1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Clipping axis settings <--> tuning center

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Denko92, Oct 21, 2018.

  1. Denko92

    Denko92 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    103Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi,
    the simtools developper yobuddy and another member mentioned at the beginning I got my prosimu t1000 rig some months ago, to dont set the axis at 60 percent per force. They meant all together it should sum up 100%. But that resultet in much less movement and would be much harder to get all potential out of the rig. Isnt it much easier setting all, like prosimu says, on 60% and then set the rest over the tuning center? That was the easiest solution for me and i have max movements and no clipping. Of course I have to make profiles in game managers for lmp1, f1 and gt3 for example to not clip and dont fall out of the seat. Maybe that helps someone else.
    Denko
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,656
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,728Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,641 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you are setting 60% per force, say sway, surge, roll, pitch and heave on a 2DOF, then that would total 300% Axis Allocation, which will induce clipping in any situation that demands max value for most of the axis, irrespective if you believe the SimTool dev or not, because your sim can't physically move that far.

    But it is your rig and you can set it up any way that suits yourself.
  3. Denko92

    Denko92 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    103Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thats only right when you dont use tuning center.
    At first no sim needs really 60% of all forces all the time.
    Secondly, the tuning center sets the range used in the game and you can adjust it while driving. Pls change for example surge on higher value (less movement) and the reduce it (much more movement). So i think with this you can get much more out of the rig WITHOUT clipping and playing hours and hours with the axis settings in game engine. That was the point i wanted to say. I can feel every force and have no clipping. I have clipping when I set too low values in tuning center
    • Like Like x 1
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,656
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,728Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,641 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Denko92

    Denko92 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    103Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes, because I think it feels the same. I know that is not 100% right, but when I take into account how much time I would need for such a small or maybe no difference. But I already reduced the values before and I dont really have 60% on each effect anymore. But I am still far over 100.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,656
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,728Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,641 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It wont feel the same for a diverse range of vehicles and tracks, because the suspension movement requirements for a F1 at Monza is very different from say a rally car going over jumps.

    But it is your rig to tune as you please, I am just clarifying how SimTools works for the benefit of others and their tuning.
    • Agree Agree x 1