1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

130v DC pwm ?

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Gadget999, Feb 2, 2018.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    2,590Coins
    Ratings:
    +81 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    what is the correct way to control a 36A load that is 130 V DC?

    is there an off the shelf driver to do this type of job ?
  2. Oms

    Oms known as "Doc6dof"

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    France Colomiers
    Balance:
    - 81Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    hello i am electronic engineer and can help you giving power electronic schematics for thi kind of control. But are you sure of the values, because 130v x 36v = 4700 W ! it is a lot, how kind of rig do you want to control with such power ?
  3. Oms

    Oms known as "Doc6dof"

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    France Colomiers
    Balance:
    - 81Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hello, to your question :"
    currently i take ac power and convert to to DC then output it through an IGBT and then out though a powerful diode
    The IGBT solution has not been that reliable and i have some customers who keep blowing the igbt board !
    an alternative i used some years ago was a thyristor but this can only be switched every mains cycle and is a slow device
    is there an off the shelf box i can buy that is a igbt solution or perhaps a dc motor driver that could do the job ?
    the igbt i use is this one -- http://uk.farnell.com/fuji-electric/2mbi150u2a-060-50/igbt-dual-module-150a-600v-npt/dp/1689572
    i wonder if the failures are caused by the customer having a welder operate at the same time as the Dynamometer.
    Do you work with control system"

    Here after my answer:
    I do not work with control systems, but I can give you my opinion. In your case, I think the choice of a IGBT is good (less fragile than mosfet, and can be open when you want unlike thyristor). But for a good reliability, several precautions to take into account:
    1)The choice of the component compatible with maximum current/voltage/power (I think your IGBT is even oversized !)
    2)Of course a correct PCB drawing and manufactured (sections, lengths, …)
    3)And very important a strong command on the gate, to avoid to the IGBT to stay too much time in a linear zone (where the power dissipated by its chip is very high). For that, the gate driver has to provide for switching on enough voltage (but under the maximum rating, for example 15V as the maximum is 20, with a 15V zener between gate and emitter to avoid over voltage), with a high dv/dt, and a high current capability (to charge miller capacities). But it has also , but also for switching off it has to decrease enough gate voltage (I think even below 0V), always with a high dv/dt, and also a high current capability (to discharge miller capacities).
    4)To finish warning with EMC, electrical perturbations, … I would add also a transient voltage suppression diode (for example a tranzorb 200V several kW) between the emitter and the collector.
    Normally with all that you have a solid design (IGBT are used in locomotive to switch several thousands kW…).

    I have answer in the forum because some people building a dynamic simulator can be interested if there want to use IGBT to control their motors.
  4. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    2,590Coins
    Ratings:
    +81 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    if i was building a powerful 6dof i would definitely look at using IGBTs
  5. Oms

    Oms known as "Doc6dof"

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    France Colomiers
    Balance:
    - 81Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

Share This Page