1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

What kind of printer do you use?

Discussion in '3D Printing' started by bruce stephen, Feb 12, 2016.

  1. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,019Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,227 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Artois
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/3D-Printer-...185417?hash=item58e3ee9389:g:124AAOSwYIxX4gUm

    This is the one myself and @Historiker has. It is not top of the line but is very capable. I have replaced the v5 hot end with e3d v6, put in an mk3 heat bed and installed a 50amp psu. All three cost less than 80$. It has an integrated board which is a big plus.
  2. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Mk3 heat bed ?
  3. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,019Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,227 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Lol mk2b. Not sure where the 3 came from.
    20161222_194918.jpg
  4. Artois

    Artois New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Hinesville, GA
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    There are not any 2-star reviews on this product.


    5 star

    50%

    4 star

    33%

    3 star

    17%

    2 star

    0%
    1 star

    0%
  5. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    hrmm guess i seen it wrong, could have sworn it was a 2 star.....oh well 3 star then..still gets the point across that there's better out there for the $$
  6. Artois

    Artois New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Hinesville, GA
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Thanks Bruce and Nick. I believe I am just going to go with the unit Bruce suggested and do the upgrades. Comes out to pretty much teh same price point I am at. I was hoping for the larger print bed but if you can't get prints out of it, the size of the bed doesn't matter. Thanks again for your help.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Lorien31

    Lorien31 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    IT System Specialist
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    For a entry point printer the CTC Makerbot Ripoff is great, all the mechanical flaws it has you can fix with the printer it self.
    Was also my first 3d printer i bought.

    My second now is the E3D Big Box, took quite some time to build the kit, but it prints reliable and amazing quality.
    • Like Like x 2
  8. welen123

    welen123 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    HongKong
    Balance:
    29Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I always use delta printer, and i had test an prisa i3 ,but it was not my type.
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The only advantage i see to a Delta would be the height option. The Prusa mk2 has proven to be at the VERY top of the pile for features/print quality and Price. There's really nothing out there that will touch it for what it offers.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Andrew M

    Andrew M P_H_O_3_N_I_X Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Occupation:
    IT Chief Programmer / CTO
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Balance:
    539Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi I have a DIY Prusa i3 with Steel frame, MK2 bed with 1 extruder - mostly printing 0.1, or 0.2 layer [ tried 0,05 but time killed me ].
    First 4 month I was printed only from PLA, but finally migrated to ABS [ which actually needs more temp. on bed 95, but has strong advantage of acetone blending for smooth things ].
  11. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Have you had to make an enclosure to print ABS or are you using ABS + or something with less warping/curling ?

    I tried PLA, PETG, TPU, TPE, Nylon6(junk), CoPoly and im really tempted to try some of the Stainless Steel stuff From The Virtual Foundry when they release it in the coming weeks.
  12. Andrew M

    Andrew M P_H_O_3_N_I_X Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Occupation:
    IT Chief Programmer / CTO
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Balance:
    539Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    You mean something to make better stick to bed ? For me works a kepton tape, and sometimes a little ABS juice. I once tried kind of flex material like ninja flex - it was couple of months ago, but my printings weren`t very nice looking. My printer is a standard low cost DIY [ for around 250$ ]. ABS IMHO has other advantage - extruder hotend can be easily cleaned just in a pure acetone [ since I throw away many dusted from PLA dirt / also tried those 0.4 drills, but were too fragile ].
  13. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Ive only ever had 1 clog in my machines life, And im pretty sure it was my fault.

    In general they suggest an enclosure for ABS due to warpage and what not. Just asking if you've had any issues printing without an enclosure and with ABS,


    here's some of my TPU prints.

    Yes they are intentionally rough or "speckled" finish.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Andrew M

    Andrew M P_H_O_3_N_I_X Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Occupation:
    IT Chief Programmer / CTO
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Balance:
    539Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Nice printings ! Maybe my english is not very fluent - I didn`t understand what is enclosure for ABS - you mean big enclosure of the printer [ for no dust ] or enclosure for Arduino to close a DOF electronics - sorry maybe a misunderstanding :) I wanted enclosure the electronics, but my case only fitted the PSU`s, probably need to find something bigger.
    Here is my more smooth pilots from ABS - they are for 500 AH64 with acetone smooth and painted, but Apache cabin is in 0,2 due to many hours... :)
    IMG_2556 (1).JPG
    IMG_2555.JPG
    In my case I had many clogs when printing from PLA, but for over 3 months since I changed to ABS - nothing... I also changed manufacturer of filament - so maybe this was causing this [ I have a filter also all the time ]
    • Like Like x 3
  15. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Crap Filament will clog the nozzle Much more often, So im assuming that must have been it, PLA is VERY printer friendly in general.

    Yes An enclosure for the entire machine. To help with keeping the heat inside and around the Part to prevent any rapid cooling and layer de adhesion issues.
  16. Andrew M

    Andrew M P_H_O_3_N_I_X Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Occupation:
    IT Chief Programmer / CTO
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Balance:
    539Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    No I`ve never done this, but you are right - especially for keeping right temperature of the bed - really hard to keep - a lot of power is lost [ temperature of room is around 21 when bed should be 95-100 - all the time need to heat, and in ABS - sometimes a small flow of air can destroy the whole printing.
    How did you built your case, is it somehow printed - can you tip me [ my printer is 20x20, and need at least 40cm cube ], or better just to use plexi 2-5mm plates in such case ?
  17. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I built a cheap enclosure out of an Ikea Lack Table, but honestly hated having to use the enclosure, fortunately no matter what i tried with the crap nylon 6 i had it peeled and curled like crazy (model related as well) So overall i just avoid materials that require such attention.

    The Lack is a widely used table, but i found it a touch small. But obviously other's get on with it fine.

    https://www.google.ca/search?q=3d+p...5KvUAhWn54MKHYkQAdEQ_AUICigB&biw=1920&bih=901
  18. Andrew M

    Andrew M P_H_O_3_N_I_X Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Occupation:
    IT Chief Programmer / CTO
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Balance:
    539Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I also tried some strange flex filaments and they just need a lot of attention, so end up using only PLA and ABS -> since I can leave my printer for all night, or go to work without thinking what could/will go wrong [ when it need couple of hours to make a larger print ]
    OK - it is not a bad idea, since I also have problems with heating the bed over 95 d. even last time rebuilt mz thermal isolation of bed trying to improve it...
    and you convinced me, so planning to make my own :) actually was thinking of using 6 plates of PlexiGlass 50 x 50 x 2, and those 2mm are much cheaper then 5mm [ of thickness since 2 will be just fine - I think ] also found a 5$ for a plate offers [ wioll need 6 in total 30$ ],
    http://allegro.pl/show_item.php?ite...c1e387864ffa85323220a1444b540a86acf77d00be2ff
  19. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A Quality hot end, extruder and proper G code is required for printing Flexibles for sure, I also had a few failed prints in the beginning, But that taught me what i was doing wrong and where to improve it, The Corvette grips i print take 9 hrs a pop x4......I used to worry about leaving it over night, but have since forgotten about that.

    PS VERY low retraction is Mandatory for flexibles.
  20. Andrew M

    Andrew M P_H_O_3_N_I_X Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Occupation:
    IT Chief Programmer / CTO
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Balance:
    539Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    About proper G-code - I use RepetierHost and CuraEngine for preparation since beginning my adventure of 3D print - what else is good ? [ for ABS / PLA is great ! ]
    My Prusa :)
    IMG_2557.JPG