1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2DOF Joyrider Flight/Race Sim Build

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by cgodwin, Oct 14, 2015.

  1. cgodwin

    cgodwin Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Balance:
    2,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +276 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    The Monster Moto's have a current sense output. This can be read by an analog input pin of the Arduino, and this information can be used to limit the duty cycle to keep the current under a specified level. The wiring diagrams I've seen of a MM and Arduino don't show the current sense connected, but of course it would be if the MM was actually mounted as a shield.

    I haven't looked at the Arduino code samples linkedin the FAQ's yet, so it is possible others have already implemented this feature. If not, once I have my MM/Arduino solution working, I'll post a tutorial plus the updated Arduino code.
    • Like Like x 3
  2. cgodwin

    cgodwin Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Balance:
    2,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +276 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    My sim sat mostly unused for the last year. It was partially disassembled while I put in a new floor in my game room. Then I bent a push rod by accidentally running the motors with the frame locked. That gave me a good idea how much power and how potentially dangerous this thing can be. Then I ripped some wiring that didn't have enough slack when I fired it back up. Then I was just busy with other projects.

    Finally I started using it again, and was reminded how incredibly fun it is! This prompted me to upgrade from SimTools 1.3 to 2.0, and get back on the forum.

    Some projects I'm planning on for the near future:
    • Clean up the cable management
    • Come up with a better way to attach my wall panels. These were held in place with electrical tape, which is now peeling off.
    • Figure out a new mechanism for the sliding cover. It comes off the track and is hard to latch in the closed position.
    • Change from from JRK's to MonsterMoto's. I love the JRK's, but I've already blown one and they are expensive. The MM's are much cheaper and can handle more power. For now I'm running the JRK's tuned way down, which is okay but doesn't give me as much response as I would like.
    • Add a VR headset
    • Experiment with RideCreator. I setup my cell phone to capture video and motion data, but never got to the point of actually testing it.
    • Like Like x 4
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,538
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,922Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,125 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. cgodwin

    cgodwin Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Balance:
    2,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +276 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Upgraded to SimTools 2.0 with mixed results. Most games work just like with 1.3. But Dirt 3 now has almost non-existent sway and surge. Turning both up to 150% makes them barely noticeable. With 1.3 they worked great. F1 2016 is a new game for me I didn't run with 1.3. With SimTools 2.0 it doesn't work at all. I get nothing in Tuning Center even. It looks like most people can't get F1 2016 to work.
  5. cgodwin

    cgodwin Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Balance:
    2,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +276 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    I just figured out what the Tuning Center did. That instantly made a huge difference with Dirt 3, fixing the issues I had. I'm still not quite sure how the Tuning Center, percentages in the axis assignments, axis limiting, main percentage in Profile Editor, and the profile settings sliders all work together. It seems like there are at least 5 places where I can change a setting that will affect how much motion there is.

    With SimTools 1.3 I simply created a default, patched each plugin, and things worked really well without adjusting anything. I never once opened the Tuning Center, the Profile Editor, or changed axis limiting or the main motion percentage. I just left everything at 100% and was pretty happy with it. With Sim Tools 2.0 the default settings don't seem to work as well, but I'm realizing there is a whole world of adjustments that can really dial in the motion.

    I'm gradually working through the FAQ's (https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/). That looks really helpful for filling in the blanks from the main SimTools documentation.
    • Like Like x 2
  6. cgodwin

    cgodwin Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Balance:
    2,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +276 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Just got an Oculus Rift! I'll be trying to get it setup with the sim over the next day or two. It should be pretty awesome if I can get it working. Since I have an enclosed cockpit it may be mechanically tricky, and it looks like the software setup isn't very easy either.
    • Like Like x 2
  7. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    403Coins
    Ratings:
    +108 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    well, today I am following several posts rs ... and I could not help but notice, the comment of the friend noorbeast regarding the adjustable cockpit. Well, after a lot of calculations and tests, I was able to use an adjustable, forward and backward, besides leaving 3 punch holes in the frame (in case I put it a little back or forward) so the weight distribution stays perfect. As some people besides me use the simulator, children, sister and friends ... could not leave everything fixed.
  8. cgodwin

    cgodwin Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Balance:
    2,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +276 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    I now have Project Cars and No Limits roller coaster working with motion and Oculus Rift together.

    I would say a fully enclosed Joyrider type sim like mine is not ideal for using a VR headset. There just isn’t a lot of room inside to set everything up and use the controls. But after a lot of adjustments it works pretty well.

    VR does add a cool element to Project Cars. Motion plus VR is pretty awesome. But car racing isn’t a great fit for VR, so the gains from VR aren’t huge. If I had the type of rig that would fit 3 huge monitors (I don’t), I would go that route over a VR headset.

    As another sitting activity, adding VR to a roller coaster is cool, but doesn’t add all that much. I never got great motion from No Limits, and adding VR still leaves it pretty mediocre. Not one of my favorite games.
  9. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    403Coins
    Ratings:
    +108 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    I sell my 6 monitors rig in 2013. Using dk1 and 2 ( oculus rift ) and vive since 2015. Its far away better imersive sensation.
  10. domse

    domse New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Hello there, i've read the whole thread but I didn't see you mention the tube thickness of the outer frame - what did you use and would you use thinner tubes next time to cut down weight?
  11. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    403Coins
    Ratings:
    +108 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thinner tubes dont sustain high weigths and vibrations !
  12. cgodwin

    cgodwin Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Balance:
    2,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +276 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    The black inside frame around the seat is 1" x 1" x 0.065" square tubing. The red middle frame that rolls is 2" x 2" x 0.065". The static frame (also red) that sits on the ground is also mostly 2" x 2" x 0.065" but the weight doesn't really matter there. The black frame for the top cover of the cockpit require very little structural strength and is 1/2" x 1/2" x 0.065".

    No, I would not go with smaller square tubing or thinner walls if I did it again. The 0.065" wall thickness was as thin as I could get in the 2x2 size, plus it was also easier to weld than thinner material. Going smaller than 2x2 for that middle red frame would certainly result in significant flexing. That part of the frame only weighs about 30 pounds anyway.

    I think what I ended up with was just right as far as weight vs. strength. If anything I would weld in thickener plates in a couple spots to make it stronger.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. cgodwin

    cgodwin Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Balance:
    2,457Coins
    Ratings:
    +276 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    This sim is now about 4 years old. Still a lot of fun, but I'm thinking it might be time to start building a new one. I'm leaning toward trying to match the geometry of an F1 car, and maybe go with a seat mover design. A Stewart platform is tempting but awfully expensive. Thinking also about making DIY linear actuators.
    • Like Like x 2
  14. PLOMINN

    PLOMINN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Joyrider
    You're a phenomenon.

    It is the best simulator that I have seen in many forums. You have inspired me and I already have the tubes and the arduino board.

    Greetings from Madrid and congratulations.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 15, 2020