1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2DOF heavy wiper motors 24V

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Boris RAue, May 8, 2020.

  1. Boris RAue

    Boris RAue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    Hi,
    here I will document my project to my 2DOF platform piece by piece.

    The platform should be strong enough to move the whole frame.
    Therefore my choice was a 24V wiper motor for big buses.
    I found it at the company VALEO. (ca. 160€ each)

    Valeo_Type.jpg Valeo_401.821.jpeg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  2. Renaudeau

    Renaudeau Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi, thanks for sharing.
    Do you have the characteristics and the reference of your electric motors?
  3. Boris RAue

    Boris RAue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    ... and here's the first test setup.
    The gears are 3D printed.
    Since the potentiometers need nearly 360°, but the levers only 180°, I translated the movement 1:2.
    The potentiometer gear wheel can be fine-adjusted via the shaft to determine the exact zero point.
    IMG-9732.jpg
    IMG-9734.jpg 13_28_58-BI 6187R10KL_ Drehpotentiometer, 10 kOhm, linear, 6,35 mm.png
  4. Boris RAue

    Boris RAue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 30, 2021
  5. Boris RAue

    Boris RAue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    For whatever reason, I had to make changes to the Arduino code.
    Reading the ports A0 and A1 only resulted in the value 14.
    So I created my own variables and assigned them the value of A0 and A1.
    This looks as follows:
    //Feedback1 = analogRead(FeedbackPin1); //disable this (in line 1856)
    analogPin0val0 = analogRead(analogPin0); //read A0 off
    Feedback1 = analogPin0val0; // set the value to Feedback1

    The same for Feedback2 (in line 1870)

    Remember to initialize the variables at the top of the code.
    int analogPin0val0 = 0;
    int analogPin0val1 = 0;
    int analogPin0 = A0;
    int analogPin1 = A1;

    So the Arduino worked.
    Last edited: May 30, 2021
  6. Boris RAue

    Boris RAue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    I wrote this Arduino code to check if the potentiometers run the right way around and are connected correctly

    Attached Files:

  7. Boris RAue

    Boris RAue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    Here the first attempt in the test setup:
  8. Boris RAue

    Boris RAue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    These are my settings for the SimTools:
    To start: [A<128>][B<128>][C<128>]
    Interface Output: [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>][C<Axis3a>]
    On exit: [A<128>][B<128>][C<128>]

    When starting and stopping, the motors move to the zero position.
    15_13_21-Game Engine.png
    15_13_44-Game Engine.png
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Boris RAue

    Boris RAue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    If you suddenly have problems with the Sabertooth or the motors not working, it may be that the feedback potentiometers are running outside the MaxLimits.
    You can easily check this with the SMC3.
    The green line must be between the two red lines.
    NOTOK Windows SMC3 Setup and Monitor Utility.png OK Windows SMC3 Setup and Monitor Utility.png

    Attached Files: