1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Building my first 2DOF (without welding or a steel frame)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Brie69, Jul 3, 2018.

  1. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +491 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    i am not sure as i have never used this code but i think you are setting your interface wrong and must be like R<Axis1a>L<Axis2a> but as i said before have not used this code and i am not sure if this is the problem
    [​IMG]
    from here https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...-and-2-pins-direction-hbridge-motomonster.67/ photo is for simtools V1 so you need to add the a or b
  2. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi, @insanegr ! I've tried those Interface settings too but no luck...
    Do you use a Arduino Uno and if so can I try your code?
    Greets
  3. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +491 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,153
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,065Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  5. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,153
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,065Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  8. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    In the meantime something else has been created in a small village in the Netherlands
    IMG_20181023_143702280.jpg

    IMG_20181023_143627033.jpg

    IMG_20181023_144402750.jpg

    IMG_20181023_144307119.jpg

    IMG_20181023_145058507.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Working on the baseplate... Screw it :grin

    IMG_20181024_105915762.jpg

    IMG_20181024_105850114.jpg

    IMG_20181024_112357839.jpg

    IMG_20181024_124627741.jpg

    IMG_20181024_124528259.jpg
  10. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,153
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,065Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2018
  12. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Still searching for some motors and found some but I'm a little confused.
    Can someone help me with the right decision?
    When ordering I have to some pulldown menu's:
    Power, Voltage and Speed.. For power 300W?, Voltage 12V?, but then ?? Speed in rpm 10,20,30,50,100,200,300,400 and 600. Can somebody please help @yobuddy or @noorbeast maybe?
    choose_one.JPG
  13. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,549
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,598 / 10 / -0
    What do you need help with buddy?
    It looks like they are 200w motors.
    Chat soon,
    yobuddy
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,153
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,065Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Did you run the design and motor specs through SimCalc, as suggested?
  15. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  16. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The engines that I have now have too little power. But when I look at the table, I really do not know which one to buy.
    cheers @yobuddy
  17. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  18. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +343 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    If you don't mind using second hand gear, what about wheelchair motors? I did not check for the Netherlands, but at least in Germany you find them on ebay:
    https://www.ebay.de/itm/Rollstuhl-A...rentrq:cdfd464b1660ab45564916b1ffff7410|iid:1

    I also have a really heavy wooden rig (the moving part has a weight of more than 40kg), and the wheelchair motors don't seem to have any problem with this load.
    And since they are about half the price as the motors in your link, you can spend the saved money for replacing your Monster Moto controller with a Sabertooth. :)
  19. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  20. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    These 24V engines are certainly interesting. Could I also connect this to my MM without having to change it for a Sabertooth?
    My power supply is 1x HP ATSN-7001044-y000 Rev: M (12V-69.5A + -) and not 24V.

    p.s No wheelchair engines to be found in the Netherlands
    Cheers,
    Bryan