1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

WIP - Interface for Stewart Platform Control

Discussion in 'Official Companion Apps' started by eaorobbie, Sep 18, 2015.

  1. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,693Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,655 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    First of all apologise for not being around , been real busy with new job plus going through a big learning curve in maths too.

    Thanks to a fellow member for giving me a polite shove in the right direction, Thanks Alan.
    Without his help this would never be as complete , thanks for your help mate.

    19-09-2015 12-37-28 AM.png

    Ok what we have here is a simple beta app to show you guys early what I'm up too, will update regularly and will follow this plan.

    1. Beta for RC Model Manual Control.
    2.Beta for RC Model Automatic Control from SimTools.

    3. Open the floor for suggestions on Motor Controllers to be added.
    4. Private Beta test of Controllers
    5. Release of Final Version.

    I will post back instructions but its pretty self explain. Beware wrong dimensions will case calc to error , motor graph will show that.

    Ok more will come of Onya Motion Control

    I'll keep ya all posted,
    EaoRobbie ,
    BBS

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 14
    • Like Like x 4
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,514
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,055Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,231 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    WOOOOOHAAAAAAAAAAAAA! !!!!! Im all over this !!!


    Thats awesome @eaorobbie !!! ​
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,873
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,757 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Stickied, this will be an awesome tool for those of us working on Stewart platforms. Thanks Rob!
    • Like Like x 1
  5. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,693Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,655 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Guys Im only at Stage 1. but really hard parts done.
    Sent PM
    • Like Like x 4
  6. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,514
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,055Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,231 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    That's a really cool, I can see how the axis are suppose to work exactly ! I could use this to tweak my current setup using different values in the axis control in simtools.

    Cant wait for the updates :)
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    947Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    very interesting :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,056Coins
    Ratings:
    +995 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Makes me want to build a new rig :sos
  9. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    947Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF



    I am interested to test the app.
    in this video I use simtool and amc1280usb
    • Like Like x 6
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,319
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,053Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,618 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    That's excellent :thumbs, mine is not too far off completion:). Interested in testing the actuator version when it is available.
  11. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. ALMO

    ALMO New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 5 / -0
    Awesome work @eaorobbie

    Very exciting times ahead
  13. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +145 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    this is what the Simtools and the community waiting for ,
    thank you @eaorobbie ,excellent job
  14. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,660Coins
    Ratings:
    +239 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Exellent job, Thank eaorobbie :thumbs
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2017
  15. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,372Coins
    Ratings:
    +275 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I don't have a 6dof but I think it's exactly what was missing in Simtools !! Can someone make a video demo of this powerful tool please ?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. zigzag49

    zigzag49 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Balance:
    468Coins
    Ratings:
    +218 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thank you, is what it would be possible to have an explanation of how the software.
    :cheers
  17. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    947Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hello,
    The plugin works with electronic card thanos amc1280usb?

    thx for your help
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,319
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,053Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,618 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Maybe this needs to be reposted from @eaorobbie :

    Ok what we have here is a simple beta app to show you guys early what I'm up too, will update regularly and will follow this plan.
    1. Beta for RC Model Manual Control.
    2.Beta for RC Model Automatic Control from SimTools.
    3. Open the floor for suggestions on Motor Controllers to be added.
    4. Private Beta test of Controllers
    5. Release of Final Version.
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  19. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,186Coins
    Ratings:
    +807 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ohhh You have stirred up a hornets nest in the best possible way with your work EaoRobbie. a lot of lurkers will be coming out of the woodwork thanks to this work , like the rest of the guys hoping simtools will be the one stop shop for DIY simmers .. Just saying thanks for even starting this much needed addition to Simtools ... :)
    Cant wait to test this , Unfortunatly like a fool i upgraded my laptop to Win 10 only to find out i can no longer run or get FS2004 to run ( bummer) so my sim is stalled for a bit but once sorted im in with trying this .
  20. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Cant you roll it back to previous version ? Im 99% sure i read that you can.
  21. AlexinChina

    AlexinChina Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    China
    Balance:
    304Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    very good work