1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

SimTools Presets 2DOF JRK seat mover, big worm gears

Discussion in 'Game Engine axes presets' started by bsft, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    ok then, try as suggested , put in one force at a time, fiddle with tuning centre numbers, then once that force is right, set it to 0%, then set the next one, work with that force, change motor direction if need be to get it leaning correctly.
    I know my sim can sit level on game menu, but when I go onto the track, if the track has camber, the sim leans. I know Brands Hatch is very pitch and rolly with lots of camber. So I did each force separately until it sat right, then I mixed then all up.
    Give that a run .
    Dave.
  2. Roel

    Roel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    349Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Hello, Now I did what you said. The forced individual are good but mixed up it still leans a little bit to the right/left on a straight road. Also the heave don't work. The tuning center registrates heave between 1.1 and 0.9 now i like to set the min max to a number below 1 but it cant... When i put in the number 0.5 and save the settings it make it 5... I hope you can help me out :)
  3. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    back space the numbers till they are gone and type in 0.5
  4. Roel

    Roel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    349Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Is that really the solution? I want to check directly but i am at work for 6 more hours :p

    Is there a matrix to see what happens when max is 10 instead of 1 and min 10 instead of 1 what really happens with the car, like gears shifting etc.?
  5. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thats all I do, I delete the number by highlighting it and backspace thats in there and I type in what I want. It works for me and others.
    With gear shift feeling, I get that from surge force, hence a smaller number in max and a larger number in min.
    Did you read the document? is there something i havent made clear?
    I tried to write a simple doc to help people get going.
  6. Roel

    Roel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    349Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Hello,

    Your doc is perfect. Only the numbers don't work, ill get back for this later today to communicate the results :) I hope it works because heave is a important aspect for the feeling of the car i think...
  7. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    did you click after pausing the game "capture max min" box? Then try to change the numbers? the click "save settings".
    I have moments of stupidity and forget that step myself.
  8. Roel

    Roel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    349Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I start the tuning center, then click capture min max, drive around, pauze or shut down the game, fill in the numbers, and click save settings, then stop capture capture and start the game again...
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Pause, dont shut down the game
  10. Roel

    Roel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    349Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Ok, iracing does not really have a pauze function because its online. So stopping the car is also good?
  11. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    iracing, sorry, havent played it, that might be a problem.
    You can dig into the files directly in simtools folders and change it manually.
  12. Roel

    Roel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    349Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Really? So the file where the numbers are stored is editable? Where can i find this file? :)

    Here: C:\Users\Your Name\AppData\Local\SimTools\GameEngine\MaxMinProfiles map ?
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2014
  13. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    C:\Users\yourname\AppData\Local\SimTools\GameEngine\MaxMinProfiles , yep, thats the spot, open the file with notepad, adjust, save, rinse repeat!
  14. Roel

    Roel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    349Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Hello, changed in the file it to 0.05 and no reaction at all... i am hopeless now... :(
  15. CoachKalk

    CoachKalk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Balance:
    817Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I don't mean to hijack a thread, but I stopped in here to get some ideas on my settings and I have a question. I have been trucking along thinking my %'s had to total 100%, but based on the examples shown here my "thinking" has once again been shown to be whacked. Each motion can be set from 0 to 100%?
  16. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    its recommended that each force in the axis assignments have a percentage total of 100% , so if you have 5 forces, they are supposed to total 100%, meaning , 20 % surge, 20% sway , 20% heave, 20% pitch, 20% roll.
    However I have found that some forces need to be set higher, granted it brings the total up above 100%.
    Its recommended that each force is worked on separately , so @Roel , put all other forces to 0 , and set heave only at 20% as a start, try then finding a smaller number to give you the desired effect. If 0.05 is too low, move it up a bit, say to 0.1. If you get some slight movement, then try setting percentage higher.
    In Dirt3, for me, my heave is 65 % , because I simply cannot get a decent movement even with tuning centre number changes. My totals in the dirt3 profile are 140% I think. Its because with my sim, some forces at 20% did not feel right. So I needed to bring the tuning centre number higher and the force % up to suit me.
    I really dont know about iracing, maybe @eaorobbie can help with a profile setting for that game, I recall he plays it.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  17. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +98 / 3 / -0
    I have a question:
    where to limit? in the% of the axis next to the force, eg: Roll 100%, or in the Boundary filter?
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,214
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The % is the Axis Allocation for each force and should total around 100%, see here for an overview for creating and refining a motion profile: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    Leave the Boundary and other filters alone until the basics are right in the motion profile. The filters are for tweaking the profile and you need to know what each does.
  19. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    965Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    how many NM worms motors working?
  20. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    198
    Balance:
    1,872Coins
    Ratings:
    +137 / 1 / -0
    iRacing

    tuning center.PNG axis1.PNG axis2.PNG
    • Informative Informative x 1