1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

A few questions before I start my build

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by getti, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,097
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The connections for positive and negative need to be bridged together. In @Slider's original guide the suggestion is to solder each pair of tabs to the wire: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/how-to-modify-a-server-power-supply-for-12v.5774/

    As an alternative I have pinched each pair of the blade terminals together and used two 6.3mm female connectors each side to bridge the bade terminals. I then soldered and shrunk wrapped the power cable to the wire bridge just behind one of the terminals: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/dx-racer-compact-simulator.5866/page-16#post-86634

    With the small pins 6 and 10 go to one side of the switch and 4 and 8 go the other side.
  2. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Awesome thanks for that. I like what you've done to bridge them but where are the leads?
  3. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Can I ask why are we bridging the 12V contacts on these power supplies, what's the reason? I put my ohm meter across them and there is already continuity between these contacts?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,097
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I soldered then shrunk wrapped the power cable to the wire bridge just behind one of the terminals each side.

    [​IMG]
  5. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    One good reason is to increase the contact area of your wire terminals on the PSU leads.

    Even though I doubt that there will be a noticable benefit in amp draw, you might end up with slightly lower temps on your psu leads.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hey guys,
    Thanks for all the help so far. This a great community, you guys do really awesome stuff.
    I've decided to build a small 2dof model of my rig to get familiar with simtools and arduino code etc. I see that there is code for using servo motors. Is it possible to use little small dc motors and pots instead? Or maybe little gear motors? Thx
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,399Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yea I see that, I was really thinking about using gear motors and pots so that the model would incorporate parts that I will be using in the real thing. The pots are the part that I can't really wrap my head around so I thought doing it in small scale first might help.
    What do you think?
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,097
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There some handy sections in the FAQs regarding @eaorobbie's RC code, debugging and member RC based models from 2DOF to 6DOF designs:

    http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/how-to-drive-rc-servo-with-arduino-and-simtools.30/

    http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/build-a-model-to-test-your-design-ideas.136/
  10. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks, I've been looking at these threads but none of them are using the pots. I'm pretty sure I want to wire the model up exactly the way it would be on the full size.

    Here is the little gear motors I'm thinking of getting:
    http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=181367435364&alt=web

    I'm thinking I can just use the code that I would be using for the full size seat mover.?? Not sure....??
  11. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    the listing has been removed
  12. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,097
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  14. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    If your scale model uses dc brushed motors+ potentiometers for position feedback then you can pick and use/test any of the available codes for real life scale sims that use the same parts.

    Your settings and performance will difer from scale to real life model.
    But the concept is the same.
  15. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    [​IMG]

    Got the little motors today!! They have a 3mm D shaft and the 5k pots have a 6mm shaft. Any suggestions on how to mate them up for some testing? Also any ideas on have to make a little lever arm for the motor? Thanks!
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2015
  16. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    5,050Coins
    Ratings:
    +476 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    silicon tubing / heat-shrink tube / power tape :D
    The choice is yours !
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  17. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I was thinking about some kind of poly tubing but the shaft diameters being different I'm not sure how to step one up or the other down.
  18. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,399Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Heat shrink is your friend, This isn't holding ANY weight. it doesn't need to be Crazy tight or strong.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,641Coins
    Ratings:
    +495 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    you can use something like a dowel and open one 6mm on one side and 3 mm on the other side and then tighten shafts with one screw at each end like a coupler
    Servo_Shaft_Couplers_group.jpg dowel.JPEG
    • Like Like x 1
  20. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Heat shrink did the trick. Thanks. Now I need to make a lever?...

    [​IMG]