1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

Why do we not see these 4DOF setups?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Troymx576, May 13, 2020.

  1. Troymx576

    Troymx576 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hello,
    I am new to motion and looking at making the SFX-100 type of setup on my current rig, then I started to research Stewart platforms and it is a deep rabbit hole of ideas.

    I was wondering why I do not see see anyone making a 4DOF rigs like the Motion-sim.cz setup?

    My thought was to make my own actuators, using a 6nm 110st AC motor and driver with 2010 or 2510 ballscrew and Thanos controller.

    The other idea is to use the SFX-100 4dof rig and add surge and traction loss plus seat belt tensioner.

    What am I missing in which would be better and why?

    Is the Stewart platform superior? [​IMG] Does it have enough movement as most I see do not move a lot, but I guess that depends on the scale that is it made.

    Thanks for the help and advice in advance.
    Troy
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    761
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,031Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Maybe because its more challenging mechanically. Its a 3DOF plus TL motion anyway that cannot be expanded easily if you wanted to add surge for example.
  4. Troymx576

    Troymx576 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Has anyone used the 6nm motor and 2010 ballscrew for speed? My thought is the motor has triple the torque, so double the speed should be within the limits of the motor.

    Also, if I got the 4DOF actuators on my current P1 rig and then add traction and surge is there a limit that we should stay within for the 4DOF actuator stroke?
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    761
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,031Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    2010? Are you planning to include ejection seat on your rig?

    Also for SFX-100 type 4 actuator rig, 200mm stroke is the most you could use
  6. Troymx576

    Troymx576 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    My thought was to use the 6nm and have faster speed as needed. It is 6amp though, but cost was about the same as the 80st and 90st. I have plenty of power in my house and planed for a 30amp 220v circuit for it and a separate circuit for 110v for the rest. Also, with the extra torque I would not have to worry about the keeping the weight low on the rig if needed. We could adjust the rpm to get the speed wanted with torque to spare if using the 2010 or 1610. I was first thinking of using that for the 6dof Stewart rig to have the speed wanted, but still could use them on the 4 post rig.

    Good to know that 200mm is all you really want. If even I built an actuator with more we could simply limit the travel.

    This is getting exciting for me to get a motion sim. I was in one, once, liked it, and thought I would never be able to afford it. I found the SFX-100 and then researched more. Found the Thanos controller and then thought I could design up my own actuator from the basic designs we have here and be able to expand to get the rig I really want.

    Thanks for all the help.
    Troy
    • Like Like x 1