1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom 3DOF simulator RC servo model

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by ATCC, Dec 13, 2020.

  1. ATCC

    ATCC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    - 16Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hello to all,

    one year ago I found this page and was fully motivated to build a motion simulator. So, I started strong and then I subsided strong ;-).
    This weekend I started again and build a 3 DOF model with the stuff I found at home.

    I used some cardboard, double.sided tape, eraser, paper clips, an old power adapter (5V) from a mobile phone, 3x standard RC Servo and a Arduino Uno.

    I made a cutting template which can printed out and glued it directly to the cardboard. In this way it was easy to cut it out.

    I used the code from eaorobbie (see link below) and added a third axis (RC_Sim_Model.ino).

    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/rc-model-code-for-arduino-uno-2dof-expandable.89/

    For the case you want to build this model I added some data's to this thread:

    You find the settings for the interface and the axis assignments in the attachments. There is also a drawing of the control rod in scale 1:1 which is made from the paper clips. I think the 3D PDF will also help you to build this easy platform.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. CNCModeller

    CNCModeller New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    164Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hi @ATCC, I'm struggling to get this working via the SIMTools serial interface. I noticed you set your serial data type to hex, but the cfg file from @eaorobbie says decimal. The Arduino code from @eaorobbie works fine from the Arduino serial terminal. Any thoughts. All I'm trying to do initially is just get the servos to move from the SIMTools testing interface for now. I've had the same issue with most of the Arduino projects I've tried, so I'm starting to think about reinstalling SIMTools perhaps it's an issue about you it's connects to the serial port.

    Any thoughts???

    All the best
    Barry M
  4. ATCC

    ATCC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    - 16Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hello Barry,

    I'am not a specialist in in programming. I must read many documents before every step I do, or do it with trial and error. In this way I choosed the hex data type because I got the best result with the servos I used.

    So, I am sorry that I can't help you more.

    Best regards ATCC
  5. CNCModeller

    CNCModeller New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    164Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    No worries. I'll do some more digging.
  6. Abram Manoge

    Abram Manoge Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    Web developer
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    242Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Did you ever manage to figure it out I'm having the same issue
  7. CNCModeller

    CNCModeller New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    164Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Unfortunately no I didn't, I got frustrated and moved on to a different project. If you have any success please let me know as I'd love to give it another go.

    To be honest I did wonder if I needed a licensed version of the software rather than just the trial.

    Cheers
    Barry M
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,467
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,852Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,534 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No you do not need a licensed version of SimTools to test this or any other hardware.
  9. CNCModeller

    CNCModeller New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    164Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Having re-read the linked post at the top of this post there are 2 versions of the Arduino code. One for serial testing and one for use with simtools and a config file. Perhaps I was using the wrong code.

    I may have another pop at this at the weekend.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Abram Manoge

    Abram Manoge Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    Web developer
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    242Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    That's the same thing I thought. I'll give you a heads up if I ever figure it out though and please let me know too if it works out.
  11. CNCModeller

    CNCModeller New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    164Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Will do! :)
    • Like Like x 1