1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial Bought a Vector GT1. 0 second hand. Need a helping hand.

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by dr.Evil, Aug 27, 2020.

  1. dr.Evil

    dr.Evil New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    66Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Problem solved. thank you.
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2020
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,527
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,046Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,124 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. dr.Evil

    dr.Evil New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    66Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes, I've contacted Jason and it seems I really have to ship it back to UK in order to be made simtools compatible.
    It's not the optimal solution,that being only my point of view.
    My offer still stand if there are people willing to help.
    I'm making this post not because I'm lazy to read or mentally retarded. I'm making this post because I realized that sometimes someonewho really knows a lot about all models of actuators and controllers could more quickly identify them and find the optimal solution.
    I do this for professional people, I started my specialized work in years 2000 and I see now how a huge lot of stuff I learned is less and less used, so I help people getting on the train without having to read 100 books and then to filter out whatever information is still used or not.
    I'm pretty much familiar with robotics and coding (also with kart driving).
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,665Coins
    Ratings:
    +240 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    first of all find out what motors and drivers you have
  6. dr.Evil

    dr.Evil New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    66Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I had some spare time to try and take pics of internals.
    It has 2 stepper motors and 2 gearboxes (with pots I asume). They are connected to individual gearboxes, control boxes and PSU. I'm not familiar with this parts.
    My goal is to transform this rig to something that uses the telemetry from the game. For now it uses the periferal inputs.
    Any ideas for parts needed?

    IMG_20200828_183010.jpg IMG_20200828_183030.jpg IMG_20200828_183230.jpg IMG_20200828_182947.jpg
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,665Coins
    Ratings:
    +240 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    You need to remove the black boxes and see what they are

    It looks like you have a potentiometer so you need to find out how everything plugs together


    My suggestion is to find a driver for the stepper motors that can be controlled like an h bridge
  8. dr.Evil

    dr.Evil New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    66Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi,
    I've managed to remove a bnoxcover and read the black nox labe and it seems like it's a DM860T Driver. This thing is put together very repair unfriendly, bolts and hot glue. I've downloaded the manual and I'm currently busy trying to understand it.
    Following
    my limited info I managed to gather, I would guess I only need an arduino to make read the telemetry and control the motors.
    If someone would point me to some more focused information would be great. The information is so spread out that I think I'll need a wee only to filter and to see what's important or not.

    Attached Files:

  9. dr.Evil

    dr.Evil New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    66Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  10. dr.Evil

    dr.Evil New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    66Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Further digging and some hurt fingers, I found the two arduinos that control the motors. This POS is built like a sidewalk show, everythingis hold together by hot glue and tape. List price was 5700 euros....
    Motors have pots inside them.
    For now, the 2dof is functional and taking the input from the accessories, wheel and pedals. My kids are quite happy it with
    What are my options :
    1. Really dismantle everything and try to put new arduinos in.
    2. Try to read the existing ones and backup, change the void loop with a new one and go from there?

    Attached Files: