1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

what are your graphics settings for Project cars 2 VR

Discussion in 'Project Cars' started by faco, Oct 1, 2017.

  1. faco

    faco Faco

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    France
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    hello

    what are your graphics settings for Project cars 2 VR.

    I have 1080 graphic card.

    Medium AA and 1.5x SS in SteamVR. Looks amazing. I don't use the in game SS slider as prefer to control that stuff universally through SteamVR.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    255Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Everything max , supersampling 1.5, i5 2500k @4.3 16 gb ram, GTX 970, some framedrops but bearable
  4. faco

    faco Faco

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    France
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    ok i try with evrything max et SS1.5
  5. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    413Coins
    Ratings:
    +108 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    this game its a POWER consumer for graphics on VR. I try some configs, bur on ULTRA or HIGH and all effcts on, drops are heavly !!
  6. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    255Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  7. faco

    faco Faco

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    France
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    yes thanks for the links
  8. faco

    faco Faco

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    France
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    I will do my tests today, follow the instructions of the link to see if there is a difference with my setting
  9. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,865Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i tried a lot of any settings, but without real success.

    Shadows are extremely ugly (sorry for being extremely extrem). No AA method can eliminate the jaggies, which guarantees headache in no time.
    Ultra settings is only for quality screenshots, the fps impact is tremendous. Lower setting is coming along with lower visual quality, worse than AC and iRacing at all.
    SS results in high FPS hit, even on a 1080ti which I own.
    So far only MSAA high is the best compromise between sharpness and fluid fps, but still space of development...IMO not on the same layer than other games.

    If there is time, I will try more settings, but you can imagine how annoying every time when you change any graphic settings you have to restart the game, and every time you have to wait the intro...we're living in the 21 century, not in the 90's, when games had to be be started from srcatch when changing visual settings.

    PS: i should post a smiley, I'm still optimistic :popcorn
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. faco

    faco Faco

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    France
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 8, 2017
  11. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Is this in vr you can get max on all settings with a gtx970 ???
    seems abit high for that card. ?? i would say sturggle for low on al setting no ss.
    just curious what you have done for vr to get that out that card. :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    413Coins
    Ratings:
    +108 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yeah.. im curious too. Using a 1080ti, 7960x at 4.6ghz, and ss 1.5, game at high ( not ultra ) fps between 45 - 65 fps. A miraculous gtx 970 ? rs
  13. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Think i have found a break thru on projects cars 2 with vr graphics settings on my system ! lol

    System
    i7700k overclocked to 5.0ghz can goto 5.2ghz stable.
    32gb gskill trident 3200mhz
    Asus Posiden GTX1080 ti Overclocked (Afterburner)

    Solid 90fps VR (no drop outs either to 45 fps. ) awesome !!!!!!
    Oculus rift 1st realesed version SO OLD.
    I going to test as i have the lastest one too, as i swear it better than this older one.

    Only tested this track !! ( so far)
    Oulton Park.
    Porsche gt3
    25 Opponents
    Full Rain

    please try these settings in nvidia control panel and tell me if you gain 20 fps like i did.
    i gained that and could run 1.5 ss in game just from that and was running 1.3 ss until i did.
    i alterd them and noticed i had gone from limit to plus +25 in gpu headroom.
    yes i was shocked !!!
    every thing apart from grass on high or ultra just about.

    i can run ultra in reflections/ texture filtering @x16 if i want but means i will get the odd 45fps pop up here n there at certain points in a race.

    my settings.

    Nvidia driver 388.13 i use atm.....
    20180112_034400.jpg
    20180112_034413.jpg
    20180112_031416.jpg
    20180112_031438.jpg
    20180112_031449.jpg

    20180112_031458.jpg

    20180112_031506.jpg

    i can over clock abit more than this b ut it is safe really and long game playing its better really.

    20180112_032425.jpg


    i hope somebody else can confirm this worked as could be quite usefull if it works for others in the nvidia settings. :)
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
  14. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    wow !
    25 cars still oulton park same as above but few graphic changes balanced out with all highs.
    did restart on pc as i have been doing with my new pc setup when i alter stuff.
    now running any snow or rain thunder at 90fps with high on all settings except ultra on desity.
    found i nice sweet spot for all the weathers.
    if i run 16x texture i get 45fps drops at start first corner and a few bits here n there.
    so dropped back to 8x and i can run what i have just said easily not slow downs to 45 fps at all.
    all still with 1.5 ss on.
    the racing is immense this now the best game ever in vr atm only messing with nfull rain n thunder and snow ect... but that alone is just immence and nothing i have seen can touch this, only issues i have is the cars have far too much grip in this weather i have been running i would say.

    the bit i am really shocked about is i am saying project cars 2 is amazing in the weather.
  15. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    413Coins
    Ratings:
    +108 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    • Like Like x 1
  16. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    just to give you an update on thoses settings really.
    i forgot to say you need to open debug tool on oculus and set it to 1 and enter.
    there seems to be a bug well for me in any case, what it does is you leave it on zero you loose fps big time like headroom goes -60 odd with ss in game set to 1.5.
    now set the oculus debug tool to 1 and enter and i then get 90fps with + and- of about 5 head room with the game set to ss1.5.
    so altering that 1 thing can kill it on its knees for me.

    also if i swop from ss 1.5 on oculus and set game to zero it has the same effect kills the fps to 45 and -60 odd headroom.

    so try to run it with 1 on debug tool and 1.5 in game big advatage for me.

    if anyone could test it aswell that would be great as i am on the older driver not the latest one so could be there, i just don't want to upset it atm too much, so sticking with this driver 388.13
  17. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    I am now running 1.7 ss everything the same.
    I have unistalled the 3d vision and the rest even the audio driver that comes with the nvidia set, i have now upgraded the driver to 390.65 and just installed the graphics driver and nothing else as i am not running the 3d stuff ect.....

    that makes 1 less thing using my system up.
    So far so good i can still run Oulton park with same settings but with 1.7ss on now and i only get the same drop as in my video
    so atm it is going great i have tried Spa track with same everything else and was 90 fps solid no drops on 1.5ss i have yet to try other tracks tho as yet with 1.7ss and new drivers.

    hope you get to try some of these things out as its clearly working my end with my 1080ti.

    part 2 video coming soon :)

    cheers all
    • Like Like x 3
  18. Brett Horton

    Brett Horton Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Occupation:
    UAS Manager / Pilot / Integration Specialist
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    So I used your settings over the weekend with great success.
    I am running the Rift on an I 6700, 32 G ram, GTX 1080 Founders. GPU Overclocked to 1900 ish, Zero CPU overclock.
    Running 1.3 SS and the performance is actually really great!
    I also did a race at Oulton Park (Current fav track) with 28 field, no rain, and my performance was perfect for a 45 minute session!
    Great settings Thanks!!
    • Like Like x 1
  19. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5

    Best bit is now I am running 1.7ss with all high.
    Did you set the debug tool aswell to 1.0 ss.
    I find it's got a bug and can gain you 20fps.
    Oulton park defo awesome track.
    Old school dtm
    Glad it's helped.
  20. Brett Horton

    Brett Horton Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Occupation:
    UAS Manager / Pilot / Integration Specialist
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    No I have not, I typically do not run the debug tool while running PCars 2. So I should then?
  21. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    i found this out :)
    it could be a bug i have found but if you run just oculus ss only it eats fps with no game ss.
    run the game with no oculus debug ss, but with game ss it eats fps.
    but run with 1ss debug and it finds 20% more headroom and fps then use in game ss aswell higher.

    i did nthis a few times tho so has to be working, well it does on my system, i am going to do another check tho but i think 5 times i did it and took notes of what difference it made was enough for me to say its a bug to solve with this.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2018