1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Lesson CHEAP CHINESE MONSTER MOTO CLONES AND PROBLEMS

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by SilentChill, Sep 12, 2016.

  1. helisfreak

    helisfreak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1 / -0
    I bought 10 MM from Ebay last year 12dollars each. My mistake is that I didn't have time to test them until a year later... turn out 5 board only motor A work... B doesn't....

    That seem to be the magic ratio, 50/50 :)

    Is it me or it's crazy to ask 20-30amps out of this little tiny thing? Personally, I don't think the terminal can handle 20-30amps continuous, let alone the chip. I'm going to have to measure how much amps my rig pull when it's back to together. Mine doesn't get above 55F , peltier cooling power. :D
    peltier-MM.jpg
  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,253Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 32 / -1
    I just got this joke because I hadn't heard until now that the Samsung note 7's have been catching on fire too! :cheers

    p.s. I just heard that replacements are now available in the US though.
  3. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,085Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,230 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    fine @BlazinH, ruin my day..................................

    still got my hoverboard:p
  4. outrunner

    outrunner Run to get the race leader flag!

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    father mother
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    639Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    @SilentChill

    may I ask you the power rating of your motors? No doubt Sparkfun monster moto are the best choice for reliability, but i'm goint to be cheap with my first rig ...
  5. steveh2112

    steveh2112 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    semi retired
    Location:
    Phuket, Thailand
    Balance:
    1,084Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    i ordered a chinese MM on ebay http://www.ebay.com/itm/272370380651 and now i'm worried it is going to blow up, but the real things are $70 https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10182 so not sure i'm into spending that unless there is a problem with the el cheapos.

    would putting a heat sink on help? can't hurt right?

    also, i ordered only 1 for 2 channels. would it be better to order another, one per channel? i have a 24v 200w motors.

    or should i switch to 2 of these 43As?
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Double-BTS7...685281?hash=item46552c6be1:g:LdAAAOSwSv1Xla45

    thx

    PS, just found this
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/motor-driver-for-arduino-compatible-controller.11/category
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,462
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,815Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. steveh2112

    steveh2112 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    semi retired
    Location:
    Phuket, Thailand
    Balance:
    1,084Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    my MMs arrived already but not the arduino yet so i don't think i can test them yet. and i don't have a scope, only a meter.

    problem is it takes so long to get stuff from china, even if they test ok now, then blow up in use, i'm set back 2-3 weeks.

    i guess for $11 each, its not a bad idea just to go ahead and order the 43As. are they more reliable? a quick search on the forum and i don't see any bad press?
  8. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,085Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,230 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @steveh2112 mms are cheap order extra. besides testing bad on arrival they have not been a huge problem for me. Although I can't speak for others. It is easy to blow them if you have a loose connection that is how I toasted the ones that died. test them when you get them then cool and keep your connections tight.
    I have no advise on the 43a although others have had success.
  9. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,085Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,230 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    and now they are burnin too lol
    note 7 officially pulled and production stopped. 2.5 million units globally.
  10. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,135Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,922 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  11. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,855Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,422 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @steveh2112 The 43a drivers are pure garbage they would not even power my old 2DOF without cutting out. I think they are meant to say 4.3amps
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  12. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    14,266Coins
    Ratings:
    +969 / 7 / -1
    If you mean the IBT-2 when you refer to the 43A ones then they are like all the others and have their limits...

    I have used them for a few years without problems but the 43A isn't the continuous rating and my setup doesn't load the motors that much (design is equiv to a 20mm lever). The heatsinks don't have heatsink compound so that's the first thing you need to fix and it makes a big difference. And like most drivers, heat is their main enemy, keep them cool with fans or something.

    That being said I would consider the MMs to use more modern and better performing drivers so if you are burning them up don't expect much from the IBT-2.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
  13. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,052 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I used to buy one good MM and two bad cheap ones for every MM I needed. The good ones where always delivered sooner and the china ones in 1-2 months, so in case one good MM failed I had something on the way to replace it.
    I used to do the same way with Arduinos too, and sometimes it saved my a$$
  14. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    260
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,036Coins
    Ratings:
    +308 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    It's unfortunate that they're the only really cheap option that I've seen (you can buy a clone with two driver chips and a PCB for less than it costs to buy a single VNH2SP30 off of digikey). I've yet to have a bad one sent to me, but I ordered twice as many as I needed just to be safe. I wonder if there's a beefier option that's still cost-effective for the larger rigs? Most of the people that I see burning up MMs here are using large levers on platform sims, or running 6DOFs, which would naturally consume a lot more current.

    Has anyone ever actually had problems with the small terminals not being able to handle the current? I've only ever seen the cloned chips as the root-cause of the problem.
  15. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,085Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,230 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The poor connections from solder on screw terminals are what caused heat build up resulting in blown chips. But again this was my experience. Also I burned one up by having a loose pwm pin wire from the ard, it was in dual mode and the one that had a good connection burned up due to overload.

    I haven't had a problem in a couple months. I race about 15hrs a week on average with most races being a couple hrs each.
  16. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,855Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,422 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have never had any problems with terminals over heating.

    Another thing I noticed with the last batch of clones I got were that when the motors were stationary they were making a lot of noise until the chips overheated and shut down or burnt up.

    For my sins I have ordered another 10 from China from a different supplier, will see how they work.
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  17. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,085Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,230 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The terminals themselves don't really overheat to the point they fry. But the poor connection of the terminals has caused heat build up on the chip resulting in failure. Again this is only my experience.

    Hope it works out for you Craig. that is truly an impressive collection of mm's.
  18. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,253Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 32 / -1
    I heard. At least with MM's you don't have to worry about them burning up when they're in your pocket! :D
    • Funny Funny x 1
  19. sasystem

    sasystem New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Metal Worker
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    367Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    This interests me. I am waiting impatiently for my two clone MM.
  20. Simon Husum

    Simon Husum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Viborg, Denmark
    Balance:
    176Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT
    Well I have had 11 MM's burning off..
    First thought it was my settings in the SMC3 code which were wrong.
    But it do tend to be worst when the MM's try to hold my motors in neutral. Sometimes the temps rises and they will blow up.
    • Agree Agree x 1