1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Writing a motion cueing software from scratch.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Dirty, Feb 28, 2019.

  1. Dirty

    Dirty Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    474
    Occupation:
    All the way up front.
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    5,212Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 1 / -0
    You pretty much got the idea :thumbs

    I hope the filters are tuned in a way that it does NOT hit the axis limit.

    You get the idea :) At the end of all this, the rig gently settles back to the neutral position, just as gently as the yellow line settles back to zero. The very purpose of this washout is to NOT run into the endstops, but return the rig to the center, even though the input signal stays at 1.

    Cheers,... :)
    • Like Like x 2
  2. gianlu320

    gianlu320 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Crawley
    Balance:
    488Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
  3. Builder

    Builder New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    280Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Read the topic and basically I understand what you are doing, great. Since I am quite fresh in the simulator world I have a few questions (hopefully correct topic):

    1. Can I use the Nutkicker from @Dirty for any simulation software, or do I need different interfaces (software)? Now only coupling with DCS is discussed.
    2. Can someone perhaps indicate in a block diagram how things connect. For example, do I need simtools as an interface, or is this only needed with FlyPT Mover from @pmvcda.

    In other words, this beginner doesn't quite understand the connection between the different software options and the hardware yet. ( I plan to use the AMC-AASD15A from @Thanos to control servo motors) :sos

    Hope you can help me understand.
  4. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,065
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,684Coins
    Ratings:
    +241 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I have started building my own control system and software for 6DOF - so far it outputs a sine wave in 8192 steps of resolution

    i hope to try and get it working with simtools asap
  5. Dirty

    Dirty Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    474
    Occupation:
    All the way up front.
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    5,212Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 1 / -0
    Hey, :)

    Nutkicker is a standalone software. I have closed the source on it a few months ago, but you can have a copy anytime (let me know if this link ever breaks). Also, if you are really interested, I'd be happy to open it for anyone willing to help out. I just don't want it to be uncontained in the public domain. Just a little C# programming knowledge required, that's all. This is the first program I ever wrote and am learnig through it everyday :)

    So far, I support DCS and X-Plane. FS2020 does not yet provide the required data :confused:, but I am hopeful that it will at some point. In general, it can suppport any sim as long as you can get that sim to talk to a TCP connection. Or are willing to write a little program that does that.

    Run right on you Sim PC and get data via TCP localhost.

    Nutkicker local.png

    Run on another PC or Mac and get data via TCP network.
    Nutkicker network.png

    It works. Actually surprisingly good! It does have a few rough edges still here and there and I am making some improvements, but mainly...

    ...I am writing a successor already in which I will put everything I learned from Nutkicker and that's a LOT. For comparison: Nutkicker needs 3-5% of the CPU and GPU. What I am writing now needs less than 0.1% of either.

    From a functionality standpoint it can not compete with Mover, but it had some clever thoughts going into it.
    I usea different structure of the filters that I couldn't implement in Mover and I use a structure of many more nestet transforms to mitigate false cues.

    I can proudly say, my user base consists of 100% aviation professionals :)
    ...on the oher hand, it's ony three people :grin

    Cheers,... Dirty :)
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. Builder

    Builder New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    280Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I am very interested in your software. I cannot say that I can directly contribute to your code, am also a beginner in C # myself. But I would like to learn.:nerd

    I am not an aviation professional but maybe I can become number 4 of your user base.;)

    Builder.
    • Like Like x 1