1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Boundary Filter vs Axis % Settings

Discussion in 'SimTools DIY Version' started by Michael Jeffries, Sep 12, 2019.

  1. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Setting up your controllers. I use jrks perhaps you use different ones that allow you to find tune the motor response
  2. Michael Jeffries

    Michael Jeffries Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Balance:
    392Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 4DOF
    I thought you finetune it right in simtools. Didnt knoe there was another app
  3. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    What controllers are you using? Maybe guys here can chime in. For JRKs you use the jrk configuration utility.
    Also for axis I use 100% for sway, surge and heave with boundary settings on all. Then use tuning center to get the motion response I want.
  4. Michael Jeffries

    Michael Jeffries Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Balance:
    392Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 4DOF
    I have tha AASD-15a PT-Actuators 4-DOF (TL also but havent attached it yet so Im only using the 4-dof for now).
    What kind of setup do you have? Are you using a 4-DOF kit? Because Everyone on this forum told me in SimTools to use approximately 100% in the axis assigments across all DOF's you assign to one axis.
    So for each of my 4-DOF, (in iRacing) I have these percentages in SimTools

    30% Heave
    15% Pitch
    15% Roll
    25% Sway
    20% Surge

    I use 80% boundary on Sway, Surge, and Heave. Smoothing 8 for all 5-DOF's i assigned.
    It seems to lessen the harshness if theres an impact with the 80% boundary on those 3 (surge, sway, and heave)
  5. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Sounds like you have it sorted. I run a 2dof and traction loss seat mover, not actuators. Can't help you with those but if there is servo motor controller software you might be able to fine tune the actuators.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,485
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,817Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,482 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK