you said not to panic) but please dont kick us :D
    fer
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,482
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,790Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As a community member you will be able to get a token so you can use the DIY Licensed version of SimTools 2.0 for FREE.

    The DIY Licensed version extends and refines motion, as a Beta tester I have found SimTools 2.0 to be far more responsive than the current version, it feels like your sim has had an engine upgrade.

    You can use up to 12 Axis with the DIY licensed version of SimTools 2.0, so you could run a 6DOF + a Gseat.

    The only thing you can do with the current version and not in 2.0 will be GameDash, as that and all the new extended functionality features like transducer support and motion playback are covered by the Professional Licence.
    • Like Like x 5
  20. rattler

    rattler

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @noorbeast , you said "As a community member you will be able to get a token so you can use the DIY Licensed version of SimTools 2.0 for FREE."
    What token are you talking about?
    Also I dont understand this comment , "The DIY Licensed version extends and refines motion, as a Beta tester I have found SimTools 2.0 to be far more responsive than the current version, it feels like your sim has had an engine upgrade."
    Are you referring to the current DIY version of simtools? 1.3 I think?
    Ive heard 2.0 is going to be good, as it should be.
    Also as you are a beta tester, do you know if its going to be hosted here on this site? Or on another page?
    Have costs of the versions, from DIY to Professional been hinted in anyway?
    Am I still going to need this coins thing thats going on?
    For instance, Im looking at building a game dash, using transducers , but this would be for a single home use setup. What version of 2.0 (once its released) should I be looking to get?
    Cheers, Andrew.
  21. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,482
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,790Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What @yobuddy means by a token @rattler is a code that when entered gives a 100% discount on the DIY Licensed version of SimTools 2.0.

    Yes SimTools 2.0 is more responsive than the current version, which is 1.3.

    @yobuddy is the person who decides costs and I expect will discuss them when he is ready to.

    There will be a separate website to manage licensing keys, and that is currently under construction.

    I don't know if there has been any discussion about the coin system, so can't comment.

    Extended functionality like GameDash, GameVibe, VideoRider, Remote Profiler will all be covered under the Professional License.
    • Like Like x 2
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.