1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

X-Sim support for SCN5 actuators

Discussion in 'XSimulator Q&A/FAQs - Outdated' started by yobuddy, Jul 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    The mechanical actuators-setup is the issue today. The DIY stepper controller lies ready in the drawer...
  2. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    To me it seems pretty much like a ballscrew drive with AC motors. Where have you seen the belt transmission in a FD301?
  3. Mambo

    Mambo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Balance:
    250Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    I mean more type of simulator (3 acutators). It would'n usable for Frex type (it would be long)
  4. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Hey Sirnoname, amazing result! :yippiee:

    The video is great!

    :cheerleader:

    Thank you!
    Christian
  5. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,924
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    36,778Coins
    Ratings:
    +4,062 / 11 / -0
    Great video Sirnoname!
    Thanks for the update, getting pretty excited :yippiee:

    yobuddy
  6. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Montreal/Canada
    Balance:
    - 131Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

    Let's celebrate...

    I want to start my tests next month... Migrate to X-Sim soon! 8)

    That is freedom... :mug1:
  7. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    You've got it! :cheers:

    But let me say that we have to go on very slow and careful to a default setup, cause I dont want any actuator death due to wrong or too progressive settings.

    Regards
    Christian
  8. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    This is awesome news!!!! The video is great too! Congrats! :cheers: :dance1: :dance2: :yourock:

    About the RS485 converter... I used all of its features of the converter you mention on my USB_to_RS485 converter:
    [​IMG]
    post9152.html#p9152

    So I guess it will work too. I'll prepare a prototype of this USB converter and send it over to you to test it! :thbup:


    Best Regards, Thanos
  9. nordisch

    nordisch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Germany, Hamburg/Lübeck
    Balance:
    61Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    A little step for an SCN ... But a big step for the community :hi:

    my gratulations
  10. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    440
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    5,189Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 3 / -0
    Hi Christian
    @ AD
    Well,if you are willing to share some ideas with us,go on i,ll appreciate that.
    Well i,am willing,have more ideas.
    When some one makes a new topic fore it , i will reply
    it,s better to keep this tread on topic i think.

    regards AD :thbup:
  11. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,653
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    25,015Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,669 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Hi Martin,

    wirklich fantastische Resultate, die Du erzielt hast. Ist ein tolles Gefühl jeden Tag im Forum vorbeizuschauen, die kleinen Steps mitzuverfolgen und auf einmal wieder eine audiovisuelle Tech-presentation geliefert zu bekommen. Starke Leistung.
    Danke, Thanks, Merci Beaucoup, Grazie, Salut :cheers:

    Selbst die 80mm/sek sehen schon gewaltig aus. Ich glaub Chris hatte garnicht so unrecht damit wenn er meint, das die SCN einem bei Full-Speed das Rückgrat aus dem Kreuz rütteln :rofl:

    Also bei einer zukünftigen Sammelbestellung und weiteren Fortschritten bin ich schonmal dabei.

    Viele Grüße
    René
  12. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Montreal/Canada
    Balance:
    - 131Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Don't worry...

    That is why I will wait 1 more month, for sw maturity.
    As I told you before... I already use only 5cm (from 10cm) of range to avoid damage to the actuator.
    I am planning to use 10cm only with FSX, which I believe has a much slower motion anyways... ;-)

    BTW, I need some help to understand which USB-485 interface to use, I want a shelf solution...
    Let me ask again, after all you learned so far, will this converter work with x-Sim?
    http://ekmmetering.com/EKM_Metering/Con ... pters.html

    Do you believe I will not have the 80mm/s speed limitation you had?

    I will be more than glad to write down a how to/DIY conversion of the SCM to a X-SCM (X-Sim Controlled Motion)... How you like that name? :lol:
    BUT, I need your guys support to make this right since the beginning.

    Cheers,

    Me
  13. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi,
    I'm not sure if their circuits include auto RS485 switching, like Sinoname said: These converter are half duplex and can send OR receive, this is the SCN5 Termibus RS485.

    But I guess for 10 bucks for the simple serial port version its worth to try. In worst case you will have no communication between the SCN5 and the computer, no other harm can be happen... :headfullofmath:

    Thanos
  14. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    I'm not sure what you're meaning.

    Its planned to make a SCN5 plugin, where you can adjust the speed, accelleration and more via sliders. Sure, you will be able to set them faster than 80mm/s.
    I am just saying that we have to be carfull, to prevent overdriving them to the limits with high speed.

    Regards
    Christian
  15. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Montreal/Canada
    Balance:
    - 131Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    I understood Noname had a speed limitation imposed by the RS485 interface, which didn't allow him to go faster... Or, did I read it wrong? :-(

    Thanks.

    Me
  16. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Montreal/Canada
    Balance:
    - 131Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    I was planning to use the USB solution.
    I believe that considering the shipping costs, it would be worth to buy two of them, instead of one than other one...
  17. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Yes, you did. The limitation is the max SCN5 update rate of 5-10ms. That means that the acutator is able to change direction just in a 5-10ms loop (rumble).
    The speed and accelleration will be adjustable the same way, as you are used from your current setup.

    Dont worry, it will be as fast as your SCM :D

    Regards
    Christian
  18. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    I've ordered some of Thanos DIY usb>RS485 converter layouts from Heinz. I will assemble some for you guys, as soon as Thanos gives green light.

    Regards
    Christian
  19. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Montreal/Canada
    Balance:
    - 131Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Thanks Ego... When I read it for the second time I got the impression to have wrongly understood it...
  20. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yes, I will give the green light as soon Sirnoname test it with SCN5 motor, and assure us that it works like the simple serial_to_RS485 converter he uses right now.

    Just to mention, that apart from the DIY_USB_to_RS485 PCB you will need to purchase a small FT232R breakout board from Sparkfun.

    FT232R_on_DIY_PCB_dim.JPG

    I ordered two such FT232R breakout boards, and paid 22euro (including shipping expenses from USA). :thbup:

    Regards, Thanos
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.