1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Compact AC Servo 6DOF Rotary Stewart platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by knaufinator, May 26, 2020.

  1. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +189 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    no, i only tweeked one variable myself, i think I used the platform height one, and adjusted it to make the equation happy at the algorithm level. .. though,.. I still think there is something up with your theta R value, that is suppose to be the angle between two connecting points. .. mine was ~10 degree. 50 degree sounds high....
  2. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +189 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    I built a scale model of the simulator, .... as well a PCB for it,.. using a fork of the Open 6dof code.

    Once I finalize this, I will post it to Github for people to learn off it,. ... before jumping into a large scale build.

    Attached Files:

    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Yes sir mine is supposed to be 17 but the graph from excel doesn’t explain this way, actually I spent a lot of time to reason this excel graph, I will post my cad layout here tomorrow
  4. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
  5. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    sorry sir, I don't know why it won't show images here. I have to use google photos, Pleasse borther yourself to click the link. As the screenshot reveals, if I directly put joint angle as they indicate in layout, the excel graph seems very wrong because the platform joints should be closer than base servo joints. So I tried several combination and found this pattern, 60-(joints_angle/2). It seems right in the graph. Maybe I'm ridiculously wrong.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,099
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,746Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,089 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    oh sir, I found the problem now, I set the range an unequal value, heave(-11,20) that's why it's dropping, silly me.
  8. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Happy new year to you sir.

    I fixed the dropping problem, but still, the game issue is still here, as it's showed in the video, everytime when I start AC it will yaw to left or right and take that as home position. It happens to BeamNG, too. I didn't try other game yet. And still the second sawy and surge won't work, neither does the traction loss. I changed my language setting already,hopefully maybe someone reported this problem to you and you could enlighten me. Appreciate!
  9. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Hi, sir. Me again. Sorry!
    I'm trying another software named flypt now, and here comes this part I need to config some output string, so I necessarily need to understand how we get the value 2047, thank you so much.
  10. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +189 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    2047 is the middle of the 12 bit range - (0-4095), its the value at rest, or HOME.

    forces on any axis will add, or subtract from this value, for any of the 6 axis, that are sent to the simulator.

    Are you using YAW,,, as a input to the rig?,.. because, you should not use YAW,... YAW will give you a value in 360 degrees,.. which... this simulator will have difficulty reproducing. Post a picture of your simtools tuning tab
  11. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0




    Hello sir, yes indeed I used yaw, now I know it's quite a mistake, it won't turn at start now and the traction loss is working. But still I don't have the second sway and surge working, as you can see on tunning center the value of pitch and roll does't float much which I assume indicates they don't work. And I checked over and over again about the simtools setting in your beamng video, I set the same. Maybe I missed something, please borther yourself take a look at the video and enlighten me, appreciate!
  12. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +189 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    isolate the tune to only the roll you want to see , i,e just have axis 4a dof2., it should be there... and roll .. when you turn.. for testing
  13. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Sir, I did, I canceled other axis and left only 4a and 5a on dof2, and set them 100, but the movement is very small and I guess it should be taken as the the contraction of the suspension.
  14. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    I can barely see any movement if I set it 50, it's nothing like it shows in your beamng video, I suspected it can be my rig's problem but I recall it has significant movement on both pitch and roll when I turn on simtools test. Can this be the problem of some setting in the code? But I didn't alter anything!
  15. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +189 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Are you aware of the min max tuning ?. perhaps you need to reduce the min/max on the sway so that the values that do occur are larger...

    https://simtools.us/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/Tuning-Center.pdf
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,099
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,746Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,089 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    First grab a copy of the SimTools manual and keep it handy for reference: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/rtfm-start-with-the-official-simtools-documentation.117/

    Then see the Tuning Tips in the FAQs, in particular capturing the Max/Min values and tweaking from there: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
  17. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Yes,sir. That’s exactly what happened here, with your guidance I finally finished everything now, thank you so much and I’m sorry for troubling you with all those stupid questions. Appreciate your patience sincerely.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    70
    Balance:
    478Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    sir, why you pn98 set to 80 and servoPulseMultiplierPerRadian = 800/(pi/4)=3200/pi
    I know you use 50:1 Planetary Gears
    so I think the servoPulseMultiplierPerRadian should be 10000*50/(80*2*pi)=3125/pi
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2022
  19. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +189 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    I had hand calibrated the value using a compass on my own rig, knowing the max angle I was allowing it to go,.. I think was 65 degrees or so. our end result values are not so far apart.
  20. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    70
    Balance:
    478Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    why I send 2047,2047,2047,2600,2047,2047X
    the platform only transfer to right , not the roll I want to be