1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Wind Sim - SimHub - No low speed wind HELP!

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Halloween2go, Feb 3, 2021.

  1. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    121
    Balance:
    965Coins
    Ratings:
    +91 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi Yall,
    I have been reading through the posts I can find but not scratching the itch here.
    I made the WIND SIM and it sort of works.
    I have an extra arduino, the Adafruit Motorshield V2.3, unlimited current from my 12v battery and two 3pin 3k rpm fans. Using the latest version of SimHub for my (buttkickers) already so added in the Shake it and the fans come on at about 40mph and pretty much go full tilt. (they do not seem to be corresponding with speed in Assetto Corsa). Should I make a new post? Or any ideas of how to get the fans to start at a lower speed and ramp up with progressive mph?Thanks, Dave
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And Yeah they are GREAT when they are ON.. but they come on and pretty much go right to FULL SPEED 3,000 RPM..
    Any help would be appreciated. I did update the arduino to 1600
    [​IMG]
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,067
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    123,923Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,714 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If I recall I think minimum force needs to be zero and pwm fans don't work properly with SimHub, but it has been a long while since I messed with SimHub fans, so hopefully someone with current experience can chip in.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    121
    Balance:
    965Coins
    Ratings:
    +91 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok, I had it on 'AUTO' and now it comes on a bit lower, but now it never reaches high speed.
    Maybe I have the wrong fans.. These are 3PIN. They spin up to 3k RPM when connected to 12V.. but now they are not. Should I try those SEAFLOW and Monster motos.. ? I have a few IBT-2's and some JRK 12V12's..
    Any advice.. Right now, These are not pushing enough air
    The fans I bought are linked here
    I dont see the link posting so here is the description on AMAZON
    High Airflow PC Case Fan - 120 mm 3 Pin Dual Ball Bearing Cooling Fan with Thin Blades and Long Life. 3000 RPM Computer Fan for Desktop CPU Coolers, Radiators. 6.6 W 12v Fan (3 Pack)
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2021
  5. nanallac

    nanallac New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Unfortunately I can't see your photos, so I'm just going to spit ball. Do you have the fans connected to the motor outputs? You will need to set your arduino up with motor outputs, not fans, as these ones don't have PWM capability. The yellow wire is the tach wire which will not need to be connected.

    Follow the steps here for
    Adafruit Motor Shield V2 (Or clone)

    https://github.com/SHWotever/SimHub/wiki/Arduino-Shake-It
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    121
    Balance:
    965Coins
    Ratings:
    +91 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Appreciate the Help. Fans are connected to the Adafruit motor shield as noted in diagrams M1 and M2. I have 12 V connected to Motorshield as diagram indicates. Arduino took the sketch and I set SIMHUB shake it to 50hz . The fans spin at around 35mph but never seem to reach the 3000 rpm speed they should. I bought three pin fans and only have the black and red connected, the yellow is not. Perhaps I purchased the wrong fans?
  7. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    121
    Balance:
    965Coins
    Ratings:
    +91 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok I ordered a Seaflo 4" 12V 270 CFM and a couple monster motos (hope they are not defective).

    So Do I need GameDash AND SimHub? I know how to use SimHub, I my buttkickers working and also seem to have the 12V fans *sort of working* with the adafruit motor shield ..

    I only ordered one of the Seaflo fans because.. well I need it to work before I order another one.

    Do i need GameDash? Thanks guys.. DMAX
  8. EduardoMoreira

    EduardoMoreira New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You don't need game dash. Just simhub
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    121
    Balance:
    965Coins
    Ratings:
    +91 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks! I got it working. For some reason I had to click on 'all four' motors to make it work in the software. even though I only have two fans. I also ended up buying a SeaFlow 240 and two MM boards to mess around with. Jeeeze the SEAFlow is very loud and powerful!!
    • Like Like x 1