1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question 2 dof project

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by djaysam, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. djaysam

    djaysam djaysam

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    pakistan
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF
    thanks @speedy for detail explanation
    before i was using 1k pot today i replace it with 10 k
    pot.jpg

    now I got what @insanegr & @Pit was trying to tell. My bad understanding

    now i tried to hold pot and motor shaft like this picture
    motor shaft.jpg
    now the smc3 utility is showing this type of reading
    tri'.png

    now please guide me further
    • Winner Winner x 1
  2. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,724Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    1.jpg

    Give us a video ... :popcorn
    • Informative Informative x 2
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2017
  3. djaysam

    djaysam djaysam

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    pakistan
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF
    I have joined screw driver with motor shaft and hold the pot by hand please check in video

    • Like Like x 1
  4. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,897Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,045 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Great, you got it working, but the motors are way too "slow", you cannot do anything more. Are you sure the motors are only 12V motors?
  5. djaysam

    djaysam djaysam

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    pakistan
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF
    its 24 volt its old motor i will buy new viper 12volt motor when i succeed in simulating with my circuit
    what motor do you prefer ?

    can i use 24 volt motor ?

    can i move forward to my further setting or i need to buy 12volt motor first ?
  6. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,897Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,045 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    MotoMonster supports up to 12V only (theoretically up to 16V but this does not work). On 24V your motors spin twice as fast but IMO still to slow for a motion rig. In this case you need an other motor driver.
  7. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,724Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You can't get accurate green to blue matching motion with this slow motor plus you holding the Feedback pot like that :grin ...

    It is quite obvious that this motor have a planetary gear on it's output which I guess causes the lage time reversing the output shaft/pot ... I can hear it moving internally before the pot actually reverses .

    You have succeeded in your job so far :thumbs ... go further and increase the PWMmin and PWMmax to get to the maximum speed for this motor ..
    • Like Like x 1
  8. djaysam

    djaysam djaysam

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    pakistan
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF
    kindly refer me a motor driver
  9. djaysam

    djaysam djaysam

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    pakistan
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF

    there is not much effect by increasing as @Pit advice me to change driver for my motor
    • Useful Useful x 1
  10. djaysam

    djaysam djaysam

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    pakistan
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF
    I have replaced my dc 24 volt motor with wiper 12 volt motor

    should we need to setup pot directly with motor ?

    i saw somewhere on youtube that pot is connected to motor from backside with extended shaft and from front shaft using for playseat so should i have to do the same as this motor is very fast and i cant handle it with pot in my hand

    do you have nay picture for reference for this motor
    50a1320d-a5c0-4064-af38-c41895e137e6.jpg
  11. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,897Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,045 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    you can as long as the potis support the range of motion.
  12. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,724Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    • Useful Useful x 2
  13. djaysam

    djaysam djaysam

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    pakistan
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF
    hello guys i am back . i have bought a wiper motor and make a back shaft for pot now my smc3 is like this smc3 after pot.png
    • Like Like x 1
  14. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,724Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Very Nice ... keep going . :thumbs

    To more enhance the square step => use the Ki & Kd to lower the oscillation , use 1/10 the amount of the Kp or lower ...

    To get a perfect position holding use some more 50 or 70 PWMmin to overcome the motor startup friction .
  15. djaysam

    djaysam djaysam

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    pakistan
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF
    hello please guide me

    mo.png sine.png tri.png sq.png
  16. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,724Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  17. judges

    judges New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    309Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    "Understanding PID in 4 minutes"... You could as well speed up that vid by factor 10 and call it "Understanding PID in 24 seconds".. :p
    • Funny Funny x 1
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,897Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,045 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    upload_2017-3-23_23-16-53.png
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  19. djaysam

    djaysam djaysam

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    pakistan
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF
    @Pit you mean to say i should change the limits what would be the correct limits please share link
  20. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,603
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,861Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,866 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    This will all depend on 'Your' rig - very unlikely that any two will ever be the same. Members have been kind enough to get you in the ballpark, but now you need to educate yourself so that you can do/understand yourself - instead of expecting every step to be done for you. Have a look at the FAQ - it is all there. Yes, you need to do some work.
    • Agree Agree x 1