1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

What kind of printer do you use?

Discussion in '3D Printing' started by bruce stephen, Feb 12, 2016.

  1. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    2,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +277 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Now, when I receive gifts from Santa, they are for my 3d printer.
    I had problem with the SD Card. They didn't worked. Looking the internet, the size or the quality of the card could be to blame. The smallest card I could find was 16 gigs. It didn't work. It says that you could format it to 2 gigs size, but it did not work. I contacted the Hictop saying that find a 2 gig sd card these days is not an easy task. They told me they would pay 50% of any card I found. I found one cheap over the internet with a decent delivery cost.

    IMG_1668.JPG IMG_1669.JPG

    It worked. The hot end is for future transformation with the dehydrator.
  2. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,843
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    23,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,194 / 18 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Decided to assign some time to build the 3D printer - all done :)- in the process of completing its first test print. Still need to setup the dryer... although the PLA was straight out of the sealed bag and looks to be printing OK.

    3D print first.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,874
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    85,838Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,237 / 34 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice one :thumbs

    You are way ahead of me @SeatTime, I have had my A8 for weeks, plus all the parts I ordered to mod it, and they are all still sitting in their boxes and packages...life is just crazy chaotic at the moment :(
  4. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    2,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +277 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Look really nice @SeatTime . Glad that you can already be doing some printing. I am sure you will be mastering it in no time.

    @noorbeast, the hardest thing I found in life is to give up some dreams to make sure that I don't realize other dreams only half the way. This is why I gave up the dream of becoming a rock star.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,874
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    85,838Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,237 / 34 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That is why the A8 is still sitting in its box, I bought it on sale but my VR interests and projects take precedence as they are my real passion.
  6. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,843
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    23,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,194 / 18 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    From my experience in living in this 'modern' world if you make a log of what you do in a normal day you would be surprised just how much time you waste on things like TV/internet/email/phone etc ;)- on saying that I do have some jobs lined up for this 3D printer :).
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,688
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    20,220Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,401 / 28 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My latest Customer request, Next up the Wheel these go to, Lol
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 7
  8. donovan

    donovan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    48Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino

    i have a xyz da vinci 1.0jr converted to RAMPS 1.4, now is like a prusa xD.. need some tune so far..
  9. RickPlays

    RickPlays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Schweiz
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I use a Anet A8 which I upgraded with some extensions like this power module for the heated bed:
  10. donovan

    donovan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    48Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    very nice print quality
  11. reddo

    reddo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    110Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -0
    I have self designed and built I3 spinoff running a RAMPS (12V) with 200x300 heatbed (24V) and 300 mm height + recently a self built and slightly modified Ultimaker2 clone from aluminium extrusion profiles with a Geeetech GT2560 board on 24V. Both E3D hotends (V5 for the I3 and V6 for the UMclone). I3 recently rebuilt to bowden extruder (like the UMclone) but might change that back to suffer some speed to get rid of blobs.
  12. RandomCoder

    RandomCoder Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Occupation:
    Control Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,492Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    Very interesting, do you have any photos to share? I'm still waiting the delivery of the Anet A8 which I ordered way back in November. Beginning to think it will never arrive!
  13. reddo

    reddo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    110Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -0
    The I3 before the bowden conversion (and the then unfinished UM clone besides it)

    [​IMG]


    The UM clone

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,688
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    20,220Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,401 / 28 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Latest few builds
    [​IMG] Aston1.jpg
    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 2
  15. Ian Pace

    Ian Pace New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Gharghur - Malta
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Currently using Anet A8 with S3d - very pleased after some tweaking :)
  16. ROGBoy

    ROGBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    10Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Im using a Tevo Tornado... and love it...
  17. paulg100

    paulg100 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Balance:
    1,160Coins
    Ratings:
    +86 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Resin printing those grips would really finish that wheel off Nick, they would look injection moulded rather than fdm printed,

    Got side tracked from motion simming for the past several months (hoping to get back to it soon) as i been busy learning resin 3d printing there surprisingly easy to DIY build

    22424644_924830827672375_7505561397536800299_o.jpg



    really need to get back to the sim stuff soon, i have an open sim wheel i bought last April and ive used it about 30 minutes. criminal!
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
  18. reddo

    reddo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    110Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -0
    Nice, was looking at that for the next printer... LCD screen ? And daylight LED's ? My idea was to make a conversion for the Ultimaker clone I have using just an LCD as-is... so modding the screen and placing LED's. Any build topic of your printer somewhere ?
  19. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,688
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    20,220Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,401 / 28 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Do they have Flexible Resins ? I would assume so, is that legit a DIY unit you've built there ? Details please DETAILS!!!!!!!! :p
  20. paulg100

    paulg100 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Balance:
    1,160Coins
    Ratings:
    +86 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Well this did start life as a wanhao D7, but its only the motherboard and lcd left now. If i built another one its very easy to build from scratch now. For a printer that will kick the ass of a $10,000 printer costs about $500 to build. Can do for less if you happy to sacrifice accuracy.

    Off for work now but ill post more details tonight if any ones interest.

    And yes there are flexible resins. Havnt used them but there are several available now i think.
    • Like Like x 2