1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2 DOF - Wipermotor - Arduino - Monster Moto Shield

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Wixx65-x, Jan 1, 2020.

  1. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hello,

    I started my first 2DOF.
    I already had racing cockpit so i made a platform.

    I use two 12V wipermotor and design this: 81304031_2496328737245935_7361772385717977088_n.jpg 81353525_976424952739581_4964179426133671936_n.jpg


    To control, an old arduino MEGA and Monster Moto Shield 81789147_2394394660821772_6717209304824283136_n.jpg


    The next step: try to control 1 motor

    I will update my post and come back probably with some questions :D

    ++
    Wixx65-x
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,431Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,935 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    good job! Aluminium looks nice
    :)
    don't hesitate to reinforce your wiper brackets! any play (under stress) will decrease your precision
  4. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Aluminium looks nice but it's a little bit expensive :( . (25€/m but without welding :D)
    Yes, i will put a bearing in front of each motor
    To reduce stress, they are near to the feets
  5. SoftKitty

    SoftKitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Engine engineer
    Location:
    Nantong, Jiangsu, China
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    aluminium bar costs 25euro per meter? my god no way!
    In my place silver 4040 profile is 25rmb/meter
    the black anodized one I used in my project is 28rmb/meter
    can't call mine a cheap solution any more...

    PS: 1euro=7.8rmb
  6. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,431Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,935 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    ha ha! in china maybe :)
    but in France, 40x40 is around 9€ to 14€
    and 40x80 around 25€ indeed :confused:

    je parlais de renfort du support : de l'équerrage pour éviter qu'il plie.
  7. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes.. But very polyvalent for future update like deported handbrake or whatever

    Je vais mettre une nervure aussi pour augmenter le moment quadratique.
    La partie mecanique je ne me fais pas de soucis, je fais une base simple que je vais amélioré.
    Je préféré valider l’électrique avant :D
  8. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,431Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,935 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yes, you have to add inertia with sides added to the bracket

    c'est cela, il faut ajouter de l'inertie
    voir dans mon tuto le renfort latéral du support

    [​IMG]
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Je vais faire qqc comme ça oui, avec les profilés alu c'est tres simple de faire des renforts.


    Pour l'avancement:

    Je viens de récupérer mon deuxième moteur d'essuie glace.
    Je m'inspire beaucoup de ton tuto et ta chaine Youtube.
    Hier j'ai nettoyé, isolé et fait fonctionner le premier moteur.
    81393498_819902025119806_5704097025881014272_n.jpg

    Il vaut mieux utiliser la petite ou grande vitesse ? De tout ce que j'ai lu, la grande vitesse est préconisée.
    Merci
    Wixx65-x
  10. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,431Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,935 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    in english please! ;)

    high speed is recommanded indeed.
    don't forget to isolate the ground!
  11. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi and happy new year!

    Some news:
    -I have now isolated the ground for the two motors.
    -The Home made joint is ok
    -The motor support are ok (they will never move :D : 120*120*6mm of steel)
    -Munster moto shield and Arduino too.

    82075455_1467713016720139_8513760482262253568_n.jpg 82534137_462186767808885_3387011725021675520_n.jpg 82534139_850255858766277_6785294144307724288_n.jpg 82955170_2524019027872590_1597314250236231680_n.jpg

    I hope first try with only chassis for next week.
    i need to tcheck how SMC 3 work with SimTools before launch.

    I'm scared for the first test : how it will react ahaha
    Motor are blocked for 180° max ?

    Have a nice Week end,

    Wixx
    • Creative Creative x 1
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,986
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,053Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am looking forward to your update test.

    Physics dictates that effective torque utilisation drops of rapidly with anything more the than about 40° up and down, so about 80° max movement
  13. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok thanks! In few post i read the reason :)

    Now the mechanical part is pretty ok. I need just to improve my connecting rod.
    Some 3D printing for esthetics.
    82144981_1060019491002459_5757254401584529408_n.jpg 82343952_611179256117621_6563483208300625920_n.jpg
    Next step, Simtools.. :D
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Some bad news...

    Impossible to move the motors with SMC3 Utils...
    Port COM ok,
    But nothing move.

    i use a copy of arduino mega... so I will try with an official arduino uno
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2020
  15. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi!
    It's better with Arduino Uno !
    i can move the motor 1 but only in one direction, and it moving without manuel order..
    Motor 2 has moving but now no, and only in one direction too..
    If you have an idea...
    Thanks,
    Wixx65-x
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,986
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,053Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi!
    Some great news are comming!
    First test are made on rFactor with pitch and roll (without seat) and reacting great!
    Video is comming.
    now i have to test with seat and adjust parameters. :D
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Wixx65-x

    Wixx65-x New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Gironde, FRANCE
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi

    a video is better than words...


    some questions:
    -For limiting the rotation of motor it's in simtools with axis limiting ?
    -how to be more reactif ? If limiting rotation is use axis limiting, so i will deplace motor near to the joint.
    -My PC is almost dead... i will made one. how to use my simtools licence in the new pc ?

    What do you think about my 2DOF ? :D


    ++
    Wixx65-x
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,986
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,053Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Axis limiting does limit the range available, mainly for things like SCN actuators, which will be damaged if the go too far. However in your case I think you need to refine your motion profile, in particular using lower values in the tuning center, which will limit the range of movement and also make the movement far more responsive, see here for refinement tips: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    You have a limited number of SimTools reactivations, so you just install SimTRools on the new PC and register it as you normally would.
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2020
  20. Retro77

    Retro77 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Nurse Practitioner
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    188Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    How to you find the Monster motor driver so far. Heat an issue?
  21. WS786873

    WS786873 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    28Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I'm also in China. I'm going to make one, but I haven't got a clue. Can I exchange it