1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Building my first DIY wheel and 2DOF motion Project

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by itsumairu, Jan 2, 2022.

  1. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    another gameplay video.
    enjoy!

    • Like Like x 2
  2. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Another update, add some damper and belt mechanisms inspired by @Captain Jack.
    IMG_20220311_091007.jpg IMG_20220311_091002.jpg
  3. SaintFrank

    SaintFrank Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Proces operator
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi,
    Great simulator rig.:thumbs
    Can you tell me what type of dampers you are using (brand , force).
    or maybe have a link.
  4. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  5. SaintFrank

    SaintFrank Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Occupation:
    Proces operator
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  6. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yes 2 x 100N is enough for my rig to stay straight when the power is off.
    and give a little smoothing on the motion.
  7. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Got an upgrade, I switch the DIY pedal and handbrake from pvc, to almunium material.
    Feeling great, because right now I do some hardcore playing with my rig IMG_20220418_231712.jpg
    IMG_20220420_080642.jpg IMG_20220420_080636.jpg IMG_20220419_173731.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  8. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    A little update on my setup. with damper added before, I realize the motor is get strained faster. even thought its more smooth, I don't think it's a good idea to keep the damper on my setup. so I decide it's better to take it off.

    and I got a plan in a future, to add the Traction loss to my setup. so, anyone can give an advice, what mechanism should I choose, or what the best , for the front pivot of the traction loss? from what I see, a lot of you use a lazy susan. its the option there? or anything else with a heavy duty feature for a durability side.
    TIA
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    131,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,145 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A lazy susan is one option, a bearing is another, have a poke around the Traction Loss FAQ section as a starting point: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/traction-loss.174/
    • Like Like x 1
  10. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
  11. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Little update on my rig. Upgrade my pedal using 100kg loadcell on my break, and hall effect on gas and clutch.
    Pretty satisfied with the result.
    So reliable and no noise so far.
    IMG_20220723_180940.jpg IMG_20220723_175925.jpg
    For the motion, I really want to add a TL, but right now its enough for me. Wish I could upgrade to sfx150 platform.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello everyone..
    I have a plan to upgrade my 2 dof motion to 3dof, using 4 DC motor wiper model, 4bt-2 motor drivers and 2 arduinos, the mechanical design just like SR1 motion system.
    the question is, is it possible the SMC3 detect more than 1 arduino port?
    how to tune each arduino using smc3?
    and how about the output interface settings code in simtools 2 should be?
    TIA
    cheers!
  13. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    213
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    551Coins
    Ratings:
    +144 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    In the SMC3Utils.ini file you set the port of the arduino you need to use and calibrate the motors connected to it.
  14. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thx for the reply.
    So after I done with one arduino I set again for the other port right?
  15. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    213
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    551Coins
    Ratings:
    +144 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Yes correct.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    One more question.
    In the simtools outputs interface, what should I put there?
    [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>] on one port, and [C<Axis3a>][D<Axis4a>] on another?
  17. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    213
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    551Coins
    Ratings:
    +144 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    In Interface Settings select Interface2, choose the com port of the second Arduino in the Interface - Output field enter the correct string indicating the number of axes, for example:
    [A <Axis3a>] [B <Axis4a>]
    • Winner Winner x 1
  18. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    127
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I think I get it know.
    Really appreciate it @SteULM, thx again!
    • Like Like x 1
  19. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    213
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    551Coins
    Ratings:
    +144 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I am happy to be able to help you. Good continuation of the works.
    • Like Like x 1