1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Would these motors work?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Aaron450, Nov 11, 2015.

  1. Aaron450

    Aaron450 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    tasmania
    Balance:
    315Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hi I'm just wondering if these motors would work for a 2dof seat mover? I'm am just going to run it with arduino and two h bridges. It's just a trial one as I have salvaged all parts for free. I will be moving to jrk boards in the future when funds allow lol.
    image.jpeg
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,268Coins
    Ratings:
    +392 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    That motor looks powerful enough (500watts) to move a full sim, but there is no data on torque.
    Also, JRKs are 12v, tops 30amp and that would be not enough for that motor specs.
    You will need a powerful PSU to get 24v 25amp, maybe 2 car bat or server psu in serial.
    Try to get more data on them.
  4. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,268Coins
    Ratings:
    +392 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
  5. Aaron450

    Aaron450 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    tasmania
    Balance:
    315Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I know I wouldn't be able to use this setup with jrks it's just a base setup using salvaged parts from work, it's in the mobility scooter and wheelchair repair industry... I have deep cycle 12 volt batteries wired to run 24v . That motor also has a gearbox with a 19:1 ratio by the looks of this sticker
    image.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Aaron450

    Aaron450 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    tasmania
    Balance:
    315Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Or these motors
    image.jpg image.jpg
  7. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @Aaron450 , JRKS will only run 12v motors rated at 200 watts max. Because they are over driven, like any motor on a simulator, JRKS are restricted to about that.
    They will not drive a 24v motor sufficiently, even with 12v going through it.
    The 2nd motor pictured only shows part numbers, so unless you know more about them, we cannot advise.
    Cheers, Dave.

    EDIT, both are 24v motors, even for a test its not going to work very well.
    Look for 12v 200 watt motors if you are going to run anything with a JRK.
    Otherwise, the 24v can be done with ard and MM drivers
  8. Aaron450

    Aaron450 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    tasmania
    Balance:
    315Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I realise jrks will not run these, like I said I will be using arduino and 2 h bridges for my first build as I have all the parts for free until I buy the jrks and 12v system... The second motors are 350w 23amp 4800rpm with a 29:1 gear box
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    ok, carry on
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Aaron450

    Aaron450 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    tasmania
    Balance:
    315Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    What you mean carry on?
  11. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Sorry. Looks like you are on right path.
  12. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,352Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,
    sorry @bsft but I have to correct you.
    The MM drivers are not suitable for 24V motors. Looking on the specs the limit is 16V https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10182
    If you would like to run these motors, there is another Hbridge from pololu able to handle the 24V.
    https://www.pololu.com/product/2502
    But if you using batteries to power the motors, maybe not a good Idea as Pololu writes on their site:

    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @tombo , thats cool man, I appreciate the info and correction. as I am not familiar with Monsto motor drivers, I really cannot comment. Im only familiar with the JRK.
    So what could he use for 24v motors then?
  14. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,641Coins
    Ratings:
    +495 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  15. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,352Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    I see the link I posted above is outdated. There is a newer version.
    https://www.pololu.com/product/2507
  16. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The major advantage of the pololu dual vnh5019 is the ability for compact design utilising ultrasonic code on arduino.

    [​IMG]

    Although it can handle high currents, IMHO it cannot compete with a sabertooth which costs 2.5x (50 usd vs 125usd).
    It may work ok with up to 200watt rated motor pair(200w+200w), but i bet it will have problems driving more powerfull ones.
  17. kimballfount

    kimballfount Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    greer,sc
    Balance:
    842Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    After ordering a chinese motor controller, that never arrived because it was out of stock...surprise, surprise. I'm looking for another one. It needs to be able to control a 500w dc brushed motor. Any suggestions?
  18. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,175
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,215 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
  19. kimballfount

    kimballfount Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    greer,sc
    Balance:
    842Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I wrote a code that sends datarefs from xplane to an arduino, and its only compatible with servo motors. I dont think running the potentiometer from the arduino will work. I was originally going to buy this chinese controller, but it's out of stock. My knowledge of all this stuff is really limited. Can the pololu simple motor controllers be positioned controlled with an arduino and pot? I know the pololu roboclaw is "closed loop", but it's like really pricey and I read a battery has to be installed in parallel to dissipate the regenerative current. Any more suggestions that might get me in the right direction here?

    Attached Files: