1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Xilence Cooler for Moto Monster (Sparkfun)

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Pit, Feb 1, 2015.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Found this effective and cheap "Xilence Cooler Northbridge Heatsink":

    If you use a Moto Monster and you have no idea what to buy or you do not have an old AMD cooler at home, this cooler will fit perfectly.
    20150207_204051.jpg
    Please beware: you do not need to cover the mosfests, only the vnh2sp30 chips!! To get the best fitting please cut the bottom plate as showed on the picture below:
    cooler-chipset-xilenc1.jpg
    • Useful Useful x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2015
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,353Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,
    i build my controller box right now, and was thinking about the cooling. This info comes just at the right time :) They look perfect for my box.
    Thanks for the Post!
    Did you already use it and is the small fan enough? I see many people using 120mm Fans.
  4. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Next week I am going to build a complete new set of two MM's using this cooler, because today I found a shop in Switzerland which should have them in stock obviously. I am using a 120mm fan as well but the cooling is not so effective as I thought. Whatever this cooler is so cheap so it is worth a try in any case.
  5. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,163
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,995Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,823 / 32 / -1
    These appear to have about the same size fan (less than 50mm) that is supplied on the sabertooth 60x2. The sabertooth has a larger heat sink under the fan though to cover all the components needed for two motors. I use around 1hp motors on my sabertooths however they rarely get hot enough for the cooling fans to even turn on.
  6. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,353Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hi,
    recieved 2 of these today. They are fitting very good over the chips, But they are not very plan because my mosfets are a little bit higher. I hope the Thermel copunt can fix this gap.
    They are very easy to mount!
    Thanks again for the tip.
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    you do not need to cover the mosfets.
    cooler-chipset-xilenc1.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    PS: In the meantime I got the coolers, too and cut the bottom plate, the cooler covers the vnh2sp30 chips completely.
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,063
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,894Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Useful Useful x 2
  10. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    [​IMG]

    Is it absolutely safe not to cool the MOSFETs?
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    The mine are running since years now... w/o cooling the mosfets.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  12. hoopstar

    hoopstar when 10/10ths isn't enough..

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Electronic Engineer
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    How are guys retaining the heatsink to the IC..??
  13. anatachaikiet

    anatachaikiet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Balance:
    134Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino

    hi. This one has 3 cable and how do we connect?