1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question 2 DOF best hardware?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Alex st-louis, May 23, 2019.

  1. Alex st-louis

    Alex st-louis New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    96Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi! I have plans on making my own 2 DOF seat mover for a long time and it's now time for me to jump in! I already have the 2 motors with are 50:1 12v 180w each and i'm now looking for the motor driver and the main board. For the drivers i was looking at : Pololu High-Power Motor Driver 24v12 https://www.pololu.com/product/757 .
    And for the main board .. i don't know what's the best option! I heard that arduino are not the best in resolution but it was 3 years ago. Maybe they've improve that point? I've attached a photo of what the rig will looks like! I look forward to hearing from you guys! Thanks.

    Attached Files:

  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,142
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. Alex st-louis

    Alex st-louis New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    96Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,142
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    JRKs are one of the easiest to configure for a motion sim using the Pololu config utility, the downside is really only the cost.
  5. Alex st-louis

    Alex st-louis New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    96Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I see i need two of them so not the cheapest way but if the ease of use is considerable it might be worth it!
  6. Alex st-louis

    Alex st-louis New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    96Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    And it mean that i will have 2 more usb cable pluged in my pc! 3 more for 3DOF.. lol. Am i right?
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,142
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Correct, though you could use a hub.
  8. Alex st-louis

    Alex st-louis New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    96Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Sure! And do i need potentiometer for the motor position feedback? Probably!
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,142
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes you do need pots, or better yet Hall sensors, as Hall sensors won't break if over rotated, are very accurate and robust, I use these: https://au.element14.com/bi-technol...fs/sensor-hall-0-2v-20v-to-10v-pin/dp/2319662

    In addition Hall sensors can be attached directly to the motor shaft using a correctly sized flexible coupling: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/how-to-connect-protect-a-potentiometer.13/

    Spend some time researching the FAQs, as that can save you time, money and frustration, the FAQs cover everything from design software, dimension of sims, to PSUs, pots, motors, control hardware options, plus heaps more: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/

    In particular review the Design section, and have a play with SimCalc to get your head around the trade offs between design and physics: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/design-considerations-resources.24/category
  10. Alex st-louis

    Alex st-louis New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    96Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Or maybe someone in the forum has
    Your help is really appreciated! Thanks !
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Alex st-louis

    Alex st-louis New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    96Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    upload_2019-5-23_3-43-7.png
    What do you think of these number? i'm drawing the frame in CAD at the same time!

    upload_2019-5-23_3-44-3.png