1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Choosing PSU and Motors for Ard/MM

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Jstone, Apr 9, 2019.

  1. Jstone

    Jstone New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    82Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hi all,
    I just finished my prototype for my small 2 DOF motion sim and am now looking at buying parts for my full-scale project.

    For the motors I'm looking at buying from motion dynamics as they are located in Australia and from memory were linked in the FAQ somewhere. I'm using 1 motomonster board to power both motors and I believe from memory I read somewhere that someone was doing the same thing and was recommended the 70w motors (https://www.motiondynamics.com.au/worm-drive-motor-12v-70w-45-65-rpm-6-35nm-torque.html). Would these produce enough torque for a motion sim and if so would the motomonster be able to handle running both of them, they are rated at 7.5amps but I'm not an expert and would rather ask someone with expertise before frying my board.

    My next question is what psu should I be looking at buying, I've read that many people run a psu in parallel with a car battery, does the psu also charge the battery or does it need to be changed.
    The other option I was looking at was just buying a pc psu then taking all the 12v wires, soldering them together than running that into the motomonster. Would one psu be enough if it was high enough wattage?

    Realistically i'm quite inexperienced in this field so the simpler solution the better.

    Any help is very appreciated, thank you! :grin
  2. mm jeon

    mm jeon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I am not an expert.
    I think it is because of the cost of using a battery instead of a PSU. Large capacity PSUs are very expensive. The battery is relatively inexpensive.
    The motor of the link has an instantaneous maximum load of 35 nm. The rated load is 6 nm.
    I would like to recommend a slightly larger motor.
  3. Jstone

    Jstone New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    82Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Thanks for your reply mm jeon,

    Do you think 1 motomonster could handle bigger motors? That's one of the main concerns I have with buying the motor, originally I wanted to buy a bigger motor but was unsure how the motomonster would handle it.

    And in terms of using a battery how is the battery charged? Do you have to charge when you're not using it or is there a way to just constantly charge it.

    Perhaps if batteries are inexpensive and there is a way to charge it easily I could use the money I saved from not buying a big wattage PSU and use that budget on another motomonster, thus allowing for bigger motors. Possibly could look at a motor like this (https://www.motiondynamics.com.au/worm-drive-motor-12v-24v-200w-180-rpm-20nm-torque.html), its rated at 20Nm which is way higher than the other motors, but I think if I were to use these motors I would for sure need one motormonster for each motor.
  4. mm jeon

    mm jeon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Do you think 1 motomonster could handle bigger motors? => Yes, There is a method of driving one large motor with one MM (2ch).
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...3dof-motor-driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/

    I do not know the battery because I will use PSU. However, battery charging is possible with a small PSU. It takes a long time.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,256
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,380 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  6. Jstone

    Jstone New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    82Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Thanks mm jeon and Noorbeast for your replies,

    I was looking at those 200w motors before and I think I will end up going with them, I guess ill purchase another motomonster and run each motor with an indiviaul motomonster.

    To power them both, I was looking at this cougar Psu (https://www.pccasegear.com/products/26074/cougar-cmx1000-v3-modular-bronze-1000w-power-supply) instead of car batteries, do you guys think 1000w would be sufficient and if so, have you guys seen any threads or tutorials that suggest going about using a psu as 12v psu. Ive watched videos where they use all the 12v cords and solder them together but since this psu is modular is there another way I need to go about modding the psu? Or do I just plug in the modular cables then proceed to use all the 12v cables. Ill continue looking at power supplies and how to convert them into 12v psu's, if you guys know about any cheap 12 psu's though it would be very helpful. :)
  7. mm jeon

    mm jeon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I am not an expert. Just refer to my answer.
    If it is 2dof, it looks fine.
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,256
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,380 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK