1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question 2DOF+Arduino R3+ Sabertooth 2x32 First Start Up Issues

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by FoxHound.92, Oct 21, 2018.

  1. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,

    I'm trying to get my 2dof working but already one of the first steps leaves me puzzled.

    I try to upload the SMC3-SPS sketch to my arduino r3 but I'm not quite sure it is recognized correctly.

    In my Device Manger there shows up no Arduino Uno COM Port. o_O
    The Arduino is connected via USB.

    Troubleshooting on the official website hasn't done anything for me yet.
    Hope anybody of you can help me out here. :confused:
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,780
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,521Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,693 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Is the Arduino Uno set as the intended device in the Arduino IDE?
  3. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes, at least as far as I know.
    In the Device manager it seems to be recognized only as "com1".
    I checked this by connecting/disconnecting the R3 and using the "search for changed hardware" button.

    The Arduino's power led is green together with a yellow led blinking regularly.
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2018
  4. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Okay, after spending several hours googleing for a solution I suppose my board is corrupt. I ordered a new one. :think
  5. Deane

    Deane Old Fart

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    196
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Wirrina Cove, South Australia
    Balance:
    1,354Coins
    Ratings:
    +74 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Dumb question but you were looking under the Ports tab in Device Manager I presume.
    Have you tried un-installing the drivers and re doing the install.
    BTW there are genuine and fake Arduino Uno R3's and they use different drivers.
    I am also having issues with my Arduino (genuine) and my Sabertooth 2X25 v2 and like you I have ordered a cheap copy of Fleabay to experiment with and see if it fixes my problems.
    Good luck with you problems :thumbs

    ports.jpg
  6. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    12,231Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,461 / 30 / -1
    Agree.
  7. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi, thank you for your suggestions.
    No, I tried a "repair"-install but nothing had changed then either.
    I have another Arduino Micro for my handbrake which has been working flawless since 1 and a half years.

    Yesterday the replacement Arduino arrived. Fingers crossed I can make it all work tonight!
    Be sure, first thing I'll do is a driver reinstall if I encounter these troubles again. :grin
  8. Deane

    Deane Old Fart

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    196
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Wirrina Cove, South Australia
    Balance:
    1,354Coins
    Ratings:
    +74 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Good luck with the new Arduino which I gather is a genuine Arduino which you can check in the tools menu of the Arduino interface under Get Info which will give you the ID and serial number of the boars and if it is a genuine one.
    BTW what version of Windows are you running ?
    I found that the Sabetooth's utility Describe would not play nice with my desktop Win 10 pc and would always come up with a port number that the Describe did not have or allow ?
    The solution for that for me was to use my old Win8 laptop which connected OK but would crash half way through, so that took many attempts before I got it all sorted.
    Windows has always been a pain in the bum from day one.
  9. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    That is strange. o_O Maybe the Saber tooth tried to use a reserved or already used Com-Port? I have read that Win reserves certain ports for specific devices sometimes.
    However the Sabertooth and describe software both work fine with my win 10 desktop pc. No problems whatsoever. :thumbs
  10. Deane

    Deane Old Fart

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    196
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Wirrina Cove, South Australia
    Balance:
    1,354Coins
    Ratings:
    +74 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    So did the new Arduino make any difference ?
  11. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes, plug and play like it should be!
    Now the "fun" part begins.
    Hope to make progress and have it moving until dinner! hug:
  12. Deane

    Deane Old Fart

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    196
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Wirrina Cove, South Australia
    Balance:
    1,354Coins
    Ratings:
    +74 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Great news for you.
    I hope I have similar luck.
    Anyhow time for your dinner and it's 2 a.m here so time for bed for me :) :thumbs
    • Like Like x 1
  13. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Okay, I am one step further but still confused:

    I wired everything like this:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...bertooth-using-simplified-serial-working.136/


    I follow the this guide:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ket-serial-pid-motor-driver-w-softstart.9277/

    I noticed the wiring diagramm is slightly different.
    Arduino is comunicating with the SMC3 Utils.exe but if I increase PWMmax the motor does not start to move.

    Do I have the wrong Arduino sketch? I used the one from the tutorial instead of the first link. :confused:
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2018
  14. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Update: Changed both the wiring and the Arduino code according to @RufusDufus SMC3 tutorial and followed the rest of the tutorial but my motor won't start to move.
    Can someone enlighten me what I'm doing wrong here?
  15. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Update: I went one step back and tested both motors directly with the psu.

    One is moving just fine but the other one only once moved about an inch and never again.
    Does that mean this one is now dead? :eek:
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2018
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,780
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,521Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,693 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That sounds like a motor has an issue, perhaps burned brushes, but you won't know for sure until you pull it apart and check inside.
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,780
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,521Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,693 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can't follow two different guides, stick to this one: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ket-serial-pid-motor-driver-w-softstart.9277/
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thank you for your reply.
    I pulled it apart as my last action for yesterday and some pieces came flying at me:

    IMG_20181024_210515.jpg

    These grey pieces are supposed to be on the wires and inside these golden guidings.

    Can I somehow fix this as a noob or should I replace this motor?
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,780
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,521Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,693 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The brushes are damaged.

    What model of motor is it? You can often buy replacement brushes.
  20. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Honestly I have no idea. Got them from ebay. I ordered another motor as they are fairly cheap with 30€ per motor.

    But I found the correct the replacement brushes on the sellers site as well.
    Thanks for pointing that out. ;)

    Beforehand I double checked if they work spec wise with my design using SimCalc.
    I still get 98 % efficiency both for pitch and roll. According to SimCalc I get about ~9 degrees of motion.
    But I went save with only 35° lever movement so I'm confident that it will work out well enough in the end.

    Now I remain another day waiting and researching on my next steps. :rolleyes: