1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

What Graphics card are you guys running vith VR setup

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by wannabeaflyer2, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +793 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Guys I know this is a bit generic but having bought my Occulus rift and upgraded my USB ports to include 4 Extra USB 3.o adapter , im now looking at Graphics Card options ... would love the 1080 ( who wouldn't :) ) but xmas is coming and fiancés will take a hit and not in my favour ... so been looking around but buried with specs / tech info ( is there a hair pulling out smiley ) ..
    so quick poll as to what you guys are running in your rigs

    My PC is has Intel 7 Processor , 8 Meg Memory , 2 Terabyte Hard drive ..Window 10 etc But was a Levono PC world End of line sale at bargin price so jumped in .about a year ago ( now found out its only got 2 PCIE slots ( grrrrrr ) ..

    any feedback would be appreciated as always .. the old adage of bang for bucks is hovering but so is the Get the best you can for future proofing ( Is there such a thing, they gotta be kidding right)

    Cheers Crew
  2. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Everything matters in VR because you are trying to beat the clock and complete a new frame render before the app bails and reprojection takes over with the last frame. But it's also a balancing act. If your CPU and system can't pull their wait, there is less benefit to a fast GPU.

    You don't give specifics on which CPU, what the clock is or if you are or can overclock, etc. 8 GB is also a little thin. Others will be able to help more if you can update with more info. Off the cuff I'd say at least a 1070 and see if there is capability to overclock some and if you can get more RAM.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. matthew loomis

    matthew loomis Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    rochester,ny
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I have a 1080ti. Still have to trade off stuff for supersampling. As a sim racer you need good ss, distance vision is so important. And frame rate drops lead to sickness. Vr is awesome if you have the pc to push it. A 1070 will run vr games fine but will struggle with converted titles like as and pcars.
  4. RandomCoder

    RandomCoder Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Control Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,582Coins
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    If your struggling for finances might I suggest a GTX 980ti? This is roughly the equivalent of a 1070 but can be had for around £250 on eBay since the release of the newer GFX cards has seen lots of people upgrading and selling off perfectly good GTX 980ti's.
    Just an idea.
  5. principiamacb

    principiamacb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I got a used evga 980ti for £200 earlier in the year to run Vr. More than happy at that price. It's my overclocked i5 4590k that holds it back now.
  6. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    276Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I just upgraded to a 1080 - but actually my old 970 did ok with help from a little OC, of course it can´t handle supersampling very well, but it works fine with most titles with a little lower settings :)
  7. RandomCoder

    RandomCoder Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Control Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,582Coins
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    I don't have VR yet but do have a Zotac GTX 980ti AMP! and I'm considering getting another whilst I still can so that they can be connected in SLI.
    At this price its a steal, considering it's only 18 months ago I bought mine for £500.
    With just the one card I can run everything at ultra settings and reasonable frame rates, but ideally I'd like slightly higher frame rates (and bragging rights amongst my friends and work colleagues ;)).
  8. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +793 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Guys , really appreciate the input m still confused LOl I had narrowed my budget choice to a GTX 1060 6GB version apparently the 3Gb version is no slouch but then for the extra £40,00 the 6gb seems a better buy ...

    would have loved to have pushed for the GTX1070/1080 and so herein lies my confusion my VR will be mainly for Motion Sim . the sim will ( when running again ) be mainly for Motor Racing and as flight simulator ..

    Im all for kick arse performance , but that's lottery money at moment , so based on what you guys are has anyone had experience with the GTX 1060 for racing ..

    Turns out my PC has a Intel I7 4790 speed 36Ghz will be buying more Ram to up from The 8gig ? it has at the moment and a solid state Hard drive .. ( well that's the plan anyways :)

    Im leaning towards the GTX 1060 as mentioned above mainly because I thought they were supposed to be a step improvement over the GTX 970/980 series .. have I missed something in that respect ?

    Ps I have not overclocked my PC as im not that adventurous but will be something I will do to try to get the most out of the system ( that's if I can find out how LOL ) paperwork with the sysem was minimal to say the least ( more like non existent)
  9. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just a mention since @RandomCoder mentioned SLI - it doesn't buy you anything in VR. That's qualified since there are a very few apps that will do SLI but nothing mainstream. Nvidia sold a bill of goods with their talk of VR-SLI a few years ago. Still to materialize.

    As to 900 vs. 10 series, there are some functions available in the 10 series that accelerate VR that the 900s don't have. For VR I really recommend 10 series.

    @wannabeaflyer - if you are balancing VR and dollars, I'd recommend the graphics card with more memory and bumping main memory to 16 GB over a SSD. If your graphics card is light on memory, you may be constrained on texture memory which means disk access to page. VR also uses a fair amount of memory on its own since it's rendering two scenes simultaneously. It's a similar situation with the main memory. Windows is bloated and flight sims love to load lots of files for scenery and such. If you don't have enough memory, that will need to page. How much of a factor this is will depend on settings and what you run so it's hard to say how much of a difference this will actually be for you. It can be significant though.

    A SSD is definitely nice to have but if you are having to trade off main and GPU memory against an SSD, if you are paging lots of memory, you'll need an SSD but will still suffer pauses that break immersion. A rotating disk will boot and load things slower than a SSD but will give you more space and save you some money.

    About overclocking, you can just do a web search for the brand/model computer and overclocking and you might get lucky and find a how-to. But maybe it won't overclock. You do what you can.

    Good luck!
    • Like Like x 1
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,463
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,652Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,473 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nvidia has released VRWorks supporting VR SLI, but it has not been widely implemented and really does not make a huge amount of commercial sense unless you are building software in house and control the hardware, as thus far the vast majority of VR gaming rigs are single cards: https://developer.nvidia.com/vrworks/graphics/vrsli
  11. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    But the end result is hardly anything supports VR-SLI. The way they talked about it when they announced it, it sounded like if you buy two cards you could brute force your way into the nirvana of max settings on everything. A whole lot of people bought twin 980s based on the hype only to have to wait and wait to finally get Fun House when Pascal came out which can even run three cards - two rendering and one PhysX - plus some other tech demos.

    Also, need to make clear that @RandomCoder is right on to do SLI since he isn't running VR. I was only saying for VR there's no benefit for most applications (except maybe dedicating one card to PhysX - that may show some benefit but not sure how much).
  12. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +793 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Zed many thanks for the insight . seems no matter what choice im still b=goone need more oomph .. but will bite the bullet with the GTX 1060 6Gb and more system memory . have to jump in at some point s will be shopping for card this weekend ..

    would have loved to go GTX 1070 but at cant seem to justify the price per frame rate trade off ....

    now this is a gownright Newbie Statement as im really in unknown territory but back in my flight simming days the belief was that anything more than 30FPS would not be picked up by brain ??? I take it that in these days that theory went poo to hell LOL .. what is this chasing 80 + FPS all about for the uninitiated
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,463
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,652Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,473 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    30FPS is what you may use for watching something like a movie, 60fps for high end gaming and 90+fps for high end PC VR. If you miss the odd frame here and there for the movie or gaming it is not big deal, but for VR it has physiological consequences and can result in some people feeling ill.

    There are VR software tricks to help mitigate the worst affects of missed frames for VR users, such as Asynchronous Time Warp, Asynchronous Space Warp and Reprojection. Theses are all about graceful degradation from the ideal, which is 90fps. All have some degree of trade offs and can have unintended game level consequences.

    See here re Oculus Asynchronous Time Warp: https://developer.oculus.com/blog/asynchronous-timewarp-on-oculus-rift/

    With Oculus ATW each frame is rendered for the left and right eyes and is processed by ATW before it is displayed. If the rendering is complete it is displayed as synchronous timewarp, but if not and a frame misses the VSync deadline then the previous render is reprojected, shifted for position.

    Asynchronous Spacewarp (ASW) is a frame-rate smoothing technique that almost halves the CPU/GPU time required to produce nearly the same output from the same content, though it can also result in artifacts: https://developer.oculus.com/blog/asynchronous-spacewarp/

    With Valve’s asynchronous reprojection enabled a slight drop in performance will not trigger a halving of framerate, as was originally the case, instead asynchronous reprojection picks up the previous frame and displays it again, shifted to match the updated orientation data.

    For a detailed understanding of reprojection see here: https://www.reddit.com/r/Vive/comme...n_reprojection_looks_way_better_than/d8237fx/

    This is how SteamVR allows ATS/ASW via the Oculus SDK: https://steamcommunity.com/app/250820/discussions/0/305510202679681031/

    So coming back to your original question about cards for VR then the 1060 is the base line and will run most things, though settings likely need to be reduced for complex games. A 1070 will run pretty much everything at mid to higher settings and allow some supersampling for some games. A 1080 and 1080i will let you crank the settings and supersampling.

    Supersampling is using graphics card horse power to brute force a crisper visual image.
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    970 here with Oculus CV1, i5 2500k on air @4.3 Ghz. and 16 GB.
    Works Ok on iRacing and Assetto
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Seth2Christ

    Seth2Christ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    103Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I have an R9 Fury X, she does her job and more for VR
  16. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +793 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Pardon the expression guys but DAMM... has there been a jump in demand for GTX1060 graphics cards? ...been bidding my time since before xmas thinking the prices would be dropping and at the time they were circa £265 ish for 6Gig cards £25-40 difference from the 3 Gig version ... anyways got a award at work last week in the form of Gift vouchers for PC world and thought now's the time to jump in with the money I was gonna spend on the GTX 1060 + this award , I thought id be in GTX1070 range at last D'oh Shock horror ...yeah I know the 1070- 1080's are the better option , but with all the other stuff I have going on it was gonna have to be the GTX 1060 6GB for now ..
    Any ways shock horror again and WT ( Expletive entered here) bloody things have jumped up to almost £100 more than Xmas prices .... did I miss something LOL ..
    all the usual suspect shopping wise seemed to be around the the same price .. Common @SilentChill you got me a good deal on the Occulus now work you magic and point me to a GTX 1060 below £280 LOL
  17. matthew loomis

    matthew loomis Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    rochester,ny
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Crypto mining has stolen all the cards. If you must buy a card now, try to find a bare bones pc with the card you want. Sell the rest.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  18. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Someone gave advice to check EVGA's website and buy direct. They are still MSRP prices. They sell out quick and you need to check frequently and use auto-notify, but you might snag one at a decent price. Nvidia has asked retailers to limit how many are sold to households and indivuals but places like Newegg are selling six packs at inflated prices. At EVGA you’ll just be competing with others wanting cards and people doing resales for profit since they restrict to one card per household.

    This is going to really hose the Ampere/gaming Volta launch.
  19. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +793 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    LOL cheers Guys , now I need to find out what Crypto Mining is ... kicking my self now for hanging on for another £20,00 price drop over new years sales Grrrrrrrrrrr also looking at the bare bones option suggestion Thanks crew
  20. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    One thing about the 1080s and 1070s at least is that just about no matter which card you get it will have nearly the same clock speeds and nearly the same overclocking headroom. Where they differ is on stuff like LEDs, cooling setup, and even split fan control for power supply and GPU. I went for the basic EVGA SC. It overclocks just a hair it doesn’t matter to me if it has color LEDs.

    Crypto mining is basically printing money using computers. Instead of anti-counterfeiting protections like special inks, paper, or hologram strips embedded, it uses very complex mathematical calculations and cryptography to both create and protect it. It’s not backed by anything, no government guarantees it, and it seems to be very attractive to countries like North Korea, Russia, criminals of various flavors, hackers, and even more savvy regular users. It’s also a huge energy sink and uses as much energy as many small countries.

    The miners set up mining computer farms and use high end graphics cards that they can unload on eBay and other outlets when something new comes out that they can migrate too.

    I know bitcoin, etherium, and the like provide anonymity for transactions, but it’s also pretty risky. There have been some really high profile bitcoin thefts and for being so protected, I can’t help but feel it’s a risky investment and hope the market collapses soon so this pressure can be taken off the GPU market. It was already bad enough as it was. On the other hand, it is a windfall for Nvidia and AMD and should provide both the money and reason to push GPUs even more - as long as it doesn’t do like the AI push of Nvidia's and leave gaming graphics holding the bag.